A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: PS: I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

IMG_20160221_122625.jpg
Ps: I Love You by Cecelia Ahern is a lovely, light read. The book is big, it has about 500 pages but the flow of the narration is simple such that turning the pages was easy.
The protagonist of the story is Holly, a 30 year old woman living in Dublin. The story starts three months after death of her husband, Gerry, which left the young widow feeling, lost and devastated. However, she soon finds a series of letters from her late husband. Gerry had written letters for each month with different instructions for her. She can only read one letter each month but this helps in giving her something to look forward to. The letters help Holly get back on her feet as she tries to get over the death of her husband.
The other characters in the book include Holly’s best friends; Denise, Sharon and John. Holly’s family also had some interesting characters. My favorite sibling was Richard, the awkward, misunderstood big brother. Gerry was also an amazing character. He knew that he was dying from the cancer but made plans to help his widow get through the loss.
What I liked about PS: I Love you by Cecilia Ahern is the theme of grieving and healing. I enjoyed reading about Holly’s journey. The fact that Gerry was helping her get through her loss was also an interesting angle to the story.

PS_I_Love_You_(film)
What I didn’t like was how the characters seemed shallow at times. It was all about drinking at the trendiest parties and getting wasted, expensive clothes, beautiful people. Things also seemed to be way too perfect and conflict resolution was over simplified. Holly looks for a job, it’s a great job but she has no experience but of course she lands it. Gerry is portrayed as the perfect husband. Ciara and Mathew have fallout and they just make up months later in some sappy romantic moment. Everyone seems to be falling in love and living perfect lives. There were bits in the plot that made it quite unbelievable.
Otherwise, if you are looking for a nice, easy read then you should check out PS: I love you by Cecelia Ahern.

62

4 comments on “Book Review: PS: I Love You by Cecelia Ahern

  1. Lola @ Hit or Miss Books
    April 17, 2016

    I watched the movie a long time ago, but I don’t remember ANYTHING about it, except that I liked it but didn’t love it. I am interested in the book, though, so I’m glad you reviewed this! 🙂

    • Diana
      April 18, 2016

      Interestingly, I also think I watched the movie sometime back but couldn’t recall anything about it.Reading the book did not evoke any memories to remind me that I may have watched it.The book is okay especially when you are looking for a light and fluffy read 🙂

  2. Anastasia
    April 26, 2016

    This was a funny book for me. I expected not to like it because usually I’m not the biggest fan of romance but this was very nice light, fluffy read!

    • Diana
      April 27, 2016

      Glad to hear that you also enjoyed it 🙂 I agree, it was a nice,light,fluffy read for me too.

Leave a Reply

