A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Beautiful Mum….

 Beautiful Mum…..

 

 ImageMy Beautiful mom

 

A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden, fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends who rejoice with us in our sunshine desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts.  ~Washington Irving

 

I love mothers. I mean, what is there not to love. They are kind, loving, caring and genuine (most are). Mothers are simply selfless. Growing up, I watched my mother make numerous sacrifices for me. She paid for my education all the way from primary school, to high school (private) and to University (I didn’t have HELB loans). That is how selfless she is. She always gave me whatever I needed to be happy and helped me as much as she could.

When I am sick or hurt, mum is who I call first. There are nights when I have fallen very sick and had to call her. I recall one time she actually took a cab at 2:00am to come to my place to take me to hospital. She has been there for me a lot. Years back, I seriously ill and I honestly thought I wasn’t going to make it but it is mum who was there to fight with me. She stood by me and made sure I regained my health. I remember being scared and crying a lot since I truly thought I was a goner. All the while, my mum was calm and confident. “Hiyo si kitu ya kukushtua, we will get through this too”. She used to say that to me. When I fully recovered that is when she confessed just how worried and scared she had also been too. That is a mother, staying strong for her kids even when she doesn’t feel that strong.

Pour out some liquor and I reminisce, cause through the drama
I can always depend on my mama
And when it seems that I’m hopeless
You say the words that can get me back in focus
When I was sick as a little kid
To keep me happy there’s no limit to the things you did
And all my childhood memories
Are full of all the sweet things you did for me
And even though I act craaazy
I gotta thank the Lord that you made me
There are no words that can express how I feel
You never kept a secret, always stayed real
And I appreciate, how you raised me
And all the extra love that you gave me
I wish I could take the pain away
If you can make it through the night there’s a brighter day
Everything will be alright if ya hold on
It’s a struggle everyday, gotta roll on
And there’s no way I can pay you back
But my plan is to show you that I understand
You are appreciated 
Tupac Shakur “Dear Mama”

 

My mom always has great advice and a fantastic judge of people’s characters. I don’t know if it is a cop thing but she always has people figured out. When in doubt about anything, I turn to her for advice. She has always been spot on. If she says that a person has bad intention towards me, she is normally dead on. Soon enough, she gets proven right. My mom is everyone’s confidant. Even my friends and cousins turn to her for advice. She is a relationship guru, a financial advisor, career counselor, a friendship consultant and a wardrobe adviser all in one.

The heart of a mother is a deep abyss at the bottom of which you will always find forgiveness.  ~Honoré de Balzac

 

Mum is strong and patient and forgiving. There are many times that I let her down but she forgives and moves on. She has been through so much in life but she remains so strong that you wouldn’t even know what she is going through. Sometimes I wish I could build a separate world for here where everything is just perfect. A world where she would never cry or be sad again. If I could give her that, I would in a heartbeat. An amazing woman she is.

She’s been there, God knows, she’s been there
She has seen and done it all
She’s a woman, she know how to
Dish it out or take it all
Her heart’s as soft as feathers
Still she weathers stormy skies
And she’s a sparrow when she’s broken
But she’s an eagle when she flies 

 

When she flies” by Dolly Parton

She is a cool mum too. Mum has a great fashion sense. Up to this day, mum still gifts me with clothes. She has this ability of getting my size right and she does the same with my brothers. Whatever, she gets us is always awesome. She knows what we like and what we would look great in. Plus ill admit, am always stealing from her wardrobe. Mum is on facebook. Most people are afraid of adding parents on FB but I am not. She always makes me smile when she calls me up to ask about something I posted on FB. She always starts with “I saw your update on fb…., bored at work? What’s up with that?” LOL. Other times, she is always telling me to like pages on the Bible and those that have inspirational information.

Imagefull wardrobe courtesy of mum

I love my mom to bits and I would be completely lost without her.

ImageYvonne, looking good with her son Keith, tattoo of her son of her arm, now that is love

 

Today, I salute not only my mum but all my friends who are new moms too. Yvonne, one of my best friends is a young mom continues to impress me on how well she is taking care of her son all alone. I remember when I first saw her with her son and at that moment, I didn’t see her as this fun loving, stylish chic that I knew. I saw her being a responsible and loving parent and a good mum at that. She is always working hard to provide for her little boy. When Keith is sick, Yvonne is sick too. Being so young yet such a good mom, I salute you Yvonne. Good job Yvonne and may God bless you as you raise Keith to be a wonderful son.

ImageYvonne and handsome lil keith….

The moment a child is born, the mother is also born.  She never existed before.  The woman existed, but the mother, never.  A mother is something absolutely new.  ~Rajneesh

Image Angie and Juelz, two of my pals who are super moms 🙂

This weekend, I visited my girl juelz who is a proud mother of the most adorable twins in the world.I am not saying their adorable because they are hers but simply because that is what they are. Jade and Jabali are so so cute. They smile and giggle and make these adorable sounds that are just so awesome. They also love to watch people and things around them. I swear those kids are deep. I can already imagine what is going through their minds.

ImageJade and Jabali, listening to their mum and seriously internalizing what she is saying. Wise kids I tell you!

In How I met your mother ,there is a line that Ted Mosby said when talking about Lilly “Thinking back at the friend who you once knew when you were younger and suddenly it hits you, that girl is now a mom”. That is how what I thought when I looked at Juelz taking care of her babies. I remember how she would stop mid sentence and then she would be like “ssshhhhh naskia mtoi ni ka ameamka analia kwa bedroom”. All the while the rest of us heard nothing. I guess that is a super mom secret power or something. Amazingly, she even knows how to tell which twin is up by just hearing them cry.

Then she would rush to get them. Juelz was like a big sister to me in Campus, although we were age mates so I know how caring she can be. Still, it is amazing to see how natural she is kicking ass at motherhood. Those twins are lucky. And by the way, even as a mother of two, that girl still got it, she still looks gorgeous as always like the model she once was.

I congratulate all new moms that I know and wish you all the best as you embark on this remarkable journey of motherhood. May God guide you and bless you now and forever. At least when I become a mum, I know I have so many role models to look up to.

Image Me trying to hold lil Jade who could tell am an amateur,so she is looking at Juelz  and Angie for help 🙂

Image Carol also getting a few lessons on motherhood. “This is how you hold them both at the same time”….

6 comments on “Beautiful Mum….

  1. Yvonne Baraza
    January 29, 2013

    Thank you Diana for this wonderful article,am yes,motherhood is a full-time and permanent job. Once you become a mother,your joy and strength comes from your children. My life changed when i became a mother and children come with blessings. I don’t think i would have been where i am today if it were not for the birth of my son Keith.
    one good mother is worth a hundred schools of Masters.

  2. dianagitau
    January 29, 2013

    Well said Yvonne and you are doing a great job. When i get my own, i am so calling you up for tips. God bless you and all the moms out there.

  3. Juliana Mruttu
    January 29, 2013

    D,i love u too bits.motherhood ain’t easy bt the most satisfying job ever.i luv my babies and u will b their best auntie ever.i knw wen ur time comes,u will rock coz i will by ur side every step of the way.kisses.

    • dianagitau
      February 6, 2013

      aaww love u too roomie and thanks alot. You are doing a great job gal,thumbs up and God Bless u.

  4. burberry uk
    January 31, 2013

    Hey bless you! I use earbuds abroad because on their portability, even though I prefer over that ear. These search great.

  5. Chad
    February 21, 2013

    Because accessing a limitless traffic source…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2013 by in Life.
