A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Ten Websites/Blogs I Love That Aren’t About Books

Top Ten Tuesday

May 10th: Ten Websites/Blogs I Love That Aren’t About Books 

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

Here are some of my favorite non-bookish websites:

I am absolutely addicted to this site. I spend so much time here and have  read every post on the site. As the name suggests; the site has a number of creepy stories from personal paranormal encounters kind of stories to fiction. Some of the stories are so good that they will keep you at the edge of your seat and haunt you long after you leave the site.

This is the parent site of Creepy Catalog. It has some decent posts at times but other times, the posts become a bit of cliché with all these lists. It’s a fun site though.

Screenshot_2016-05-05-20-33-14

 

This year, I have only watched 6 TV shows; Criminal Minds, Amazing Race, Survivor, Quantico, Shameless and 11/22/63. The rest of the time, my TV is permanently switched to Investigation Discovery. Naturally, the IDx website is one of my favorite sites. I discovered this site after Crime Library went down. Crime Library used to have all kinds of true crime stories including articles on forensic science and criminal psychology. I learned about BTK and Ted Bundy from that site. IDx does not offer much but it’s still a good site.

Screenshot_2016-05-05-20-30-26

 

This site is run by Jackson Biko. He is a brilliant, creative writer. Biko has sort of a cultic following in Kenya. However, he is a great writer so its easy to understand why he has so many fans.

I mentioned HONY in another TTT post about facebook pages that you should follow. Seriously, if you don’t read HONY posts  then you are missing on such a great experience and millions of wonderful human interest stories. Okay, just stop what you are doing and go visit the site, follow HONY on facebook, really, you have to!

I follow a number of travel blogs. I love traveling physically and virtually. This is one of my favorite blogs because of the owner. Jithin is a wonderful person with an amazing personality. One of his best memes/weekly features is the Mundane Monday Challenge which challenges people to find the beauty in everyday mundane things. It is always interesting to see what bloggers from around the world come up with.

Alison and Don are such a lovely couple. They started traveling around the world after their retirement. Just sold everything and decided to explore the world. Their story is beautiful and so is their blog. They take such amazing photos of the places they visit and the people that they meet.

I love this blog mainly due to the 100 Beautiful strangers’ project. I can only imagine how courageous Chloe has to be to walk to strangers, chat them up and ask to take their photos. Lovely photos and everyone always seem so stylish. Do people just walk around looking fabulous every day? I guess I’m doing this life thing all wrong.

Nessa is fabulous. Kahawa is coffee in Swahili and this woman does loves her coffee. She also posts interviews with different people in the coffee world and shares posts that will make you crave a cup of coffee. Her writing is so beautiful. Never met Nessa in person but I guess she is well poised and remarkable like she sounds on her blog.

Everyone needs a blogging friend to look up to. Abu does this blog thing very well. He is consistent and dedicated. I have watched the transformation of his writing from one post to another. He writes so masterfully . He inspires me with his discipline and commitment. He is the blogger who kept me writing last year when I used to post once or twice only in every two or three months lol. Abu is awesome and so is his blog, pay him and visit and see what I mean.

So those are my non-bookish site. Do you any of them? Which sites do you think that I should check? I am interested in sites about books, travel, crime and creepy stories, really, I’m that simple. Share your TTT posts and I will pay you a visit.

 

11 comments on “Ten Websites/Blogs I Love That Aren’t About Books

  1. Jamie Wu
    May 10, 2016

    Have you used reddit before? There’s a few subreddits (nosleep, creepypasta and letsnotmeet) that might interest you, their kinda similar to Creepy Catalog. I used to spend my time in classes reading those stories.

    • Diana
      May 11, 2016

      Great,thanks for mentioning that.I have never used reddit but will start now.Thanks for pointing out the sites 🙂

  2. Abu Amirah
    May 10, 2016

    Dee, i am speechless! Thanks for the kind words, you cannot imagine how much you inspire me, you being the first person to like and comment on my blog. And i am very proud of the path you have chosen for your blog…all the best Home Gal!

    • Diana
      May 11, 2016

      Thank you so much dear.Glad the inspiration goes both ways 🙂 Thank you for all the support and for challenging me always.Happy writing and reading.

  3. Reg @ She Latitude
    May 10, 2016

    Some really great websites here! I happen to have Thought Catalog on my list as well and would totally agree that it’s become really cliche, and all the later posts have kind of been regurgitating each other, haha. I used to love it though when it was just starting to become real big on the internet. 😛

    HONY is my favourite part of Facebook, tbh. I sometimes go to FB just to go through their feed, which always makes me feel happy and bittersweet at all the same time. I love what he’s done with his photography skills and LOVE that he’s trying to make the world a better place with it, which is just plain amazing.

    Here’s my TTT. 🙂

    • Diana
      May 11, 2016

      Yay!Glad to meet another HONY fan.I love reading those stories and seeing all the pics on microfashion.I have always wondered how Brandon gets people to share stuff with him :-)Thoughts Catalog used to be great at some point,now I hardly visit it as much. Thanks for sharing your link,heading over to your post now.

      • Reg @ She Latitude
        May 11, 2016

        I know! I can’t imagine them opening up to him within the first two minutes, haha. It must have taken a lot of time and effort to get those photos. 🙂

  4. coffeehousechatter
    May 10, 2016

    How have I never heard of Creepy Catalog before? That’s right up my ally, I am unrealistically excited to look into that website now!

    • Diana
      May 11, 2016

      Haha,I hope you will like it as much as I do 🙂 I am addicted to that sites and reading all those creepy stuff.

  5. alilovesbooks
    May 10, 2016

    There are websites and blogs not about books? Why?

    • Diana
      May 11, 2016

      Hahaha best comment.Unfortunately,there are 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , .
