A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top 5 Wednesday- Book Series

#T5W

March 30 – 5 of my least favorite books in a series

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey. Every week, we get a new topic to discuss and  list top 5 books (or whatever is specified) that relate to that topic! If you’re interested in joining, just visit this Goodreads group!

Here are some of the books that I didn’t like in some of my favorite book series.

Gossip GirlOnly in your dreams by Cecily von Ziesgar

ONLY IN YOUR DREAMS

 This is the ninth book in the series. Interestingly, I watched the TV show up to the final season though I didn’t really like the season adaptation of this book either. The rest of the books in the series were well paced and so much was happening in Nate,Chuck, Serena and Blair’s lives but nothing much happened in this book. I didn’t finish it although I watched the whole season.

chuck bassRandom GIF. I loved how he used to say his name on the TV show.

 

Shopaholic series- Shopaholic to the Rescue by Sophie Kinsella

SHOPAHOLIC

This series has always been my guilty pleasure. I am not a fan of Chic Lit as such but I love the shopaholic series and have read 5 out of 8 books in the series. These are the books that I turn to whenever I need a quick, easy read. However, Shopaholics to the Rescue was not like the others. I really didn’t like this book at all. It felt like the book added nothing to the series especially based on how good the last book was. This one disappointed me. Word around is that it’s the final book in the series not sure if I will read the ones that I had skipped.

 

Jake Briggance Series- A Time to Kill and Sycamore Row by John Grisham

 

TOUGH CHOICESI loved a Time to Kill. The book was intense and riveting and had me at the edge of my seat from the first page. I also loved the movie adaptation. Jack Briggance was brilliant in this one. Sycamore Row was the second book featuring Briggance but I didn’t like it as much as ATTK. It wasn’t boring, actually, it was pretty good but between the two, Sycamore Row was be my least favorite book in this series. Really, this was a tough choice, both books are great. You can read my review of Sycamore Row here.

Left to tell and Led by Faith Immaculee Ilibagiza

 

I feel bad about this one. It sounds wrong to admit that I didn’t like one of these books especially since they were based on true accounts of the Rwanda genocide. I loved Left to Tell. It was quite inspirational. I can’t imagine what the author went through hiding in a bathroom for three months during the genocide. I struggled through the second book. It seemed that most of the things had been said in the first one. The theme of forgiveness was already covered in Left to Tell. Led by Faith was also quite slow.

You can read my review of both books here

 

Fifty Shades of Gray– second and third books- Fifty Shades Darker and Fifty Shades Freed by E.L James

TRILOGY

 Okay so here is the thing, at some point this series was so popular that everyone in Kenya was talking about it. I saw the books in all stores and women were reading them in public places. There were whispers about a red room, silk ties and some indecent spanking and I got curious about it. Then the government banned it. I read the first book to the end, the second book halfway and only saw the cover for the third book but couldn’t bring myself to read it. So let me just say that my least worse (I know that’s not English but work with me here) was the first book, Fifty Shades of Gray.

i-cant-even-gif

 

 

So that’s my list. Have you read any of the books in the list? Do you agree/disagree with me?

 

Don’t be shy, share your T5W links.

14 comments on “Top 5 Wednesday- Book Series

  1. rosemawrites
    March 30, 2016

    Ohhh! I would like to read that John Grisham series! ❤

    • Diana
      March 30, 2016

      Both books are really good. I suggest you start with A Time to Kill and then Sycamore Row. Hope you like them as much as I did 🙂

      • rosemawrites
        March 30, 2016

        Yay! Thank you for the recommendation, Diana! 🙂

  2. Lekeisha The Booknerd
    March 30, 2016

    I have not read A Time To Kill, but I love the movie. I had already been a fan of FSoG before they were books. I still have the fanfics saved on my computer. When the books came out, I liked them. Now? I just have really started hating them over the years and I even gave away my box set, just to get them out of my sight.

    • Diana
      March 30, 2016

      A Time to Kill is really nice. I also watched the movie before reading the book. You should check it out if you get a chance. FSoG was really hyped, I think that is why I picked the first book. Wonder why you changed your mind from being a fan to wanting them out of your site though.

  3. journeyofangie
    March 30, 2016

    I haven’t read any on your list., though I’ve heard about the fifty shades of grey, not on my TBR. If you’re interested, here’s my list: http://wp.me/p7ksIu-1I

    • Diana
      March 30, 2016

      Unfortunately, I can’t even try to tell you to check out FSoG since I didn’t like it anyway 🙂

      Thanks for sharing your list, heading over to your blog now.

  4. SciFi and Scary
    March 30, 2016

    Blargh, 50 Shades. *shudders* Is the only one I’ve read on your list though. lol. My T5W

    • Diana
      March 30, 2016

      Lol I think most people read FSOG due to the hype perhaps 🙂 Thanks for sharing you list,heading over to your blog now

  5. Alice
    March 30, 2016

    I still have to read Shopaholic to the Rescue (I just checked out and it was released in February 2016 here in Italy), I’m afraid that when a saga starts to be too long the last books are a bit useless 😦

    • Diana
      March 30, 2016

      I think that is what happened with this series.I thought the last book was unnessary and it dragged out.I hope you get it though,you never know,it may be different for 🙂

      Thank you for visiting and commenting 🙂

  6. beamasalunga
    March 31, 2016

    Lovely list, Diana! Your choices are unique btw. Anyways, I love Shopaholic series but I’ve only read until Mini Shopaholic (6th). I’ve been wanting to continue the series because Becky Bloomwood is so sassy! I hope I’ll like Shopaholic to the Rescue.

    • Diana
      March 31, 2016

      Thanks. I guess I am all over with my choices 🙂 Most lists that I read were mainly on fantasy books and almost all had Harry Porter but I haven’t read anything in the genre yet 😦

      Thanks for visiting the blog and commenting 🙂

      • Diana
        March 31, 2016

        I hope you will like Shopaholics to the rescue by the way

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 30, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top 5 Wednesday and tagged , , , .
