A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Friday Finds

Friday Finds is a meme  hosted by  Miz B. This is an opportunity to share the books that you have recently found and added to your TBR.

 
I found four books this week that I would like to add to my TBR this month. My March TBR  already has 10 books but I couldn’t resist these new finds. I know it’s a bad habit but in my defense, these books were calling out my name demanding to be read immediately 

haha

So here are my new gems:

The Girl in the Red Coat by Kate Hamer

indexSynopsis:

Eight-year-old Carmel has always been different – sensitive, distracted, with an heart-stopping tendency to go missing. Her mother Beth, newly single, worries about her daughter’s strangeness, especially as she is trying to rebuild a life for the two of them on her own. When she takes Carmel for an outing to a local festival, her worst fear is realized: Carmel disappears into the crowd. Unable to accept the possibility that her daughter might be gone for good, Beth embarks on a mission to find her. Meanwhile, Carmel begins an extraordinary and terrifying journey of her own. But do the real clues to Carmel’s disappearance lie in the otherworldly qualities her mother had only begun to guess at?

I found the book based on a recommendation by an online book club and was intrigued by the blurb. Sounds like a good mystery/thriller novel. I hope to enjoy it.

 
The Lovers by Rod Nordlands– I couldn’t resist this book especially since the couple is described as Afghanistan’s Romeo and Juliet who defied their parents and escaped an honor killing. It is a true story by the way.

 

loversSynopsis:Zakia and Ali were from different tribes, but they grew up on neighboring farms in the hinterlands of Afghanistan. By the time they were young teenagers, Zakia, strikingly beautiful and fiercely opinionated, and Ali, shy and tender, had fallen in love. Defying their families, sectarian differences, cultural conventions, and Afghan civil and Islamic law, they ran away together only to live under constant threat from Zakia’s large and vengeful family, who have vowed to kill her to restore the family’s honor. They are still in hiding.

 

 
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sing  and The Heart of a Woman by Maya Angelou– I have never read any books by Maya Angelou. I fell in love with her poem, Phenomenal Woman back in the day when I watched Janet Jackson recite the poem in the movie Poetic Justice.

IMG_20160204_121802

Have you read any of the these books? I would love to hear your thoughts on them.

4 comments on “Friday Finds

  1. WordsAndPeace
    March 11, 2016

    I want to try your #1! keep running int it

    • Diana
      March 12, 2016

      Do give it a try ;-)It does sound interesting.I plan to start reading it next week.

  2. Heyy! Love your blog ❤ I tagged you in the YA Frenzy Tag (: https://jemimathebookaholic.wordpress.com/
    X

    • Diana
      March 13, 2016

      Thank you so much.on my way to visit yours now

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2016 by in Bookish Meme, Bookish Post and tagged , , .
