A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

T5W: Intimidating Books

April 20th – Top 5 Wednesday: Books that I am intimidated by

#T5W

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by Lainey. Every week, readers  get a new topic to discuss and  list  5 books (or whatever is specified) in relation to the specified topic! If you’re interested in joining, come over to this Goodreads group!

Okay, so I am intimidated by the classics. My reading challenge for this year included reading at least 10 books classified as classics. I have read 31 books so far this year and only two were classics( Beloved by Toni Morrison and To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee). I still plan on meeting my target. I mean, we still have 7 more months till the end of 2016, right? So, there is still time.

Here are some of the classics that intimidate me.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Anna Karenina and War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Moby Dick by Herman Melville

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo

TERRIFIED

 

I don’t own any of these books but they are all at the library at my place of work. I usually pass by the classics sections, pick one book(most are huge), read the blurb, quietly put it back on the shelf and tiptoe to the aisle that has memoirs or thrillers. However, next time I pass by the classics, I will pick one book and hopefully walk out of the library with it. Someday…

Have you read any of these? Do you like the classics? Which books  intimidate you?Feel free to share your T5W links.

30 comments on “T5W: Intimidating Books

  1. Kerry
    April 20, 2016

    Hi Diana! I am also intimidated by those big books. I have read the abridged version of Les Mis after I watched the 2012 movie adaptation and I fell in love. I am looking forward to reading the complete unabridged version. I am also curious about Victor Hugo’s other work like The Hunchback of Notre Dame but I am told that it differs from the Disney version. I am also keen to read The Count of Monte Cristo which I was introduced to as a child but haven’t touched it as an adult. Well, do keep us updated on your progress. Any African authors that intimidate you?

    • Diana
      April 20, 2016

      Thanks for your comment Kerry 🙂 I don’t have any African authors who intimidate me. I did my undergraduate degree in Literature studies with main focus in African Lit and we also do four years of African Lit in high school in Kenya so I guess I got used to the writing. However, classics to me are a new genre and I guess I do a lot of light reading so the idea of complex books is intimidating to me. perhaps I should look for the Hugo movie before reading Les Miserables. I will look for his other works if I manage to read that one.

      Thanks for visiting and happy reading.

    • mphadventuregirl
      October 1, 2016

      For Les Misérables, I started with the abridged book after becoming obsessed with the musical. I felt like there was something missing from the abridged. Well I later decided to attempt the unabridged book and that version is ten times better then the abridged and actually made me appreciate the musical more. What helped me with the unabridged was my knowledge of the musical because it helped me underline major characters and write in names of songs.

  2. Donna
    April 20, 2016

    Moby Dick is a book I am never picking up. It’s understood we are all supposed to have read it but I can’t think of a book I want to read less than this one. They tried to force me when I was younger, that might explain my hatred for it. I haven’t read Les Misérables either. I must be the last French who doesn’t want to give Hugo a try, haha. I was leery about Jane Eyre but it’s one of the few classics I’ve enjoyed.

    • Diana
      April 20, 2016

      Glad to heat that you enjoyed Jane Eyre. I watched the mini-series adaptation of the book and it was really nice though quite long. I hope to read it this year though. I watched the movie adaptation of Moby Dick( In the Heart of the Sea) last year, it was okay as a movie. Still trying to challenge myself to read the book though. I understand your reason for not being interested in it though. Forced reading has a way of putting one off certain books.

  3. Alyce @ Everything Alyce
    April 20, 2016

    I definitely agree with you that Pride and Prejudice is intimidating – I’ve heard so many people saying it’s a classic that you MUST read, but that is just too much pressure!

    • Diana
      April 20, 2016

      I get what you mean about the pressure. That is always my issue with Hyped books. I always find them intimidating because its like you have to love them because everyone else did lol. I have never even watched the movie based on Pride and Prejudice. I may start from there before reading the book. Thanks for your comment 🙂

  4. Magini - books
    April 20, 2016

    Oh yes, the big, old and scary. I totally understand.

    • Diana
      April 20, 2016

      Glad I am not the only one intimidated by them 🙂

  5. Ravenclaw Book Club
    April 20, 2016

    I totally understand haha. I’m terrified of classics as well. I can recommend the Sherlock Holmes novels though – they don’t even read like classics. They’re super short and fun.

