A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: The Silent Wife by A.S.A Harrison

Blurb (from goodreads)

Jodi and Todd are at a bad place in their marriage. Much is at stake, including the affluent life they lead in their beautiful waterfront condo in Chicago, as she, the killer, and he, the victim, rush haplessly toward the main event. He is a committed cheater. She lives and breathes denial. He exists in dual worlds. She likes to settle scores. He decides to play for keeps. She has nothing left to lose. Told in alternating voices, The Silent Wife is about a marriage in the throes of dissolution, a couple headed for catastrophe, concessions that can’t be made, and promises that won’t be kept. Expertly plotted and reminiscent of Gone Girl and These Things Hidden, The Silent Wife ensnares the reader from page one and does not let go.

Book Review (no spoilers)

Stop the Gone Girl Comparisons!

not gone girlI had such great expectations when I picked The Silent Wife by A.S.A Harrison. After all, it was compared to Gone Girl and yes, I loved Gone Girl. However, this Gone Girl comparison that publishers do whenever they are describing a new psychological thriller needs to stop. The Silent Wife has its good points but no, it is not like Gone Girl. It doesn’t need to be compared to Gone Girl to entice readers.

Real Review

Okay, I just had to get the Gone Girl rant out of the way first. The Silent Wife by A.S.A Harrison is narrated through two perspectives. There is Todd’s version and then Jodi’s. Interesting thing about this couple is that they are both just unlikeable. They both seem quite damaged and it was hard to relate to them at first. The crack in the marriage is revealed quite earlier on and Jodi’s tolerance of Todd’s infidelity makes it pretty obvious that something is not quite okay with her.

“She didn’t know then that life has a way of backing you into a corner. You make your choices when you’re far too young to understand their implications, and with each choice you make the field of possibility narrows. You choose a career and other careers are lost to you. You choose a mate and commit to loving no other.”
A.S.A. Harrison, The Silent Wife

I liked Harrison’s writing style. The story sort of reveals the ending pretty quickly in the fast chapter and we get to know the fate of the two main characters. Readers also get to know the killer from the start(as indicated in the blurb). However, the author does a good job building the narrative from then on so that we are able to understand why the character turned into a killer.

I think I liked the ending of the book than the rest of the story. The slow pace didn’t really work well for me in this case. I also couldn’t connect with the two main characters especially Todd. At some point, his actions stopped making sense to me. However, the ending was pretty good. It was cold yet dramatic and that is where the twist occurred.

wife

I liked The Silent Wife by A.S.A Harrison but  as I have mentioned, I think that the character development could have been better. Or perhaps, my dislike for the characters could be the reason why I couldn’t connect with them. I enjoyed the writing though and hoped to read more from the author. Unfortunately, I only found out about her death while writing this review.

About the Author

A.S.A (Susan) Harrison’s previous books include Orgasms (Coach House Press, 1974), Revelations, with Margaret Dragu (Nightwood Editions, 1987), and Zodicat Speaks (Viking Penguin, 1996). The Silent Wife is her debut novel and she was at work on a new psychological thriller when she died in 2013, aged 65. Harrison was married to the visual artist John Massey and lived in Toronto.

10 comments on “Book Review: The Silent Wife by A.S.A Harrison

  1. thatssojacob
    June 14, 2016

    Just thought that this post needed a comment. Haven’t seen you in a while…come over and visit, have a read, leave a comment or two if you can!

    • Diana
      June 15, 2016

      Thanks Jacob, I will drop by today 🙂 Thanks for the comment.

  2. Tea Time with Marce
    June 14, 2016

    They over did it with the Gone Girl comparisons and for me I wasn’t a fan so it annoys me and makes me reconsider some books.

    This one is on my TBR list but I’m still on the fence to be honest. Both characters unlikeable, hmmmm, sounds like the ending saved it really.

    • Diana
      June 15, 2016

      I will be honest and admit that it is definitely not one of the best thrillers that I have read in a while. Probably at 2.5-3 stars at most for me but perhaps check it and see how you will feel about it.

      I have some new releases, promising synopsis but still with the Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train comparisons. Not sure why publishers do that alot yet as you have mentioned, it may put off readers who didn’t like the two books.

  3. Annie
    June 14, 2016

    I didn’t enjoy this very much, I barely remember it :/

    • Diana
      June 15, 2016

      I get what you mean 😦 it is not one of my favorite reads either and I can’t remember disliking characters like that. Only thing that stood out was the end.

  4. Donna
    June 15, 2016

    That stupid comparison with Gone Girl would be enough for me not to grab the book. Great review! I will not bother adding it to my TBR 🙂

    • Diana
      June 16, 2016

      haha I didn’t mean to put you off like that…If you ever get a copy then try and see if you will like it. The Gone Girl and lately, Girl on the Train comparison are definitely frustrating, I totally agree with you.

      • Donna
        June 16, 2016

        I like reviews that don’t have me adding a new book to my wishlist because my bank account can’t take it, haha! And your points were valid interesting, so I might give it a try the day I’m done with all the books I really want to read 🙂
        What’s with the “Girl” or “husband/wife” in all titles recently? Be original!

Leave a Reply

