A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

TTT: Ten Characters I would Love to Revisit as Adults

 

top ten tuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by  The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

Today’s topic was Childhood Characters that I would like to revisit. However, I decided to mix it up a little bit. On my list. I have  some childhood characters and others are Y/A and children characters from my favorite books that I would like to revisit.

ChildhoodCharacters

  • Nancy from the Nancy Drew series – I read so many books from this series. I loved and admired Nancy Drew. I wouldn’t mind revisiting the young detective.
  • Jessica and Elizabeth from the Sweet Valley Series. As a teen, I read Sweet Valley High and then  the Sweet Valley University series. I was envious of Jessica and Elizabeth and wanted their lives back then.
  • Frank and Joe Hardy in The Hardy Boys by Franklin Dixon- another series that I read in my teens. I would like to know what happened to the boys. Perhaps they grew up and became detectives in another series, yes? No? Okay, maybe not.
  • Veronica Mars– Another series that I loved. I also used to watch the TV Show.

 

Favorite teen couples

  • Anna and Etienne St. Clair in Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins- The book ended when the relationship was just starting. It would be nice to know how the two ended up.
  • Ben and Fallon in November 9 by Colleen Hoover- Their relationship sort of revolved around the one date and they had only met about 5 times in 5 years. I wonder how everything worked out for them.
  • Hazel from the Fault in our Stars by John Green- Oh Hazel, so many questions.

 

Child Narrators from my favorite books

  • Scout in To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee- I liked this young, brave girl.
  • Leisel in The Book Thief- I know death told us a bit about Leisel’s life but I still would have liked to know more about how she ended up.
  • Jack in Room by Emma Donoghue- Jack spent the first seven years of his life locked up in a room where he watched his mother get raped almost daily. He also lived through his mother’s suicide attempt. So many bad things happened to this little; brave boy. I wish there was a second book about him perhaps with a happy ending.
  • Handful in The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd- Handful grew up as a slave and the books ends with her escape from slavery. I wouldn’t mind knowing about her life as a free woman.

 

Those are some of the characters that I would like to revisit. Which characters would you like to revisit? Please feel free to share the links to your TTT posts.

Credit for the featured image.

29 comments on “TTT: Ten Characters I would Love to Revisit as Adults

  1. Jamie Wu
    May 3, 2016

    Definitely have a lot of questions about Hazel, but I’m afraid to have them answered 😦

    • Diana
      May 4, 2016

      I know 😦 I am afraid that my heart will be broken if she went the Gus way. She was an amazing character though.

  2. lbarasa
    May 3, 2016

    I LOVED Sweet Valley! I also got to read it through to Sweet Valley University! Teen days were everything. Did you have an opportunity of reading ‘Dawson’s Creek?’ I loved the series and the book even more.
    Scout was my favorite character in the Mocking Bird book. I really need to get my hands on The Book Thief. Thanks for sharing.
    Keep warm

    • Diana
      May 4, 2016

      Sweet Valley series was awesome, I remember how we used to have a waiting line in high school while circulating the books around. Glad to meet another fan 😉 I missed out on Dawson Creek though. I have never read it or watched the show. I hope that you will love the Book Thief as much as I did. Its a beautiful book. Thanks for reading and keep warm too and dry especially if you are in Nairobi with this heavy rains.

  3. There is that book Sweet Valley Confidential, that shows Jessica, Elizabeth and the gang 10 years in the future, but don’t read it because it totally RUINS everything. I’m still angry about that. But if some awesome fanfiction came along about the twins, Enid, Bruce, Lila, Cara, Jeffrey and the rest of the gang as they’d really be? I’d read the crap out of that!

    My TTT

    • Diana
      May 4, 2016

      Thanks for the warning. I will stay away from Sweet Valley Confidential 🙂 I guess Jess and Elizabeth were great as they were and at the time that the books were set in. Thanks for reading. Heading over to your post now.

  4. E
    May 3, 2016

    I don’t think I’d have the courage to see Hazel in 10 years time 😦 Too hard

  5. ChrissiReads
    May 3, 2016

    What a brilliant list! 🙂 I loved so many of these books. I’d be especially intrigued to see what became of Nancy Drew!

    • Diana
      May 4, 2016

      Thanks and glad you loved them too. I bet Nancy Drew would some awesome PI or detective by now 🙂

  6. Yes to Scout and Nancy. I’m really surprised by how much I’ve seen Jessica and Elizabeth on people lists this week. Great list!

    • Diana
      May 4, 2016

      Thanks and I guess a lot of people read and liked Sweet Valley at some point 🙂

  7. mki52
    May 3, 2016

    I loved your twist with adding in child narrators from your favourite books!

    • Diana
      May 4, 2016

      Thank you 🙂 I couldn’t have come up with ten childhood characters haha

  8. I think I also read every single Sweet Valley High and Sweet Valley University series. I remember even starting over with the series in elementary school. I also envied the twins very much. I thought they were so incredibly cool and amazing.

    • Diana
      May 4, 2016

      aw, great to hear that I am not the only one 🙂 Jessica and Elizabeth used to have the perfect lives with all their friends, dating lives and everything else. They really did seem amazing and cool back then 🙂

  9. Tracy @ Cornerfolds
    May 3, 2016

    Nancy Drew!! Haha! I’d love to check back in with her now to see what she’s up to! Great list 😀

    Here are my Top Ten!

    • Diana
      May 4, 2016

      Thanks and Nancy seems to have a number of fans. When I was a teen I thought she was the more brilliant person,working and figuring out all those clues.Perhaps she would have been a Private Investigator as an adult character 🙂 Thanks for the link. Heading over to your post now.

  10. The Literary Lioness
    May 4, 2016

    100% in agreement about Sweet Valley High. I’ve never read The Fault in Our Stars but I’ve seen the movie and would like to know where Hazel winds up in 10 years.

    • Diana
      May 4, 2016

      I have never watched the movie. I should get it sometime soon. Thanks for reading and for the comment.

  11. Abu Amirah
    May 4, 2016

    The hardy Boys! Goodness, the things they made me want to do as a boy!

    • Diana
      May 4, 2016

      hahaha those boys were brilliant. I was once requested to burn one of their books because the previous owner was a suspected DW lol, high school rumors. I had to read the book before burning it :-)Good times though and nice meeting another HB fans, not many people seem to know about the books.

  12. TheBookishUnderdog
    May 4, 2016

    Great post! I’d like to know how Jack got on as well. I imagine he would be a very disturbed adult.

    • Diana
      May 5, 2016

      I guess he would be especially after all the trauma 😦 Thanks for reading and for the comment.

  13. Lauren @ Always Me
    May 4, 2016

    Scout made my list as well. I would totally love to see more of Jack! 🙂

    Check out my TTT.

    • Diana
      May 5, 2016

      Scout and Jack were such strong characters, they did make quite an impression.

      Thanks for the link. I am heading over to your post now.

  14. Kat Impossible
    May 4, 2016

    Veronica Mars was such a badass character! I loved her to bits!

    • Diana
      May 5, 2016

      That she was 🙂 Always nice coming across a strong female protagonist.

  15. Pingback: April Wrap-up – Voices in my head

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2016 by in Bookish Post and tagged , , , .
