A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

Today’s topic is ten books I really love but feel like I haven’t talked about in a while. I enjoyed working on this post because it made me think of some of my favorite books over the years.

 

I remember reading The River Between by Ngugi wa Thiongo while sitting at our old kitchen making tea. I was only 12 years old and very keen to learn how to cook. However, the only thing that I was allowed to make was tea and my mother insisted that I had to watch it very keenly to avoid letting it spill over. The book was a gift from my dad; it’s my earliest memory of reading a novel and being totally engrossed in it. It is what I think about when I think back to the moment that I fell in love with reading. I read Dreams in a Time of War almost twenty years later. Nobody writes about Kenya like Ng’ugi does. I learned more about my community and the pre-colonial and colonial eras from Ng’ugi’s books than I did sitting through History lessons in class.

purple hibiscus

 

I have read three books by Chimamanda Ngozi, Americanah, Half of a Yellow Sun and Purple Hibiscus. This is definitely my favorite of the three.

 

 

 

memoirs of a boy soldier

 

A Long Way Gone: A memoir of a child soldier by Ishmael Baeh is one of those books will haunt you long after you turn the last page. I have watched a number of documentaries and movies based on the Sierra Leon child soldiers although this was my  first memoir by a child soldier. Recently, I watched Beasts of No Nations which reminded me of this book. Heart wrenching but quite moving.idris-elba-beasts-no-nation

 

 

 

 

walk to remember

Nicholas Sparks always makes me cry. Sometimes I cry because of his beautiful  stories (The Notebook), other times I cry because of the happy endings (Safe Haven) but other times I cry when a book breaks my heart like A Walk to Remember did. It’s a beautiful but quite sad story.

 

A Time to Kill and The Confession are two of my favorite books by John Grisham. Quite fast paced, emotionally engaging and riveting. I loved the fight for justice and the race against time had me at the edge of my seat.

 

I have read only three books by Jodi Picoult and I liked all three. My Sister’s Keeper is about a family struggling with their daughter’s terminal illness, Nineteen Minutes is about a school shooting and The Pact is about two teens that made a suicide pact.

Those are some of the books that I haven’t talked about in a while. What are yours? Share the links to your TTT posts, I look forward to reading them and stealing ideas for my next reads.

13 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. rosemawrites
    March 22, 2016

    John Grisham, Sparks and Picoult are three of my auto-read authors! Glad you like them equally! ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Diana
      March 22, 2016

      My three favourite authors plus khaled hosseini.thanks for dropping by 🙂

  2. abuamirah
    March 22, 2016

    Wow. Everytime i read this it reminds me how lazy i have become as a reader. Can you believe am still on Yvonne’s Dust???? I guess i read in 3 months what you probably read in a week!

    I think i need to really pull up my socks. And you are right about the fact that no one writes about Kenya like Ngugi does.

    • Diana
      March 22, 2016

      He he but you write alot so that’s where your passion lies 🙂 I’m slowing down my reading now because of exams and assignments.I’ve read fewer books this month than in January and February

  3. Zezee
    March 22, 2016

    A few readers have told me that Purple Hibiscus is her best. I plan on reading Americanah first.
    Here’s my TTT list.

    • Diana
      March 22, 2016

      Americanah is really good too,I hear there’s a movie adaptation in the works.

      On my way to read your list and steal some of your books for my TBR 🙂

  4. Lekeisha The Booknerd
    March 22, 2016

    My Sister’s Keeper, The Notebook, and A Time to Kill are some of my favorites as well. I’m reading Americanah now and am loving it so far.

    • Diana
      March 23, 2016

      Chimamanda is an awesome author, feels like she is the only African Lit author whose books are being read and enjoyed all over the world, she really does take after Chinua Achebe. Enjoy Americanah and If you can, perhaps check out her other two books after that. Thanks.

  5. ChrissiReads
    March 22, 2016

    I enjoy Nicholas Sparks books. They’re always emotional!

    • Diana
      March 23, 2016

      Yes they are 🙂

  6. coridoesbooks
    March 24, 2016

    A Walk to Remember is the only Nicholas Sparks books I’ve read but I loved it soooo much! And I don’t think I’ve ever come across a blogger who’s mentioned his books even though they’re obviously super popular. Guess they’re just more popular with adults!

    • Diana
      March 24, 2016

      That is an interesting observation,had to think about it and I really don’t think I have ever seen any blogger talk about Sparks’ books either although the movie adaptation such as the Notebook seem very popular with almost all age groups.

      Thank you for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

