A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Delightful Bookworm Things/Experiences

top ten tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by  The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails listing ten things based on the topic.

Today’s topic is Bookworm Delights.

Book Gifts

gifts.jpgOkay, so I love books. I think it’s pretty obvious that I do. However, I hardly receive book gifts. I really don’t get it. I thought my hints were clear but I always get non-book gifts. Honestly, I don’t get it.lol. End of rant. Bottom line though,book gifts are awesome though.

New Books

New books are always a delight. I guess that is why  many readers struggle with adhering to book buying bans.

book dealsGreat Deals on Books

This is always a great excuse/justification for book buying.Lucky for me,Nairobi has so many books street vendors who offer great deals on second-hand books.

 

SMELL 1

The smell of books

Especially new books. Or old ones. Any books really.

 

 

Bookstores and Books Street Vendors

I get my books from street vendors who I absolutely adore. Interestingly, most street vendors in Nairobi are not readers but they still know the best books.For instance; On Saturday, my favorite vendor saw me going through the pile of books and quietly passed me a Sophie Kinsella from his stash.”Madam, all the women usually buy this one, I promise…its really nice. These books sell like hotcakes.” That is how I ended up with a second copy of Undomesticated Goddess.  I think that the second-hand books from street vendors also tell stories of their previous owners.

 

pavement-bookworm1-550x550One of the most renowned books Street vendors is Philani Dladla, the homeless South African books street vendor. I loved his story about how he reads all the books that he sells and explains the synopsis of each book to the prospective buyers.I read an interview in which Dladla explains Jodi Picoult’s book; My Sister’s Keeper as follows:

“You know, when you got a car. But this car, it always gives you problems. Now, you go maybe buy a second-hand car just to take some parts from that and fix this one. This lady, she was suffering from leukemia. So her parents decided to give birth to another sister, so she’s gonna be like a donor,” he explained wisely.

Here is a video of Philani.

Beautiful and well stocked libraries

Is there anything more enchanting that a well stocked library? The excitement of walking between rows and rows of books. The endless possibilities offered by the libraries. You can read about my favorite library here.

Coffee plus Books

Ever walked into a coffee house where some nice Jazz is playing and  so you find a table(preferably at the corner) and settle with your book and a cup of coffee? The simple pleasures of life.

Solo travels

IMG_20160227_184301

I love traveling long distance by bus. The farthest I have traveled by bus is from Nairobi to Dar Es Salaam (12 hours). I am usually on the road every other weekend plus daily commutes during the week to and from work/school. However, I think I have one of those faces. The chatty, friendly ones. I often end up next to strangers who want to talk. Nevertheless, there are other times when I get to enjoy the view and just read. This is pure bliss.

Finding a new favorite book

I can’t tell you how many times I get a new favorite book. My favorite book in March was The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Right now it’s The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd although Pretty Baby by Mark Kubica is a close second. I don’t have an all time favorite book so finding new ones is always such a delight.

Meeting other readers so that we can talk books

 

I guess this is why I love the book blogging community and my book club. It is always nice to meet other readers and talk about books.

So what are your bookworm delights? Do you often receive book gifts? Do you have books street vendors in your country?Share your TTT links in the comment section. I would love to hear about the book-related things/experiences that delight you.

 

Credit for the featured image. If you are in Kenya and would like to donate books, you can do that through Storymoja’s Start a Library Campaign. Enjoy your delights and if you ca,spread the cheer by donating books to those who cannot afford to buy them.

29 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Delightful Bookworm Things/Experiences

  1. Yulia K.
    April 26, 2016

    Great list. It’s a little bit awkward when someone is watching you smelling that book but you get used to it. 😀 Here’s mine: TTT

    • Diana
      April 26, 2016

      haha especially for none-readers. Book smelling must seem quite weird. Thanks for the comment. Headed over to your post now 🙂

  2. Jamie Wu
    April 26, 2016

    I don’t get a lot of book gifts too :'(. I have a friend who keeps telling me that he gave this book to this person and that book to that person, but never gave me one.

    • Diana
      April 26, 2016

      I wonder why your friend does that 😦 Someone once told me that its really hard to buy a book for an ardent reader because there is always a high chance hat they may have read whatever you want to get them.

      • Jamie Wu
        April 26, 2016

        That’s true. Maybe I should give more hints that I want to read a specific book. I don’t know why he does that, I know he probably can’t pick out the books that I would read, so that’s probably why he doesn’t give me any. Still, it’s a bit funny at times.

  3. Abu Amirah
    April 26, 2016

    I love this post! i can totally relate to the smell of books…especially old books. I buy books at Soko Ndogo Mombasa at a ridiculously low price. Philani’s story reminds me of a shoe cobblar right opposite where i live. The guy is a super reader, like he has read all the books in my library while i haven’t even read half of them! He has even started a book rental kind of thing next to the shoes he mends.

    And Dee, just so you know, i really admire this thing you have with books, so much so that i just had to mention you in my post http://akhymjanja.co.ke/tale-of-two-books-atozchallenge/

    • Diana
      April 26, 2016

      I have never heard of Soko Ndogo.Are they street vendors ama? Wow, the cobbler is inspirational. I wish I could meet him. He must have some awesome book recommendations. You should do a story on him someday 🙂 Thank you. I have just read your post. Its awesome and I need to read Dust this year.

