A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @  Taking on a World of Words

img_1384-0

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

fishermanThe Fishermen by Chigozie Obioma

This book was quite something. It took me on an emotional roller-coaster. With his debut novel, Chigozie Obioma has definitely joined the league of top West African writers such as Chinua Achebe, Wole Soyinka and Chimamanda Adichie Ngozi. I will share my review of the book before the end of this month.

 

 

Currently reading

desert flowerDesert Flower by Waris Dirie

So far, I am disappointed by this book. I feel like it’s a book that is set in Africa but wasn’t really meant for African readers. The exact setting is Somali but then again, the book sort of refers to Somali as Africa hence creating that misconception that Africa is a country. There are so many references that just annoyed me such as ‘The big African lorry’ or “she stabbed him with an African knife”… seriously what does that even mean?eye-roll-in-motion

 

narrow road

The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan

So I have stopped reading Desert Flower for now to read this book which will be reviewed by my book club this weekend. It is actually really good so far so I am sure I will be done with it by Friday.

 

Reading Next

I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak

The Choice by Nicholas Spark

So how about you, any interesting books that you have read lately? What are you reading now? What do you plan on reading next? Feel free to leave your WWW links in the comments section.

23 comments on “WWW-Wednesday

  1. Emily Witt
    June 8, 2016

    Erg, Desert Flower must be so frustrating. It’s like when authors take Native American or Indigenous Australian cultures and treat them like one homogenous group.

    I hope you enjoy The Messenger. I’ve been meaning to read some more Marcus Zusak.

    Here’s my post for this week: https://keysandopenmind.wordpress.com/2016/06/08/www-and-wippet-wednesday-08-june-2016/

    • Diana
      June 8, 2016

      That generalization is usually irritating especially to the people from those specific cultures 😦

      Thanks. I loved The Book Thief so I can’t wait to read The Messenger. Headed over to your post now. Happy reading 🙂

  2. Claire | Art and Soul
    June 8, 2016

    Sorry to hear that Desert Flower is proving disappointing. Hopefully The Narrow Road to the Deep North will make up for it 🙂 I hope your book club enjoy it and you have a good discussion.

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/06/08/www-wednesday-8th-june-2016/

    • Diana
      June 8, 2016

      Thank you. I can’t wait to get deeper into Narrow Road. It seems promising so far so I hope it will go well.Heading over to your post now. Happy reading 🙂

  3. alilovesbooks
    June 8, 2016

    Haven’t really come across any of your reads this week but sorry to hear you’re not enjoying Desert Flower. Hopefully it’ll get better.

    • Diana
      June 8, 2016

      Thanks. I plan to keep reading it to the end so hopefully it does 🙂

  4. Annie
    June 8, 2016

    Interesting choices, I love how you read different stuff (not like me with my 3 procedurals lol).

    • Diana
      June 10, 2016

      haha I try to read one book at a time but sometimes, I get distracted 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting.

  5. laurelrainsnow
    June 8, 2016

    Your reads are all new to me….but I do recognize the Sparks novel, The Choice. Thanks for sharing your thoughts…and I would also be frustrated by the language in Desert Flower.

    Enjoy your upcoming reads. Here is MY WWW POST

    • Diana
      June 10, 2016

      Yeah, the language is the issue. The story would have been so much more interesting without the ridiculous references. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  6. Yvo
    June 8, 2016

    The Fishermen sounds really interesting and I’m curious what you will make of I Am Messenger. I hope you’ll enjoy your books this week!

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    • Diana
      June 10, 2016

      I look forward to reading I am the Messenger next week 🙂 Thanks for the comment and Happy reading too. Headed over to your post now.

  7. Donna
    June 8, 2016

    I really don’t like it when authors take liberties to simplify a subject or setting. Using generalization is never the right way to honor a culture. I am still dreading The Narrow Road to the Deep North, I saw the book waiting for my at the library and ran away, haha. I still have a few months to overcome the intimidation.
    Have a great reading week! 🙂

    • Diana
      June 10, 2016

      haha I am only at page 70 and the review is tomorrow afternoon( its 1:pm Friday afternoon right now). I hope to read the remaining pages (my ebook) has 245 before review. I was also intimidated by the book that is why despite having two months before review, I only started reading it this week. Its interesting though too much is going on seemingly at the same time. I hope that you will enjoy it when you feeling get(have) to read it 🙂

  8. faithrivens
    June 8, 2016

    Glad that the Narrow Road is making up for Desert Flower. Disappointing reads are even worse when you expected a book to be more!

    Happy Reading
    https://aliasfaithrivens.wordpress.com/2016/06/08/wordly-wise-wednesday-the-tenth/

    • Diana
      June 10, 2016

      You are so right. That is how I feel about Desert Flower. I am more dissapointed because I had really looked for the book for a long while and had such high expectation.

      Happy reading too. On my way to your post now. Thanks for the link.

  9. You’ll love I am the Messenger. It’s amazing hehe. Happy reading! http://www.curious-daisy.com/www-wednesdays/www-wednesday-june-8-2016/

    • Diana
      June 10, 2016

      Thank you. I can’t wait to read it 🙂

  10. charliegirlteachergirl
    June 9, 2016

    Stabbed him with an African knife? What DOES that mean!?! Doesn’t sound like one I’d keep reading.

    • Diana
      June 10, 2016

      haha yeah that was my frustration. I want to see if it gets any better but if i get to the middle of the book and still feel frustrated then I will DNF it. Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

  11. Lola @ Hit or Miss Books
    June 10, 2016

    Interesting WWW!! Hmm, I guess the knife was made in Africa?? I don’t know, ahah!

    • Diana
      June 15, 2016

      haha lol the African references were just too much. If they wanted to be more specific that perhaps they should have said…Somali Knife rather than African Knife 🙂

  12. cj blogspot
    September 23, 2016

    I just finished Ant hill of the Savannah by Chinua Achebe. I was captivated by the intrinsic nature of the way the tale went, highlighting the ills of military rule and the sludge it leaves in its wake. I’m about to read Inferno by Dan Brown.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 8, 2016 by in Bookish Post, WWW Wednesday and tagged , , .
