A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Character Names

Top 5 Wednesday: Characters that I Identify with

#T5W

It’s that time of the week again when I bring you the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to know how T5W works you can go to the Goodreads group by clicking here.

The instructions for this week were as follows:

June 8th: Favorite Character Names -Fairly self-explanatory. Names you like for whatever reason!

Favorite Character names from Books that I have Read

 

Liesel Memminger in The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

This is definitely one of my favorite books and I just really liked Liesel. However, I only learnt the correct pronunciation of the name when I watched the movie. Seems that I had been reading it wrong all along. It is so pretty and musical.

Atticus and Scout Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

This book had such unique names. I also liked Boo Radley due to the uniqueness of the name.

Beloved in Beloved by Toni Morrison

Beautiful name despite the circumstances surrounding the character.

Shug Avery in The Color Purple by Alice Walker

This was such a befitting name for such an eccentric, flamboyant character. Its one of the names that cannot be separated. It does sound right to just say Shug or just Avery. It has to be Shug Avery, like James Bond.

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

I have always liked this name. Perhaps Twist more than Oliver.

Books on my TBR

The next four are characters that I have heard so much about though I am yet to read the books.

Anna Karenina in Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy

Sherlock Holmes in the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

Jane Eyre in Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Hannibal Lector in Hannibal Lector Trilogy by Thimas Harris

So, what are your favorite character names? Don’t be shy, leave your T5W links.

12 comments on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Character Names

  1. Geronimo Reads
    June 8, 2016

    I have Atticus and Scout on my “honorable mentions” mainly because I couldn’t choose between them. I just agree 100% with everything you said about TKAM names, basically haha. I’m planning on reading The Book Thief this month, so hopefully I can grow to love the character of Liesel as much as everyone else!

    • Diana
      June 10, 2016

      Oh I hope that you will like The Book Thief. After reading the book, check out the movie. The narrator pronounces her name so beautiful. Harper Lee did come up with some really memorable names 🙂

      • Geronimo Reads
        June 11, 2016

        I’ll definitely look into it!

  2. mrenee
    June 8, 2016

    Anna Karenina is one of my all time favourite books – I can’t believe I forgot to add her to my list. Love your choices! There are too many great names out there to truly narrow it down.

    • Diana
      June 10, 2016

      You are write. I went past the 5 names mark because they are so many 🙂 I haven’t read Anna Karenina yet though I have heard so much about it. I hope to read it soon. Thank you 🙂

  3. Cara
    June 9, 2016

    I haven’t read The Book Thief yet, but I’m planning to next month. Liesel is a beautiful name, and I have a friend whose name is Anna Karenina. 😀

    • Diana
      June 10, 2016

      wow, your friend has such a cool name. Her parents must have been Lit enthusiasts. I hope that you will enjoy The Book Thief when you get to read it. It is such a beautiful book and Liesel really is unforgettable 🙂

      • Cara
        June 13, 2016

        I never asked her if her name is based from the book but I think that’s the case. 😀 I really think I’d enjoy The Book Thief. Thank you! 🙂

  4. rosemawrites
    June 10, 2016

    Glad to read some names I can recognize in this list! 🙂

    • Diana
      June 10, 2016

      I guess we do have some favorite books in common. Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  5. Your list definitely includes some iconic names. I am a great Sherlock fan 😀

    • Diana
      June 15, 2016

      Great to here that. Sherlock is a wonderful name and the character is pretty awesome too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top 5 Wednesday and tagged , , .
