A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday

This meme is currently hosted by Sam at  Taking on a World of Words

www

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

Beloved by Toni Morrison

This was quite challenging but I am glad that I read the book. You can read my review here.

This Secret We’re Keeping by Rebecca Done

I had mixed feelings about this book mainly because of the taboo topic. The main characters were involved in a teacher-pupil relationship. The pupil was 15 years then and he was her 25 year old Maths teacher. I will post a full review of the book this Friday so watch out for my post.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

As it turns out, this book was not as intimidating as I thought it would be. It was an enjoyable book. My review is scheduled for sometime next week.

Currently Reading

Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica

This was another book that I picked on a whim. The blurb attracted me to the book and I decided to read it although it wasn’t really on my TBR. The beginning of the book is a bit slow paced but I’m looking forward to finding out how the story goes. The synopsis is truly promising.

Lucky by Alice Sebold

I got this memoir sometime last month and I have finally gotten around to reading it.The first chapter is horrific as Alice gives details of her rape ordeal right at the start of the book.

Reading Next

Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl

When it happens by Susane Colosanti

These books were in my March TBR list but I kept picking new books so I ended up not reading them. I plan on getting back to the list(March TBR) before the end of this month.

So what about you, have you read anything interesting lately? What are you reading now? What do you plan on reading next? Share your WWW links (or any similar memes) in the comments section and I will pay your blog visit.

29 comments on “WWW-Wednesday

  1. samfalston
    April 20, 2016

    Some really interesting books here. I’m going to check out your review of ‘Beloved’ when I get a spare moment.. ‘The secret we’re keeping’ looks interesting as well, although I’m wary about how they are going to deal with that topic.

    My WWW is: https://theliterarysam.wordpress.com/2016/04/20/www-wednesday-3/

    • Diana
      April 20, 2016

      The Secret we’re Keeping is one book that I think will have so many different reviews depending on how each reader feels about the topic. The writing is really good though so I hope you do get to read it at some point.

      Thanks for sharing your link. Heading over to your post now. Happy Wednesday.

  2. Donna
    April 20, 2016

    The blurb for Pretty Baby does sound great. I can’t wait to hear your thoughts when you’re done with it. Alice Sebold’s memoir looks like a hard read.
    Happy reading! 🙂
    Here’s my WWW https://chocolatenwafflesblog.wordpress.com/2016/04/20/this-week-in-books-april-20th-2016/#more-4242

    • Diana
      April 20, 2016

      Thank you Donna. Pretty Baby is really good do far and fast paced.Ill post a review probably next week. The memoir is tough and the fact that its detailed makes it a hard read for sure so I will take my time getting through it.

      Thanks for the link. Happy reading too 🙂

  3. rathertoofondofbooks
    April 20, 2016

    Some brilliant books in your post this week. I loved Beloved and I thought Lucky was an incredibly honest and moving book. I’ve got The Secret We’re Keeping on my TBR and really want to read it soon.

    Here’s my WWW Wednesday/TWiB Post:
    https://rathertoofondofbooks.wordpress.com/2016/04/20/www-wednesday-20-april/

    • Diana
      April 20, 2016

      Oh I was just reading your post right now, admiring all the lovely books that you have 🙂

      Glad to hear that you loved Beloved. I have a couple of chapters to go with Lucky but I agree,it is honest and moving. I look forward to reading your thoughts about This Secret We’re Reading. I hope you get to read it soon. Thanks for the link, I really like all your books 🙂

  4. Emily Witt
    April 20, 2016

    I quite liked the cover of The Secret We’re Keeping, but yeah, not sure it would be my sort of thing. I really need to read The Diary of Anne Frank – I can’t believe I have got this far in life without getting around to it.

    • Diana
      April 20, 2016

      The taboo topic makes it a balancing act despite the good writing but yeah, the cover does look good. I hope that you will get to read Anne Frank someday. I have had the book on my shelf for almost two years, not sure why it has taken me so long to read it.

  5. Claire | Art and Soul
    April 20, 2016

    Anne Frank’s diary is one of those books I’ve always meant to read and never got round to it. It makes me feel bad, as it’s one of those books you feel you “should” have read.

