A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top 5 Wednesday: Biggest Book Hangovers

#T5W
Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey. Every week, you get a new topic to discuss and you list your top 5 books (or whatever is specified) that relate to the given topic! If you’re interested in joining, you should come join the fun over at Top 5 Wednesday!
I found out about the meme from two awesome bloggers; The Quirky Book Nerd and geelinlovesconan; you should visit their blogs, I promise, they are really awesome! This week’s topic is the Biggest Book Hangovers, these are basically the books that you can’t stop thinking about even after you turn the last page.

 

Here is my list:
1.The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

book smuggler
3418de257f219e4c63d0cca8863646a2This is the last book that I read last month and I can’t stop thinking about it. In the book, death says that he is haunted by humans; I am haunted by The Book Thief by Markus Zusak and can’t seem to leave Himmel Street. I watched the movie last Sunday, not as good as the book but it was okay.This is definitely my biggest book hangover at the moment.

 

 

2.The Color Purple by Alice Walker

purple 2
I read this book  and fell in love with the characters especially Celia. I remember staying up late night reading it. It has been weeks since I turned the last page but I still think about Celia and the fierce Shug Avery.
3.Rogue Lawyer by John Grisham

Rogue LAWYER AGAIN
I love John Grisham’s books and was excited to get a copy of The Rogue Lawyer. The book was quite fast paced and very entertaining. The ending was a cliffhanger. I was left feeling devastated; I never wanted the story to end. I felt cheated when it did, it actually felt like a breakup.

Here is my review of the book: Rogue Lawyer by John Grisham
4. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

A thousand splendid suns.jpg
I have read all books by Khaled Hosseini but this remains my favorite one. I loved the narration and the beautiful friendship between the two main characters. The book had some tough themes that I still keep thinking about. For Instance; how women were treated by the Taliban. I also think about one of the characters being forced to chew pebbles as a punishment, that was so shocking that I have never forgotten that scene. This is one of the few books that I have reread.

Here is my full review: Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hossieni
5.Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

geisha
Never before have I been pulled into a setting like I was while reading this book. I was physically in Kenya but my mind was in Japan. I could picture the Geishas with their hopes and dreams. I could picture the kimonos and the Geisha makeup.The imagery and descriptions were so vivid. I loved the book and the movie which had some amazing cinematography.

Click here for my full review of the book: Book Review: Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden

 

a3b5db33e9ae7066809c952a59c37088

Thanks for reading 🙂

“What really knocks me out is a book that, when you’re all done reading it, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours and you could call him up on the phone whenever you felt like it. That doesn’t happen much, though.”
J.D. Salinger, The Catcher in the Rye

12 comments on “Top 5 Wednesday: Biggest Book Hangovers

  1. geelinlovesconan
    March 2, 2016

    Oh my, thank you for mentioning me! I’m glad that you’re now part of the group. Memoirs of a Geisha has been on my TBR list for a very long time now, and I became more excited to read it because it’s one of your biggest book hangovers. Great post!

    https://geelinlovesconan.wordpress.com/2016/03/02/top-5-wednesday-biggest-book-hangovers/

    • Diana
      March 2, 2016

      Thank you too because I found the group through you 🙂 Memoirs of a Geisha is really good. I hope you will like it as much as I did.

      Heading over to our post now to read your top 5 🙂

  2. thebookishtemple
    March 2, 2016

    Loved your list, even though, I haven’t read any of those books. Although, I’ve seen the movie The Book Thief and I’ve decided to get the book so I could read it and see how good and emotional it was like. Because I like having a good cry while reading a book. I know I’m weird! 😉

    • Diana
      March 2, 2016

      hahaha not weird at all 🙂 And yes you will cry with this one. As usual a lot was left out in the movie, the story lines are deeper and some of the really emotional scenes were not in the movie. I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did though 🙂

  3. thedailyam
    March 2, 2016

    I really like your list Diana. I’ve been thinking of reading “The Book Thief” lately but I’ve heard that it’s a bit emotional and I’m not sure if I’m ready to cry a river yet. Hahaha!

    • Diana
      March 2, 2016

      hahaha don’t fear the tears, though
      Thank you 🙂

      it is true, the book is quite emotional but its an excellent read. You will love it and enjoy it even through the tears :-). Let me know what you think about it if you read it.

  4. SciFi and Scary
    March 2, 2016

    Some interesting, unexpected choices! My Book Hangovers.

    • Diana
      March 3, 2016

      Thank you for reading 🙂

  5. bookedsolid1989
    March 3, 2016

    Great list! I loved Memoirs of a Geisha as well! I still haven’t read The Book Thief. I need to fix that lol 😉

    • Diana
      March 4, 2016

      haha well you should 🙂 I hope you will like the book as much as I did.

  6. Story Zangu
    March 6, 2016

    My biggest book hangover for a long time, about 6 years, is somehow weird as it wasn’t a book as such but rather a diary. The Diary of Anne Frank. Amazing how a kid would write like that.

    Let me read this “Memoirs of a Geisha”

    • Diana
      March 7, 2016

      The Diary of Anne Frank is on my TBR 🙂 If it gave you a hangover then it must be really good. I can’t wait to read it now.

      Enjoy Memoirs of a Geisha and watch the movie too. Both are nice.

Leave a Reply

