A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: Behind Closed Doors by B A Paris

I loved this book right from the start. It’s a captivating thriller, small book but a brilliant page-turner.
Behind Closed Doors by B. A Paris is about Grace and Jack Angel. These two seem like the perfect couple right out of a Nicholas Sparks novel. Jack is a successful lawyer with movie star looks and Grace is his elegant, adoring wife. The story begins with a dinner at the couple’s house. The two seem like the perfect hosts who are obviously in love. However, throughout the evening, there were small hints that imply that not all was okay between the two. I kept trying to guess what it was. The suspense was so palatable that I tried to read faster just to figure out what was wrong. At the dinner, one of the guests, Esther, also starts suspecting that there was something wrong with the two.
Grace is the narrator. It is through her that readers soon start to figure out that something is terribly wrong. The narrative goes between two timelines; the past and the present and this helps readers to connect the dots. What started out as the prefect relationship seems to have taken a terrible twists and it just keeps getting worse by the minute.
At some point, I had to put the book aside and try to think about what I would have done in the same situation. Jack is so manipulative that everyone else assumes that the couple is perfect. He is so good at his lies that Grace has an impossible task trying to convince anyone about the truth.
american psychpath

This story is very fast paced that it reminded me of The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. It also reminded me of the movie American Psychopath.

 

Behind Closed Doors by BA Paris is the kind of story that will make you look around and think twice about the people around you. You will look at the smiling faces and truly wonder about what happens behind the closed doors and if it matches what is portrayed outside.
I absolutely loved this book.index
My favorite quotes: This books had some amazing quotes.

 

“‘Fear,’ he whispered. ‘There is nothing quite like it. I love how it looks, I love how it feels, I love how it smells. And I especially love the sound of it.’ I felt his tongue on my cheek. ‘I even love the taste of it.’”

This was simply creepy.

She looks steadily back at me. ‘What colour was Millie’s room, Grace?’
I can barely get the word out. ‘Red,’ I tell her, my voice breaking. ‘Millie’s room was red.’
‘That’s what I thought,’ she says softly.

About the book
The 2016 debut bloggers can’t stop raving about. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice TwinsEveryone knows a couple like Jack and Grace.

He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do. Though, you’d like to get to know Grace better.But it’s difficult, because you realise Jack and Grace are never apart.

Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.

Sometimes, the perfect marriage is the perfect lie.

Advertisements

14 comments on “Book Review: Behind Closed Doors by B A Paris

  1. vivacioushy
    February 29, 2016

    Awesome review. I love how instrumental Esther is. She defiantely saved the day.

    • Diana
      February 29, 2016

      Thanks and yes she did.

      Thank you for visiting the blog,hope to see you around 🙂

  2. millie schmidt
    March 2, 2016

    I need to read this book now haha

    • Diana
      March 2, 2016

      I promise, its an awesome read although a bit twisted. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did 🙂

  3. Pingback: Celebrating Female Authors – Voices in my head

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday:Ten of the Best Books I’ve Read Recently – Voices in my head

  5. Pingback: Book Review: Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica – Voices in my head

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Psychological Thrillers | A Haven for Book Lovers

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten of the Vilest Villains in Books | A Haven for Book Lovers

  8. Pingback: Book Sale: Behind Closed Doors – How Useful It Is

  9. Jasmine
    November 4, 2016

    I like that you compare this book to Girl on the Train. I liked the other book. Can’t wait to read this one 🙂 Great review!

  10. RibbonReviews
    November 9, 2016

    Great review! I haven’t actually read The Girl on the Train yet. It’s still on my shelf hehe but this one seems to be really interesting, so I’ll add it to my tbr right away 😀 Is it more gory or more the psycho kind of book?

  11. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Holiday Gift Guide freebie | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: