A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

The Pact by Jodi Picoult

A Review

thepact

The first book that I read by Jodi Picoult was “My Sister’s Keeper.” I remember crying buckets at the end of it but still, I was hooked to Jodi’s writing from then on. “The Pact” is yet another great book by Jodi. It is quite fast paced which is great for readers who like getting into a story immediately without having to wait ages for a plot to develop. The scene at the hospital with Emily and Chris being brought in immediately got me hooked.

The Pact” by Jodi Picoult is a book about love and things people do for love, i know that sounds like a cliche but you need to read the book to get it. The main characters are Emily Gold and Chris Harte, a teenage couple that has been in love almost all the lives until one of them ends up dead and the other one on trial for murder. It is definitely not your usual kind of teenage love story. There are so many other story lines intertwined within the main theme of love. At the heart of it all is a suicide turned murder case.

There were so many wonderful twists in the story. In addition, the suspense is enough to keep readers turning pages, eager to find out what happens next. At the beginning when the author was building the background and kept going back and forth between present and future, I got thrown off a bit. However, I soon got back on track and stayed glued to the end.

One thing that I really loved about this book is that it was not so easy to speculate on what will happen next. For instance, the whole idea of murder versus suicide hanged in the balance throughout the story until the end when it was revealed. I found myself jumping back and forth between a ‘guilty’ to a ‘not guilty’ verdict all the way. There were also other questions that I had throughout the story, for instance, Emily Gold obvious discomfort with sex and then finding out about the pregnancy. I was curious about how she ended up accepting intimacy the whole way. The background story of what happened to ruin her seemingly ‘perfect’ childhood was another very interesting angle.

I also loved the storyline in jail. The setting was great since it didn’t quite match the perfect love story angle. In addition, I found myself drawn to the character, Steve, despite his heinous crime. The whole setting was woven together perfectly.

The courtroom drama was riveting. I loved the character of Jordan as a lawyer, who was portrayed as being quite brilliant in court. With every move the prosecutor made, it was exciting to see how the defense lawyer countered.

Overall, ‘The Pact’ by Jodi Picoult is a book that I would highly recommend to anyone. I give it 5 stars.

I am now starting another book by the same author, ’19 minutes’. I hope its also a great read.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2015 by in Book Review and tagged , , , .
