A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review:You don’t have to say you love me by Sarra Manning

Book Review
Title: You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me
Author: Sarra Manning
Published: 2011
Pages: 555

About the Book

And the rule is that good-natured fat girls like her don’t get guys like gorgeous William, heir to Neve’s heart since University. But William’s been in LA for three years, and Neve’s been slimming down and reinventing herself so that when he returns, he’ll fall head over heels in love with the new, improved her.
So she’s not that interested in other men. Until her sister Celia points out that if Neve wants William to think she’s an experienced love-goddess and not the fumbling, awkward girl he left behind, then she’d better get some, well, experience.
What Neve needs is someone to show her the ropes, someone like Celia’s colleagues Max. Wicked, shallow, sexy Max. And Since he’s such a man slut and so not Neve’s type, she certainly won’t fall for him…because William is the man for her…right?

You don’t to say you love me by Sarra Manning is undoubtedly a big book at 555 pages. However, it’s a good, easy read and I went through the pages pretty fast. It’s really well written with endearing, memorable characters.

 
8471815It is a good romance novel with quirky humor and interesting twists. It did have some steamy scenes though not too steamy.Readers get to go on a journey with Neve and watch her transform into a wonderful woman. Neve is such a lovable character and its easy to relate with her and sympathize with her struggles to be good enough for William while battling with poor self-image. I  enjoyed reading about her relationship with her sister and of course, Max. Neve starts out as an obsessed woman determined to lose weight. However, as her outward appearance changes, we get to see her work on the woman inside. The woman with low self-esteem and who is being bullied by her sister in-law.

 
I loved the part that Max played in Neve’s life, the fact that they were two were a very unlikely pair who end up becoming friends. Neve seemed disgusted by Max at first and on the other hand, Max was busy chasing his usual women that he never noticed Neve. The two make a pact whereby Max agrees to teach Neve how to be in a relationship in readiness to her meeting with William.

 
tangledsighI liked the fact that You don’t have to say you love me by Sarah Manning was unpredictable. It was a fun, interesting read with the perfect ending and an endearing heroine. I give this book 3.5 out 5 stars. If you are looking for a fun, fluffy read, then this is definitely your book.

8 comments on “Book Review:You don’t have to say you love me by Sarra Manning

  1. OMG, I can’t think of anything else when I see this book – or anything by this author – beside the fact that her name is the same as the one of the main close in Orphan Black, though written differently, I believe. omg, it may be random, but for a fan of the series, it’s a HUGE thing. :O

    • Diana
      May 24, 2016

      Haha I think even the names are spelt in the same way.I kept getting orphan black when I searched for the author’s name so as to get the book synopsis.Interesting though 🙂

  2. I’ve had this on my TBR for ages and keep skipping past it but your lovely review has made me want to pick it up and start reading! 🙂

    • Diana
      May 24, 2016

      I hope that you will like it 🙂

  3. You know, this actually sounds like the perfect fluff read I’ve been craving lately!

    • Diana
      May 24, 2016

      I hope that you will enjoy it if you get to read it 🙂

    • Diana
      May 24, 2016

      Sorry to post this here.I didn’t know how else to reach you.I don’t seem to be able to post anything on your posts.I have tried to submit a comment on your last review,who do you work for,the one on the assassin and the mayor but doesn’t seem to go through.Not sure why 😦

Leave a Reply