  4. Cait @ Paper Fury
    April 26, 2016

    Your list is so amazing! I agree with SO MANY OF THESE!! I really love book sales. xD And well-stocked libraries. Oh! Oh! And being the first person to read a NEW library book…that’s just and afjdklsafd amazing feeling. :’)
    Here’s my TTT!

    • Diana
      April 26, 2016

      We do share a number of bookworm delights:-) I hadn’t thought about being the first person to read a New library book but I love that too. Especially when its not even a new book but more like an undiscovered book. I found The Shadow of the Wind in our library. It had been there for almost two years and I was still the first reader.

      Thanks for the link, heading over to your post now.

  5. lbarasa
    April 26, 2016

    I have ‘The Book Thief’ of my TBR. And aren’t the street vendors heaven sent? I refer to them as ‘Bendover Bookshops’ hehe. Got a gem from one at almost half the price as compared to the Bookshops. I don’t know if it’s me or what but before settling for a book, I usually do a round in the book stores comparing prices (Kenyan style). I know am not alone in this. The smell of books…, lets not get there. I love the post.

    • Diana
      April 27, 2016

      Thanks girl and I should introduce you to my Inama bookshops. I buy books at 100bob or 50 bob even New York Best Sellers so if bookshops sell kawaida at 500 to 1500 that’s like 10% or less.50% is too high!Lol the Kenyan in us will always force us to compare prices though and ensure that we get the best deals always. You should read The Book Thief. Its really nice. Happy reading dear ❤

  6. _giovannard
    April 26, 2016

    It’s always nice getting books as gifts, because then you don’t have to pay for them yourself! 😉 Great Top Ten!
    My TTT.

    • Diana
      April 27, 2016

      Yeah I agree,book gifts are awesome:-) I left you a comment on your TTT.CM Punk rules! Happy reading 🙂

  7. iloveheartlandx
    April 26, 2016

    Ah, finding a new favourite book is one of my favourite things ever!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/04/26/top-ten-tuesday-54/

    • Diana
      April 27, 2016

      Amen to that. That is definitely one of the main perks of being a bookworm, the new discoveries :-)Thanks for the link. Heading over to your post now.

  8. Elen @ A World of Reviews
    April 26, 2016

    I totally agree with everything on your list, especially book deals! It’s such a good feeling leaving a shop when you know you’ve managed to get three books for the price of one. 😀 And long commutes are so good for reading. I have a commute to uni everyday and it’s the perfect reading time. Great list!

    • Diana
      April 27, 2016

      Great meeting another reader who enjoys reading during long commutes 🙂 I also have daily commutes to work in the morning and later in the evening to uni and I get so much reading done then 🙂

  9. Bookish presents are my favorite things of ever. Also, I always smell the books at bookstores and everyone looks at me weirdly but I don’t care hahah. Happy reading! http://www.curious-daisy.com/top-ten-tuesday/top-ten-bookworm-delights/

    • Diana
      April 27, 2016

      hahaha only bookworms understand how delightful the smell of books is. Everyone else just thinks book smelling is odd 🙂

      Happy reading too and thanks for the link. Heading over to your post now.

  10. Anastasia
    April 26, 2016

    YES! I have the exact same problem!! People KNOW I love reading and do they give me books as gifts…no O-O seriously. And I’ve wondered if it’s because they don’t know what books I like but I’d just love to connect books with people who gave them to me (end of my rant :D)

    Great list, I also like the smell of books!

    • Diana
      April 27, 2016

      LOL I thought I was the only one who doesn’t get book gifts. Seriously, it would be nice to get a box o books or even just one wrapped one once in a while 🙂 Happy reading and thanks for the comment.

      • Anastasia
        April 27, 2016

        No you aren’t 😀 there’s just something wrong with other people o.O

  11. Lisa @ Captivated Reader
    April 27, 2016

    Good list! I enjoy many of the same things you do too. Gotta love those book deals.

    Here’s a link to my TTT post for this week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2016/04/top-ten-tuesday-top-ten-bookworm.html

    Happy reading!!

    • Diana
      April 27, 2016

      Thank you for the comment. Book deals are the best 🙂 Happy reading. Heading over to your post now.

  12. charliegirlteachergirl
    April 27, 2016

    I’ve come to realize I only ask for two things as an adult for gifts: money to pay bills (or buy classroom stuff) or book gift cards. Not hard to please, right?

    • Diana
      April 27, 2016

      haha not at all 🙂 I hope you get both as often as possible. Thanks for the comment and happy reading.

  13. Annemieke
    April 28, 2016

    I know the pain of not receiving book gifts. Unless I give my husband a list of books I want I don’t get them either. 😉 My parents at least give money to buy books with but when other people ask me what I want and I say books or something book related, they never give me it, haha. Plus I shouldn’t need to say it. My book shelves are in the living room so whenever people visit us they have a view on my book shelves. Ah well.

    • Diana
      May 2, 2016

      Haha seems like I’m not the only one who doesn’t get many book-related gifts.My bookshelf is in the living room too but still….:-) I like the book list idea.Perhaps I should also be giving my family a list and see if I’ll get some books 🙂 Thanks for the comment.Happy reading.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2016 by in Bookish Post.
