A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Literary Father Figures

#T5W

It is that time of the week again when I bring you the Top 5 Wednesdays, created by gingerreadslainey and hosted by Sam @ThoughtsOnTomes. If you want to know how T5W works you can go to the Goodreads group by clicking here.

So here are my favorite book dads:

A Time to Kill by John Grisham

This is one of my favourite Grisham books and Carl Kee Hailey is one of my favorite literary father figures. If you haven’t read this book, here is the blurb:

The life of a ten-year-old girl is shattered by two drunken and remorseless young men. The mostly white town reacts with shock and horror at the inhuman crime. Until her black father acquires an assault rifle and takes matters into his hands.

For ten days, as burning crosses and the crack of sniper fire spread through the streets of Clanton, the nation sits spellbound as young defense attorney Jake Brigance struggles to save his client’s life…and then his own.

The rest are books that I have talked about a lot this year. I have linked the titles to my reviews to explain why these are my favorite father figures.

So, who are your favorite literary father figures?

“Papa was a man with silver eyes, not dead ones.
Papa was an accordion!
But his bellows were all empty.
Nothing went in and nothing came out.”
Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

9 comments on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favorite Literary Father Figures

  1. charliegirlteachergirl
    June 15, 2016

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone cover this topic before! I definitely agree Atticus should be on this list.

    • Diana
      June 15, 2016

      Yeah its an interesting topic and the group decided to cover it due to the coming Fathers Day. Glad we agree on Atticus, he really was a great dad to Scout and Jem.

  2. kirstyandthecatread
    June 15, 2016

    I chose Hans Hubermann too – He really made that book for me personally – such love and understanding, a really great character!

    • Diana
      June 15, 2016

      I agree with you about Hans being a great character. The relationship between him and Liesel was precious and I love that he taught her how to read.

  3. Zainab Sheikh
    June 15, 2016

    I love Liesel’s father. He was so kind to her and loved her so much when she wasn’t even his biological daughter.
    My T5W: https://abibliophilesobsession.wordpress.com/2016/06/15/t5w-favorite-literary-fathersfather-figures/

    • Diana
      June 16, 2016

      Their relationship was so precious and I loved how he taught her how to read also. Markus did such a great job in developing the relationship dynamics in that book.

      • Zainab Sheikh
        June 16, 2016

        Exactly! I loved how he taught her words and their meanings. And how much he loved her. 🙂

  4. Lindsay | Bookboodle
    June 16, 2016

    A Time to Kill is my favourite Grisham novel 🙂

    • Diana
      June 17, 2016

      Mine too 🙂 I have read almost all of Grisham’s books but this is the one that had the most impact on me although The Chamber is a close second 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 15, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top 5 Wednesday and tagged , , .
