A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: You by Caroline Kepnes

Synopsis

When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.

Review

20821614

 

I read Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica and it put me in the mood for psychological thrillers. This book came highly recommended and I was intrigued enough by the synopsis that I just had to read it.

You by Caroline Kepnes is a psychological thriller. It is also one of the creepiest books that I have ever read. The protagonist was so twisted that at times I had to pause and think about the author. Yes, the author. I wondered how she came up with such a sick character. How did she create something so twisted yet fascinating? Joe was weird, a psychopath, and a man so vile yet…lovable.

You by Caroline Kepnes reminded me so much of the TV Show, Dexter, the ‘beloved’ serial killer. In this book, Joe is an insane stalker who is obsessed by Beck, a woman who he had a brief encounter with at the bookstore where he works. The levels of his deprivation are shocking yet Caroline still managed to make him endearing and sympathetic. I found myself feeling sorry for him. Other times, I was secretly routing against him hoping that he would get caught.However, I still had moments whereby I started routing for the stalker and thinking that the stalked is the bad guy. This book is definitely creepy although in a good way.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-21576-1404239001-11I  liked the narrative style. The whole story is told from Joe’s perspective through a second person narrative. That means that as readers, we get to see everything through the mind of a psychopath. It is limiting though because at times I wished we could have an idea of what was going on in the other characters’ mind. However, if you have ever been curious about workings of the mind of a psychopath then this book will give you a sneak peak into one.

Apart from the suspenseful story, there is also the fact that serial killer worked in a bookstore and loved books. There were numerous mentions of Stephen King’s Shinning and Doctor Sleep. There were also mentions of Dan Brown’s books especially The Da Vinci Code and other book references that may delight bookworms.

You by Caroline Kepnes was quite a page turner. I read the whole book in just one evening. I would recommend this book for anyone interested in dark humor and psychological thrillers.

 

 

 

5 comments on “Book Review: You by Caroline Kepnes

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Hidden Bodies by Caroline Kepnes – Voices in my head

  2. AdoptaBookAUS
    June 7, 2016

    Fantastic review! I was thinking about the Author too but I’m sure she’s not a stalker so the writing was phenomenal to me, I mean how do you make a serial killer relatable?! She killed it hahaha

    • Diana
      June 7, 2016

      I know, Kepnes did such an amazing job with this series! Thanks for the comment and glad to meet another Joe Goldberg fan 🙂

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Psychological Thrillers | A Haven for Book Lovers

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten of the Vilest Villains in Books | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