    • Diana
      April 20, 2016

      Good thing, I have seen a couple of Sherlock Holmes next to some Agatha Christies at the library. Thanks for the recommendation, I will definitely pick one of them next time 🙂

      • Ravenclaw Book Club
        April 20, 2016

        I’d recommend you start with the first novel, A Study in Scarlet. Since it’s the first one it’s easier to understand the characters, and I liked it much better than the second one. 🙂

      • Diana
        April 21, 2016

        I will make a point of looking for A Study in Scarlet. Thank you so much for the recommendation 🙂

  6. SciFi and Scary
    April 20, 2016

    Yeah, most classics are on my ‘nu-uh’ list, though I will say I think some of the accessible and interesting ones that I have read are ones like Journey to the Center of the Earth, 20,00 leagues under the sea, The Invisible Man, etc.

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      Thanks for the recommendations. I watched the movie adaptation of Journey to the Center of the Earth but I haven’t read the book. I would be interested in that though. The synopsis of Invisible Man sounds quite good too.I try find copies of the two.

  7. _giovannard
    April 20, 2016

    Yeah, I think Classics in general are VERY intimidating. That’s why I’ve only read a few of them, and that was only because I HAD to…Gotta love high school. 😉

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      haha compulsory reading 🙂 Unfortunately, the only compulsory books we had in high school here is African Literature. I hope to find some less intimidating classics to read someday though 🙂

  8. Nika
    April 20, 2016

    I read Pride and Prejudice two years ago because I was also intimidated by it. But I really liked it. And Jane Eyre is one of my all-time favourite books.
    I also have Anna Karenina on my list and I could easily put Moby Dick on it also, haha. I mean… those books are just huge!
    Here’s my list:
    https://nikasreadinglist.wordpress.com/2016/04/20/top-5-wednesday-books-im-intimidated-by/

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      Glad to hear that you enjoyed Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre. I hope to at least read those two at some point. They seem like interesting books once one gets over the intimidation. Karenina and Les Misreables are huge. Moby Dick, I don’t even think that I will ever read that one lol.

      Heading over to your list now. Thanks for the comment and the link. Happy Reading 🙂

  9. Nova
    April 20, 2016

    Aaahhh, classics. I’ve managed to read only one of those. They’re my weakness, I just can’t do it easily.

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      I can see that I am not alone in this. They are a challenge 🙂

  10. Noirfifre
    April 20, 2016

    You have a library at your work place, that is so epic cool! Jane Eyre is a decent read, not heavy compared to other Victorian. Pick it up on a very bleak and rainy day. Pride and Prejudice is not difficult to get into and it is more than the soapy/romantic portrayal of the film adaptations. P.S I find it the simplest and most overrated of JA novels. I read an abridged version of Moby Dick as a child and do have it on a list to reaf as well as the two other books on yout list. Happy reading :).

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      April showers have started here and so its bleak and rainy almost everyday, time for Jane Eyre :-)Seriously though, out of all the books on my list that is the one that intrigues me the most so I plan on picking it up soon. You make Pride and Prejudice sound good, I hope to read it someday soon too.

      Thanks for the comment and happy reading too.

  11. Sudden
    April 21, 2016

    One way to go around a scary classic and really enjoy it is to read it as a Book Club. As the story and characters develop, the insight from the others spurs you on to the end…

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      Great idea. My book-club read Beloved recently and that truly helped me enjoy the book and I think I managed to read it because of that. We also plan on reading The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. Book Clubs definitely help 🙂 Thanks and Happy reading.

  12. Cate T.
    April 21, 2016

    Jane Eyre is my favorite of all time. I used to read it once a year with different editions. If you’re looking for fast-paced, this is not it. But if you’re in the mood for an immersive story with a strong female character and a love story that is engaging, Jane Eyre it is!

    • Diana
      April 22, 2016

      I will be prepared for Jane Eyre but adjusting my expectations. I mostly read fast paced books but I don’t mind reading something different especially if it is good and I definitely love strong female protagonists/characters. Thank you 🙂

  13. The Girl in Boots
    April 29, 2016

    You will love Pride And Prejudice! It will take some time to get used to the writing, but overall it’s amazing!

    • Diana
      May 2, 2016

      Thanks.I’ll bump it up my TBR Pile.Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre have so many good reviews it seems.Thanks for the comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top 5 Wednesday and tagged , , .