    I completely agree with your great review of Beloved: not an easy read at all, but well worth making the effort.

    Thank you for visiting my WWW post (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/04/20/www-wednesday-20th-april-2016/) and happy reading!

    • Diana
      April 20, 2016

      I have always felt that way about Anne Frank though it has taken me so long to read it despite having the book on my bookshelf. I liked your post, some interesting books you have. Thanks and Happy reading.

  6. Catherine
    April 20, 2016

    I struggled with ‘Beloved’ at uni and ended up just wikipedia-ing it. Should probably try it again at some point. And I liked Anne Frank, although felt kind of bad reading it. I wouldn’t want someone reading my teenage diary!

    My WWW: http://whenitdoes.blogspot.co.uk/2016/04/www-wednesdays-what-ive-been-reading.html

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      LOL the idea of Wikipedia-ing Beloved cracked me up although I will be honest and admit that the first few pages of the book really confused me so I had to Google the plot-line 🙂 I have never thought about Anne Frank that way but I would be mortified if someone read my teenage diary too.

      Thanks for the link, will now visit your post.

  7. ChrissiReads
    April 20, 2016

    I keep meaning to read Pretty Baby. I shall look out for your review!

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      I finished reading it last night. I will post a review next week. Thanks.

  8. Jenn
    April 20, 2016

    “Beloved” was a challenging read for me as well. But I also am not a fan of the spook factor lol
    I look forward to reading your review on Anne Frank. I enjoyed that read 🙂
    Good list!

    Here’s my WWW: http://www.quiteanovelidea.com/2016/04/www-wednesday-4-20-16.html

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      I loved your post,just read. Coming back to your blog to look around, its so beautiful 🙂

      Thank you, I hope to enjoy Anne Frank.Glad to hear I am not the only one who struggled with Beloved lol

  9. Pingback: Book Tags | The Book Sacrifice Tag – Bookshelves & Biros

  10. Beyond Opinions
    April 20, 2016

    I really want to get to Anne Frank. My daughter read it and said it was a great book. I hope you have a great reading week 🙂

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      Thank you. I plan on starting Anne Frank tonight, I look forward to it.

      Happy reading too 🙂

  11. Sam
    April 20, 2016

    Glad you liked TKAM. I remember being a bit intimidated, too, but Lee writes really well. Enjoy Anne Frank’s diary. I listed to it last year and was really moved by it. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      I agree, Lee writes so well. I want to read her second book, Go Set a Watchman, Hopefully its nice like TKAM.I look forward to reading Anne Frank starting tonight. Happy reading too and thanks for hosting 🙂

      • Sam
        April 21, 2016

        Watchman is very different. The writing is similar but the characters are very different from the TKAM characters. I hope you like it.

  12. Yvo
    April 20, 2016

    Good to hear you enjoyed To Kill A Mockingbird! I think it was one of my favorite classics back in high school. And Anne Frank is without doubt a very good read as well. I hope you’ll enjoy your books this week! 🙂

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      TKAM turned out to be really enjoyable. Looking forward to Anne Frank.

      Thank you and enjoy your books too 🙂

  13. nasaye
    April 21, 2016

    Dear Diana,
    I would like to let you know that you are constantly making me readjust my reading list. Based on these reviews and comments, I’m constantly shuffling it, pulling a book from the back to the front and vice-versa…..dang! Why did I follow this blog!!

    • Diana
      April 21, 2016

      hahaha well I hope the reviews/comments have led you to some great reads 🙂 Thank you for following. Do not leave for I will follow you and convince you to come back and keep shuffling your TBR list 🙂

  14. charliegirlteachergirl
    April 22, 2016

    I finally found your blog! Yay! I could not read Beloved for my senior English assignment. I elected to fail the test because I just could not read the book. I was the most mature kid in my school, but I don’t think I was ready for the content.

    • Diana
      April 22, 2016

      Yay!Glad to hear that. Its nice to see you here:-) Sorry to hear about your experience with Beloved. Its a complex book though and I struggled through it. Can’t imagine would I would have done if I had it as a compulsory read in school.

      Thanks for the follow:-)

  15. Pingback: Inside Out Book Tag – adoptabookaus

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 20, 2016 by in Bookish Post.
