A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Longest hour

Last night, there were heavy showers all around the city, hell I think the whole of Kenya was raining. I went to bed early because I sleep better with the sound of rain. After what felt like a few hours, I woke to some strange noises. I panicked thinking someone was trying to break into my house. However, I soon realized that the noise was not emanating from my house but from the house upstairs. It sounded as if someone was dragging heavy furniture on the floor. After a few minutes of silence, I could hear what sounded like a growl, an animal sound,unnatural at the same time. I tried to rationalize the noises telling myself that it was someone moving around, getting ready for work. It was 3:01am!

I looked out my window but couldn’t see anything. Still, the growling continued. I thought it was coming from on top of my living room, however, rushing there, I heard it from the bedroom and then the kitchen balcony. I kept tiptoeing around the house in darkness trying to figure out what the noises were. The rain was still coming down with a vengeance but still, I could hear the growling. Barefooted, I kept running from one window to the other, looking outside, not sure what I was expecting to see.

Suddenly, the security lights went off and the whole building was plunged into darkness. I looked outside to see the whole town engulfed in darkness. It was 3:21am.My imagination was running wild and with the darkness, I couldn’t bear look out the window, lest I came face to face with my own nightmares. I quickly crawled back to bed, trying to ignore the sounds but they got louder. There were seconds when the growling stopped and I could hear a strong wind blowing then the sounds would start again.

I heard footsteps and decided to go peep from the window on the sitting room door. There were people coming down the stairs. I imagined that I would see thieves, probably carrying their loot. I wondered whether my screams would be heard over the sound of the rain. With no power, I knew the alarm system had gone off too. However, the first figure I saw was hooded. It had a long robe and a hood over its head. My heart was racing, beating so loud, straining to get out of my chest.I tried to hold my breathe because in the silence, my breathing sounded too loud. I watched in horror as 8 more figures all hooded followed the first one. I couldn’t tell whether they were men or women. I watched them walk right past my door, heads low, not saying a word. It felt like they were moving in slow motion. My palms were sweating but my whole body was covered in chills. I watched them disappear around the staircase as I waited with bated breath. It was 3:58am.

Cloaked

When all was quiet, I turned around to walk back to my room. However, I stopped dead in my tracks when I heard the growling again. I quickly went down on the floor and tried to crawl back to the bedroom. I thought it was the robed people who had seen me but I was too scared to look outside the door again.

When I got to the corridor leading between the kitchen and bedroom, I realized that my door was closed. I would have had to stand up to get it open. Just as I reached for the door knob, I heard it again. This time, I was sure without a shadow of doubt. The sound was now coming from inside my bedroom. It was 4:01am.

19 comments on “Longest hour

  1. Joy
    February 17, 2015

    Ehe? and then?

    • dianagitau
      February 17, 2015

      hehe,that was it 🙂 Thanks for reading

  2. abuamirah
    February 17, 2015

    Dee, why do you do me like this? Everytime you do your short stories you get my heart racing….trying to scroll further down in the hope that the story continues and i get to know who the hooded guys were!!!!Awesome read as awlways. You up for the storymoja callout this month?

    • dianagitau
      February 17, 2015

      LOL wanted to have a ‘suspense’ ending so that perhaps the readers can get to guess what was growling and who those robed people were:-) Weirdly, this is actually mostly based on my night last night. The growling sound that lasted an hour, woke me up at 3:11am n went on for an hour and the lights did potea when i was peeping through the windows. LOL thought it was just loud snoring though not sure why i could hear it.

      Thanks for rading and for the feedback. Storymoja, not sure. you?

      • abuamirah
        February 17, 2015

        i might try storymoja, am not good at romantic stuff but will try and cook something up. Yani seriously that happened last night? Kwani your neighbours are running some kinda cult down stairs??????haya…….teren teren teren…….

      • dianagitau
        February 17, 2015

        I haven’t even done the one for short stories club also and it was also a love theme. Wewe and vile unakuanga lovey dovey especially with wifey stuff,let that be an inspiration and do come up with something 🙂 Hao neighbours aki, was tempted to go ask if someone snores really loudly thee but thought id be the one looking weird 🙂

  3. Kevin Michuki
    February 17, 2015

    and theeeeeeeen??? you cant leave us hangin’

    • dianagitau
      February 17, 2015

      hehe…that’s the story 🙂 Thanks for reading.

  4. Alexander Ikawah
    February 17, 2015

    Eeeeeeeeevil, eeeeeeevil!
    You should write a full horror story then we make a film 🙂

    • dianagitau
      February 17, 2015

      hehe first horror story i have written. The ideas are there but afraid to embrace the darkness and put my thoughts down on paper.Playing safe:-) Thanks for reading Alex.

  5. sangdennis
    February 17, 2015

    Urgh Deeeeeeeee!!!!!!!! *BackToJohnGrisham’sTheBroker

    • dianagitau
      February 18, 2015

      hahaha to you let me just say… great book, you got there. Enjoy reading it 🙂

  6. Juliana
    February 18, 2015

    Get serious.You cannot leave us in suspense.No wonder you watched horrors in Campus.

    • dianagitau
      February 18, 2015

      hehehe i had forgotten about that. I gave up that genre after campus until i found ” American Horror Story’. Thanks for reading and just admit it, the suspense was a good touch 🙂

  7. marcia
    February 18, 2015

    But……..lol now my heart is racing

    • dianagitau
      February 18, 2015

      hehe but what Marcia? Thanks for reading though 🙂

  8. rohanmahajan23
    March 3, 2015

    It scared the shit out of me..! I haven’t read such a thrilling short horror story in long time. Perfect ending. Loved it! 👽💀

    • dianagitau
      March 3, 2015

      i so humbled by your comments, thank you so much and i am really glad that you enjoyed the story. I am having trouble getting your blog though, wanted to check it out.Can you give me a direct link please?

      • The Salted Life
        March 5, 2015

        Its okay. Because I never created a post here. I am new here. Well, i just published a blog. I wrote it 2 years back when I finished my graduation. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
