A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: Her Daughter’s Dream(Marta’s Legacy #2) by Francine Rivers

Blurb (from goodreads)

Growing up isn’t easy for little Carolyn Arundel. With her mother, Hildemara, quarantined to her room with tuberculosis, Carolyn forms a special bond with her oma Marta, who moves in to care for the household. But as tensions between Hildie and Marta escalate, Carolyn believes she is to blame. When Hildie returns to work and Marta leaves, Carolyn and her brother grow up as latchkey kids in a world gripped by the fear of the Cold War.

College offers Carolyn the chance to find herself, but a family tragedy shatters her newfound independence. Rather than return home, she cuts all ties and disappears into the heady counterculture of San Francisco. When she reemerges two years later, more lost than ever, she reluctantly turns to her family to help rebuild a life for her and her own daughter, May Flower Dawn.

Just like Carolyn, May Flower Dawn develops a closer bond with her grandmother, Hildie, than with her mother, causing yet another rift between generations. But as Dawn struggles to avoid the mistakes of those who went before her, she vows that somehow she will be a bridge between the women in her family rather than the wall that separates them forever.

Book Review (no spoilers)

This is the second book in the Marta’s Legacy series by Francine Rivers. It continues right where the first book, Her Mother’s Hope ended with Hildemara suffering from tuberculosis. I loved the first book although it did make me cry and so I was excited to final read Her Daughter’s Dream by Francine Rivers.

The theme of the family conflict and especially the mother-daughter relationships remained the same.  In this case, we have all the four generations of women struggling with different relationship dynamics. Oma and Hildemara still have their issues. Hildemara and her daughter, Caroline, are also struggling to get along and then along the way came Caroline’s daughter, May Flower Dawn and history keeps repeating.

mother and daughter

Her Daughter’s Dream is narrated from different perspectives and so we get to know each of the four women better. This helps in the flow of the narratives and the reader is able to better understand the relationship dynamics.

All the characters in this book are wonderful. I love Oma(Marta) whose story we started in the previous book. She is a strong woman even in her eighties. I also loved how she was always a dreamer and so full of life even in her old age. She kept traveling and going on adventures. However, my favorite character in this book was Caroline.

I enjoyed reading Caroline’s story. She had a traumatic childhood that she somehow survived. However, she later went from being an A student to using drugs and then becoming hippie at some point. A lot of things happened to her but she still managed to pick the pieces of her life somehow. I could relate to Caroline’s story and I found her inspirational. I also loved how unashamed she seemed about her past. Her battle wounds were worn with pride since she had survived it all.

Caroline’s story made me think about Beyonce’s song; ‘He Still Loves Me’.

Seems like I always fall short of being worthy
Cause I ain’t good enough but He still loves me
I aint no superstar, the spotlight aint shining on me
Cause I ain’t good enough but He still loves me

I used to wake up somedays
And wish I’d stayed asleep
Cause I went to bed on top of the world
Today the world’s on top of me

This is a beautiful book where a lot of loose ends were finally tied up. It did cover a long period of time with so many new characters but I still enjoyed reading it to the end. Francine Rivers in now one of my favorite authors in Christian fiction and I hope to read more from her. I recommend this book to everyone who likes Christian and historical fiction, books with strong women protagonists and also stories which have the theme of family. You have to start with Her Mother’s Hope (you can read my review here)though so as to better understand and enjoy Her Daughter’s Dream.

About the book (from goodreads)

Hardcover: 580 pages

Published: September 14th 2010 by Tyndale House (first published 2010)

Original Title: Her Daughter’s Dream

Series: Marta’s Legacy #2

md.gif

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 12, 2016 by in Bookish Post.
