A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top 5 Wednesday – Rainy Day Reads

#T5W

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey. Every week, participants  get a new topic to discuss and you list your top 5 books (or whatever is specified) that relate to that topic! If you’re interested in joining, you should come join the fun over at the Goodreads group!
Rainy Day Reads

3435-Reading-On-A-Rainy-Day

After two months of sunny and extremely hot days, the April showers have finally started in Kenya. The first time it rained was on April 1st, I woke up to the sound of rain at 2am in the morning and it was the most beautiful sound ever. My rainy day reads are all emotional kinds of reads.Here they are:

The Colour Purple by Alice Walker- I enjoyed this book although it made me cry. I liked Celie so much but her story was sad. The good thing is that her transformation to a confident and free woman was amazing to witness through the pages.

Her Mother’s Hope by Francine Rivers- I can’t remember crying so much while reading a book. It didn’t just have one sad section but there were several. This book is so beautiful but it will break your heart.

The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini- These two books just had to be on this list. I remember reading them late into the night and getting lost in the streets of Kabul and the Afghanistan that Khaled described.

Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden- I always enjoy the books that take you away to different  world from where you are. I got lost in this narrative that I forgot about everything else in my world. I was immersed into the life of Geishas and their stories. I could hear the sounds, see the characters in the beautiful kimonos and smell the scents of Japan against the background sounds of the rain.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins- This was the book that I was reading over the weekend as the rains started and it was the perfect read then. I started off disliking the book because it seemed too YA  (I know that’s not a thing). However, about 90 pages in, I started liking the story and got lost in Anna and Etienne’s love story. It’s not the kind of book that will make you cry but it is an awwww kind of book.

So those are my rainy day reads. What are yours? Share your links and comments and I might just get ideas about the books to read during this rainy season.

Happy rainy days reading!

Photo credits:Rainy Day GIF and  Featured Image

9 comments on “Top 5 Wednesday – Rainy Day Reads

  1. Kat Impossible
    April 6, 2016

    I can definitely agree on Anna and the French Kiss and Kite Runner. I haven’t read the rest, but those are awesome choices, even though I often associate Kite Runner with heat and dry land.

    • Diana
      April 7, 2016

      Lol I can get the reason behind your association of Kite Runner and desert kind of weather.I guess its because of the setting.If you liked that book though,you may like A Thousand Splendid Suns and And the Mountains Echoed by the same author.Thanks and happy reading.

  2. thedailyam
    April 6, 2016

    Whenever I read A Thousand Splendid Suns is a rainy day… because of my tears.

    • Diana
      April 7, 2016

      Oh I love your comment.Sounds poetic.I agree though.That book is beautiful but pretty sad.Kite Runner was sad too.I guess the only Khaled book that didn’t break me was And The Mountains Echoed.

      • thedailyam
        April 7, 2016

        Aww, thank you! 🙂 I agree with you, although ATME was pretty good it didn’t have the spark of the first two.

  3. The Girl in Boots
    April 7, 2016

    I have heard great things about the kite runner. I plan to read it soon!

    • Diana
      April 7, 2016

      I hope you will like it as much as I did. Its a such a good book.I really enjoy Khaled’s writing.

  4. Beth Jones
    April 8, 2016

    I’ve only read Anna on your list, but I completely agree! There are some books that make you feel emotional because they’re so cute and sweet, rather than actually being sad. I cried when I finished that series, actually!

  5. heatherhobbs01
    April 8, 2016

    Kite Runner is one of my favorites! All great choices.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 6, 2016 by in Bookish Post.
