A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

The General’s Daughter by Nelson Demille- Book Review

“I enjoy the presence of a woman in the house for brief periods of time. They fall into two categories: the organizers and the slobs. There’s probably a third category—the naggers, who try to get you to do things, but I’ve never run into one of those. Oddly, I have no preference regarding organizers or slobs, as long as they don’t try to pick my clothes for me. Basically, all women are nurturers and healers, and all men are mental patients to varying degrees. It works fine if people stick to their fated roles. But nobody does.”
Nelson DeMille, The General’s Daughter

 

This was the first book that I read written by Nelson Demille. It was also my first book on a criminal investigation. Despite being a fan of TV shows on Crime (I spend hours watching the Investigation Discovery Channel), I have never been a fan of crime fiction. However, I was intrigued by The General’s Daughter by Nelson Demille after reading the blurb.

general's daughte 1
The setting of the book is a military base where one of the female officers has been found murdered. Captain Ann Campbell is a soldier at the base and also the daughter to General ‘Fighting Joe’ Campbell, a war veteran and hero. Captain Campbell sounds like the perfect soldier, beautiful and dedicated to the military and so her murder baffles many people at the base. Assigned to the case are; Paul Benner and Cynthia Sunhill who are warrant officers and also happen to be former lovers.

“It’s a problem, you know, Paul, dealing with stupid people. You project your own intelligence and rationality onto a person who is a complete idiot, and he lets you down.”
Nelson DeMille, The General’s Daughter


The murder of Ms. Campbell sends shock-waves around the military base, not just because of who her father was but also the way that she was murdered and how her body was found. Once the investigation begin, the list of suspects grows when the investigators unravel the secret sex life of Captain Campbell which involved over 30 lovers including …wait for it…THE CHAPLAIN at the military base! Her secret life becomes more bizarre when her apartment is searched and a secret room is found in her basement. With so many suspects, Benner and Sunhill have a tough job ahead of them in trying to find out who the killer was. Their work is made complex by the fact that nobody wants their connection to Captain Campbell exposed.
The book is quite fast paced and there many twists that will keep you turning the pages. I also liked the way Nelson Demille managed to maintain the suspense in the narration such that every twist becomes a big revelation. The identity of the killer is also far from obvious and so as a reader you will keep guessing to the end. The story of Captain Campbell is also moving. Her emotional turmoil and the inner battles that she was fighting had me fighting back my own tears. This book is not just about a murder investigation. It also about how one event in a person’s life can shape their destiny.

GD Movie
I heard that there was a movie based on the book although I haven’t watched it yet. Nonetheless, if you are looking for a good, fast paced crime fiction then you definitely should read, The General’s Daughter by Nelson Demille.

 

“Somehow, amid all the sophistication and diversions of this world, we forgot the basics: take care of business at home first, and never betray your blood.”
Nelson DeMille, The General’s Daughter

5 comments on “The General’s Daughter by Nelson Demille- Book Review

  1. Fatmawaty
    January 19, 2016

    I like to read “criminal investigation” books!
    This book sound interesting to read! Thank you for sharing this.

    PS: I wanted to say that I’m not an author of “The Ductrinors!” I just re blogged the post, sis. Its author is Papatia Feauxzar (American Novelist).
    I thank you for your kind words, sister! My English isn’t good enough to write novels, he..he.

    • Diana
      January 20, 2016

      You are welcome sis. I will also start reading more books on investigations.Sounds like an interesting genre.

      Your English is good dear and I have watched you as you continue mastering the language to the level that you are in right now which is really good. I hope to read your novel one day 🙂

      • Fatmawaty
        January 20, 2016

        So sweet of you, my sis!
        If God willing, you’ll read it. 🙂 Writing story in my language isn’t hard. But, I’ve chosen to explore my writing in English.

  2. bankelele
    March 27, 2016

    Wonderful book. One of the best DeMille’s. It was turned into a horrible hollywood movie.

    • Diana
      March 27, 2016

      I haven’t watched the movie and going by your comment I don’t think I will 🙂

      Thanks for reading and commenting

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2016 by in Book Review and tagged , , , , .
