A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top 5 Wednesday: Characters I Defend

#T5W

It is that time of the week again  for Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to know how T5W works you can go to the Goodreads group by clicking here.

The instructions for this week were as follows: May 25th: Characters You Defend -These are characters you love, but no one else seems to so you are always defending them!

St. Claire Etienne from Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

anigif_enhanced-buzz-28094-1369145975-3I know he seemed to string along Anna for quite some time and also got involved with her before really ending things with his girlfriend. However, I think that St. Clair was going through a lot at the time and he did breakup with his girlfriend before making things official with Anna. Come on, Etienne wasn’t that bad, was he?

Will from Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

willWill has been described as the worst boyfriend ever. I have also read comments about how he tried to get Louisa to live her life to the fullest while on the other hand, he gave up on his. His decision at the end has been criticized. Well, he was unhappy, didn’t want to live the rest of his life like that and depending on how you choose to look at it, I think his decision was brave.

 

indexRachel Watson in The Girl in the Train by Paula Hawkins

Why do people dislike Rachel so much? I know that she wasn’t a strong protagonist and readers felt that her character was quite weak.  I never had any issues with from the start. She was clearly troubled and just trying her best to do something right.

Silas from Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

silas 2.png

 

I know that he was the villain in the book but sometimes I sympathized with him. I think that he honestly thought that he was doing the right thing.

Marta from Her Mother’s Hope by Francine Rivers

She was really tough on Hildemara . However, I think Marta was just trying to do the best that she could as a mom. Hildemara was not as strong  this worried her mother. Really, I think that Hildemara did her best when it came to her family.

So, which characters do you always find yourself defending? Have you read the books on my list? What did you think about the characters? Don’t be shy, leave your T5W links.

9 comments on “Top 5 Wednesday: Characters I Defend

  1. alilovesbooks
    May 25, 2016

    Pretty sure I put Will Traynor on my worst book boyfriends list but that was mostly because there isn’t much of a future with him. As a character I actually really liked him. The ending to that book broke my heart.

    • Diana
      May 28, 2016

      The end broke my heart too.I haven’t been able to read the second book,After You because can’t imagine him not being part of it.Thanks for the comment 🙂

  2. _giovannard
    May 26, 2016

    I’m sorry but I have to disagree. St Clair had no right to do what he did. Just because he was going through something, doesn’t give him the right to be a douche. And to be totally honest, that isn’t the biggest reason I can’t stand him…He’s just WAY TOO CLINGY! Everywhere Anna is, you will never not see him inches behind! I bet he sits outside of the bathroom while she’s using it! What a CREEP! :\

    • Diana
      May 28, 2016

      Hahaha,your last comment about him outside her bathroom is hilarious.Poor St.Clair,he wasn’t that bad though but yeah he should have ended things with his girlfriend before getting involved with Anna

      • _giovannard
        May 28, 2016

        Hahaha! Have you read Lola and The Boy Next Door? I guess I’m mainly judging him from Lola 😉

        • Diana
          May 30, 2016

          I need to read that book. Its on my wishlist though yet to find a copy 🙂 That explains your views on Etienne though lol had to think back to Anna and try figure out if he was that clingy 🙂 Thanks for the laugh though.

          • _giovannard
            May 30, 2016

            Haha! Hopefully you can read it soon! 🙂

  3. Tea Time with Marce
    May 27, 2016

    What a fun post. I haven’t read any of these, but considering me before you.

    The comments will be exciting…… continue defending, lol

    • Diana
      May 28, 2016

      Haha thanks,I know the first two Me Before you and Anna and the French Kiss) are abit controversial but I’m willing to keep defending them 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 25, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top 5 Wednesday and tagged , , .
