A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.

img_1384-0

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

  • Don’t you Cry by Mary Kubica- I enjoyed reading this book. It wasn’t as fast paced as Pretty Baby but it was still good and I especially liked the twists. Here is my review.
  • Her Daughter’s Dream by Francine Rivers – I had to read this book really fast because it was due for return. It was an interesting conclusion to the series, Marta’s Legacy. I didn’t like it as much as Her Mother’s Hope which is was the first book in the series. However, this could be due to the fact that I really rushed through the book. I read all 600 pages in two days.

Currently reading

fisherman

 

The Fishermen by Chigozie Obioma

I picked this book based on a few recommendations plus I was in the mood for African literature. It is enjoyable so far but it turning out to be really dark as I get into it. It is good though.

 

Reading Next

I have a feeling that Flanagan’s book  will be a challenge for me. The last book that my book club selected was Beloved by Toni Morrison which was quite a challenge. This was the next book and I have been afraid to even get started on it. However, the review will take place on June 11th so I guess it is about time that I get started on it.

So how about you, any interesting books that you have read lately? What are you reading now? What do you plan on reading next? Feel free to leave your WWW links in the comments section.

16 comments on “WWW-Wednesday

  1. Claire | Art and Soul
    June 1, 2016

    Of all these, I am the Messenger is the one I’ve heard the most about. I hope you enjoy it!
    I’ve only ever read one Nicholas Sparks book, but I can see why they make such popular movies.
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/06/01/www-wednesday-1st-june-2016/

    • Diana
      June 2, 2016

      Thank you Claire.Nicholas Sparks is good especially if you read contemporary romance.His movie adaptations are usually good too.I liked Markus other book and so I really look forward to reading I am the Messenger.Thanks for the link,headed over to your post now.

  2. Donna
    June 1, 2016

    The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan is one of the books I will have to study next September for university. I almost borrowed it the last time I went to the library. I’ll be looking forward to your review. I have seen I Am The Messenger around, I hope you like it!
    Happy reading!

    • Diana
      June 2, 2016

      Thanks Donna.I am still taking my time getting started on Flanagan’s book,its a bit intimidating but will get started over the weekend.Happy reading 🙂

  3. cleopatralovesbooks
    June 1, 2016

    I enjoyed Don’t You Cry also despite the slower pace – some books don’t need to be fast and furious to be good! Happy reading and thank you for visiting my Wednesday post!

    • Diana
      June 2, 2016

      I agree with you.The slow pace worked well with this narrative.Happy reading and thanks for visiting 🙂

  4. faithrivens
    June 1, 2016

    These aren’t books I’ve heard a lot about, but I’m highly intrigued by The Fishermen and I Am the Messenger. Hope you enjoy them!
    Happy Reading 🙂
    https://aliasfaithrivens.wordpress.com/2016/06/01/www-wednesday-the-ninth/

    • Diana
      June 2, 2016

      Thank you.The Fishermen is sort of like High Rise on your post in terms of being a bit dark but its interesting.Happy reading 🙂

  5. Sam
    June 1, 2016

    I Am the Messanger was a really interesting book. I had to look up the ending because it was very sudden to me. I thought the ride of the book was more satisfying than the end so I would still recommend it. Zusak is a great writer. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • Diana
      June 2, 2016

      Thanks Sam.I look forward to reading it and as always,thanks for hosting http://www.Happy reading.

  6. Annie
    June 2, 2016

    One day I’ll finally read Don’t Cry… hahaha But I have so much to read before!

  7. Diana
    June 2, 2016

    Lol I get what you mean.Too many books but not enough time to read all.I hope you will enjoy it too if you get to read it 🙂

  8. Yvo
    June 2, 2016

    Don’t You Cry sounds really good! And I’m curious to see what you make of I Am Messenger. I still have to read that one myself… Happy reading!

    • Diana
      June 3, 2016

      Don’t you Cry is good despite the slow pace. It has some good mystery. I hope that you will like it if you get to read it. I have high hopes for I am the Messenger especially after reading The Book Thief. I hope that I won’t get disappointed. I will share my review once done. Thanks for the comment and Happy reading 🙂

  9. siderealday
    June 3, 2016

    That’s a pretty diverse group of books you’ve got coming up to read. Hope they give you a nice break from psychological thrillers.

    Thanks for visiting my WWW post and happy reading!

    • Diana
      June 6, 2016

      Thank you. Happy reading to you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 1, 2016 by in Bookish Post, WWW Wednesday and tagged , , .
