A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: Where I Lost Her by T. Greenwood

Synopsis (from goodreads)

Lost HerEight years ago, Tess and Jake were considered a power couple of the New York publishing world–happy, in love, planning a family. Failed fertility treatments and a heartbreaking attempt at adoption have fractured their marriage and left Tess edgy and adrift. A visit to friends in rural Vermont throws Tess’s world into further chaos when she sees a young, half-dressed child in the middle of the road, who then runs into the woods like a frightened deer.

The entire town begins searching for the little girl. But there are no sightings, no other witnesses, no reports of missing children. As local police and Jake point out, Tess’s imagination has played her false before. And yet Tess is compelled to keep looking, not only to save the little girl she can’t forget but to salvage her broken heart as well.

Review(no spoilers)

What I liked…

I was really excited about finally getting to read Where I Lost Her by T. Greenwood. The synopsis was quite intriguing and the book cover was hauntingly beautiful. The story is narrated by Tess in the present. However, readers also get some background into Tess’ life and in particular an adoption nightmare.

I loved the fact that story moved fast and the mystery and suspense starts right at the beginning.  The police do not believe Tess at first. I know that this sounds like a cliché in all psychological thrillers but in this case, they actually had a good reason not to believe the key eyewitness.

Throughout the book, there clues inform of twists that help solve the mystery. I was able to figure out who the culprits were pretty early in the book. However, it was still interesting to see how the little girl fit in to the whole mystery. In addition, although the culprits were a bit obvious, I couldn’t guess how the story would unfold.

What I didn’t really like….

I have no major issues with this book. Nevertheless, the suspicion surrounding Tess was too much. It got to a point whereby it bordered on bullying. I guess the town had reason not to believe her at first but this went on for way to long and caused a lot of side drama. I also wasn’t too keen on the Jake and Tess marriage issues although I did like the background story about the adoption since it explained why Tess was so keen on finding the child. I didn’t like the other dramas and I really disliked Jake as a character.

Finally…

read-gif1I enjoyed reading Where I Lost Her by T. Greenwood. The writing was beautiful and had such an easy flow to it. The narration is also quite captivating such that I couldn’t put the book down. I recommend this book to all fans of thriller/mystery novels.

6 comments on “Book Review: Where I Lost Her by T. Greenwood

  1. Annie
    June 16, 2016

    I have this on my TBR list. Can’t wait to read it!!!!

    • Diana
      June 16, 2016

      I hope you will enjoy it. Its a good thriller 🙂

  2. Fatmawaty
    June 18, 2016

    You have gotten the style of your blog (Book reviews) sis! Nice!
    🙂

    • Diana
      June 19, 2016

      Thanks Sis 🙂 Now I am able to post more and I also enjoy blogging more than before 🙂

      • Fatmawaty
        June 19, 2016

        Glad to hear that from you! 😊 I see that!

  3. Pingback: Birthday Post and June Wrap-Up | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

