A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I picked up on a Whim

Top Ten Tuesday

May 17: Ten Books I picked up on a Whim

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

Random picks that I am extremely proud of:

Why I picked it: The blurb intrigued me. I had never heard of the book or the author but it turned out to be one of the best psychological thrillers that I have read in a while.

  • You By Caroline Kepnes

Why I picked it: I actually just Googled ‘Creepiest book’. Search results led me to this book. It was creepy but quite interesting.

I picked this book because of the size. It looked small and cute. Little did I know that I was in for an emotional roller coaster ride. Read the book in one seating. The next day,I went back to the library and borrowed all books by the author.

I was thirteen when I found this book left behind in a vacated house. There were a number of things thrown out and the book just lay there abandoned. Picked it up and discovered John Grisham. I have read all of his books since then. I never even check the blurbs, Grisham writes, I read.

The book cover had something on Oprah Bookclub. I bought it on a whim and ended up liking it so much. Definitely one of the most powerful books that I have ever read.

I am one of the few people who were not particularly moved by Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist. I later read his other book, Adultery which I also didn’t like. I picked this book because it the only one remaining one at a sale. Ended up absolutely loving it. It’s the first story that I have ever read written from the perspective of a prostitute. It was quite thought-provoking.

I was going through my psychological thrillers phase when I picked this book. No prior knowledge about the book or author. It turned out to be quite a page turner.

Another lovely book that I picked on a whim. I don’t think that many people have read this one but I really enjoyed it.

I haven’t read the next two books but I bought them from a street vendor at only a dollar. I later checked Goodreads and they just happen to have very many great reviews. I hope to enjoy them.

Have you read any of these books? Do you usually get books on a whim or rely on reviews and recommendations? Don’t be shy, share your TTT links in the comment section.

13 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I picked up on a Whim

  1. rosemawrites
    May 17, 2016

    oohhh. you picked some great books in a whim, Diana! I have read some of them. 🙂

    • Diana
      May 24, 2016

      Thanks Rosa.I hope you enjoyed Tue ones that you read 🙂

  2. Sya @ Bookish Sya
    May 17, 2016

    Great list! I remembered reading a lot of Grisham when I was younger. 🙂

    MY TTT

    • Diana
      May 24, 2016

      Grisham is really good with the legal thrillers.I still keep up with him.Sorry I took so long to return your visit.I scheduled this post during my exam week.Heading over to your post now.Thanks for the link.

  3. Now you have me wanting to google Creepiest Books just to see what pops up for me! My TTT ‘On a Whim’ books.

    • Diana
      May 24, 2016

      Haha well I hope the search leads you to some interesting books.Sorry couldn’t return your visit sooner,was caught up with exams last week.Heading over to your TTT now.

  4. charliegirlteachergirl
    May 18, 2016

    I wanted to read The Kite Runner until the mom of a friend came home after seeing the movie and talked about how she bawled and bawled. I don’t think I can read it now.

    • Diana
      May 24, 2016

      Oh it’s definitely a sad book.All of the Khaled Hosseini books are really sad.Cried through all the three.Its such a beautiful book though so I hope you get to read it someday.

  5. Tea Time with Marce
    May 18, 2016

    Eleven Minutes was a random pick for me too and I really enjoyed it also, unique. I tried Adultery and it was a DNF, I was disappointed really.

    You will be glad you only spent $1 on Sister. Hope you enjoy it more than I am.

    • Diana
      May 24, 2016

      Glad you also liked Eleven Minutes.I struggled through Adultery because my bookclub was reading it but really didn’t like it.Your comment about Sister makes me nervous and less excited to read it now.Lol I hope to like it though.Thanks for the comment.

  6. nasaye
    May 19, 2016

    Oh dear …..10 more!!!

    • Diana
      May 24, 2016

      Haha,I thought you had read Kite Runner at least 🙂 They are all wonderful reads though so I hope that you will like them once you get to read them.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 17, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , .
