A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top 5 Wednesday: Books I did not Finish

#T5W

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey. Every week, readers/bloggers/vloggers get a new topic to discuss and list  top 5 books (or whatever is specified) that relate to that topic! If you’re interested in joining, just come meet us at the Goodreads group!

A Book that I completely abandoned

  1. The Monk who sold his Ferrari by Robin Sharma

Jennifer-Lawrence-Confused-FaceI just didn’t get the book and the whole fable narrative

FERRARI

I know a lot of readers loved this one but honestly, I didn’t get it. The lessons seemed great but the fable narrative didn’t work for me. I got bored and totally lost by the time I was halfway through and set it aside with intentions to read it later. However, that was in 2013 and as much as I never quit any book, I’ll admit that I don’t see myself ever going back to this one.

 

Books that I put on hold after reading just one chapter

I promise, I will finish reading them someday.

tumblr_inline_o3mi3b3CW41qd02nc_500

  1. Shantarama by Gregory David Roberts

shantaram

I actually read the first chapter, it was okay but the book is so big and that first chapter didn’t quite hold my attention. I haven’t yet given up on this book yet. It is still on my list.

 

 

 

  1. I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

Not sure why I abandoned this one after the first few pages, maybe it was the background story that felt dragged out. The book has some fantastic reviews and I have heard that its one of the most inspiring books. It is still on my TBR.

 

Books that intimidated me from the first page

worryIntimidated by the many, almost perfect reviews. I feel like I absolutely have to love these next two books! This was the feeling that I had before watch inception, worried that I may not like/get it especially with everyone else singing praises about it.

  1. Moon Tiger by Penelope Tiger

MOON TIGERMy book club read this book sometime last year. I tried reading it but gave up on the first page. I was intimidated and worried that it may be too complex for me especially after reading its wonderful reviews and realizing that it’s a classic. I will read it though sometime this year.

 

 

  1. To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee

To_Kill_a_Mockingbird

This book is quite intimidating. I think everyone apart from me has read it already. It has so many wonderful reviews. I read the first page last week and set it aside. I will have to wait and read it at the right time. I want everything to be just right when I finally read it. No hurry, no worries over exams and no distractions. I plan on reading it the next time that I will be home over a weekend.

 

 

 

So this is my DNF although it contains books that I plan on finishing someday plus the one that I never plan on attempting to complete. So do you have books that you abandoned half way, read and put aside for next time or even those that intimidate you though they are still on your TBR lists. Share, share, share and let me know if you have read the ones on my list and if you think I shouldn’t give up on Robin Sharma’s book just yet.

 

13 comments on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I did not Finish

  1. SciFi and Scary
    March 23, 2016

    Haven’t read any of the ones on your list. I will read To Kill A Mockingbird at some point, maybe, but honestly it just doesn’t sound that interesting to me, and I read for enjoyment. My T5W

    • Diana
      March 23, 2016

      I hope it will live up to the hype,been planning on reading it for a while now.

      Thanks for reading,heading over to your post now

  2. Zainab Sheikh
    March 23, 2016

    Great list!
    I have yet to read many books that you have mentioned!

    • Diana
      March 23, 2016

      Thank you 🙂 The only book I wouldn’t reccomend is the first one.I really didn’t like it.Can’t say much about the rest until I finally decide on whether to read or abandon then.

      Thanks for stopping by.Happy reading

  3. journeyofangie
    March 23, 2016

    I haven’t read any on your list. But if you’re interested, here’s my list T5W | Books You DNF – http://wp.me/p7ksIu-11 🙂

    • Diana
      March 23, 2016

      Thanks for sharing your list.Left you a comment 🙂 I have read two of the books there and liked them.sorry to see them on your DNF list

  4. Geronimo Reads
    March 23, 2016

    TKIM is one of my favorite books of all time, and I definitely agree that it takes some work to read it. If you’re not “in the mood” or not connecting with the characters, then you might be turned off by the book. I feel like it has an amazing message for issues that have been constantly going on in our society, though.

    • Diana
      March 24, 2016

      Thank you for your comment. It seems like everyone who has read TKIM liked it and got something from it, a friend told me that the book changed her life. I definitely look forward to reading it and I hope that I will like it too 🙂

  5. Nora
    March 23, 2016

    I really want to read I Am Malala, but I really do not want to read To Kill A Mockingbird. It’s just that the plot doesn’t interest me at all. Here is my T5W list:
    https://readingexperienceswithnora.wordpress.com/2016/03/23/t5w-books-i-dnf/

    • Diana
      March 24, 2016

      I am Malala starts out really slow but I have heard that it gets quite interesting at some-point. I hope you enjoy it.

      Thanks for reading and commenting. Left you a comment on yours too.

  6. nangai
    April 20, 2016

    I read the monk who sold his ferrari and like you I just couldn’t get back to it after the 3rd chapter

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      Glad I am not the only one. I don’t get why so many people loved it though. Different preferences, I guess but I just couldn’t get into it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 23, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top 5 Wednesday and tagged , , , .
