A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #22nd

This meme is currently hosted by Sam  at Taking on a World of Words.

img_1384-0

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan

I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak

When Breathe Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

The reviews will be up on the blog before end of June.

Currently reading

The-VoiceSo I finally joined NetGalley. Based on advice received, I decided to submit requests for 15 books expecting that a good number would be rejected anyway. Well, 13 requests got approved and only 2 were rejected. The books all seem interesting but I don’t know how fast I can read and review them. I am both excited and nervous at the same time.

This is the first one. Yes, my first ARC although the book has already been published.

The Night Stalker by Robert Bryndza

29073628

Reading Next

 

So how about you, any interesting books that you have read lately? What are you reading now? What do you plan on reading next? Any advice for an ARC/NetGalley newbie? Feel free to leave your WWW links in the comments section.

Credit for featured image.

31 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #22nd

  1. martinarg
    June 22, 2016

    Your books sounds very interesting, I want to read them 🙂 Here is my WWW
    https://themysterycorner.wordpress.com/2016/06/22/www-wednesday-3/

    I have also joined recently netgalley so any advice is welcome! 🙂

    • Diana
      June 22, 2016

      I hope that you found some interesting reads on netgalley. I guess we will figure it out as we go along 🙂 Thanks for the comment and link. Heading over to your blog now 🙂

  2. charoflondon
    June 22, 2016

    This is a gd idea, looking forward to getting some tips
    Just finished Nine Stories by JD Salinger

    Currently reading Notes Of A Native Son by James Baldwin

    Next up is Butterfly Fish by Irenosen Okojie

    • Deedee
      June 22, 2016

      I have heard of Native Son by Richard Wright but not that one. How is it? Butterfly Fish seems interesting based on the goodreads synopsis though I have never heard of it. Happy reading and thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. kirstyandthecatread
    June 22, 2016

    I joined NetGalley last week but I’ve only requested 4/5 books because I didn’t want to get approved for loads and then start panicking about how slow a reader I am 😦

    • Deedee
      June 22, 2016

      I guess that is exactly what I should have done 🙂 I went crazy a little bit with the requests and now I feel a bit overwhelmed with ARC TBR 🙂

      • kirstyandthecatread
        June 22, 2016

        I was so incredibly tempted to go overboard and I still am but I’m showing a rare bit of will power 🙂 – If only I had this will power when going to town to avoid the book shop!

  4. Bookish Daayla
    June 22, 2016

    Good books, I really enjoyed All The Missing Girls and I also have My girl as an eARC. I did the same when I joined Netgalley, thinking I wouldn’t be granted any and now I have 31 on my shelf!

    • Deedee
      June 23, 2016

      lol its comforting to know that I am not the only one 🙂 31?phew that’s is a huge pile but I hope you have some nice gems there. I have just finished reading Night Stalker and just started on All the Missing Girls. Excited about that one. Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading 🙂

  5. ChrissiReads
    June 22, 2016

    Glad that you got accepted for so many! My advice would be to not request too much as they can get on top of you after a while! 🙂 I hope you have a great week of reading.

    • Deedee
      June 23, 2016

      Thanks Chrissi. I will not request for anymore titles until I get through the 13 and then I can minimize my requests to three books each time. Thanks for the tip. Happy reading 🙂

  6. Sam
    June 22, 2016

    I hope you liked ‘I Am the Messanger.’ I enjoyed the ride but wasn’t a fan of the ending. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • Deedee
      June 23, 2016

      I had the same feeling about the book. I really liked it but I didn’t really like the end especially with Audrey. It was a beautiful book though.Thanks for hosting us. Happy reading.

  7. faithrivens
    June 22, 2016
    • Deedee
      June 23, 2016

      Thanks for stopping by and Happy reading too 🙂

      Heading over to your post now.

  8. Your recently finished list is on point. Must read The Narrow Road to the Deep North myself. I Am the Messenger was amaz ing 😀 Happy reading! http://www.curious-daisy.com/www-wednesdays/www-wednesday-june-22-2016/

    • Deedee
      June 23, 2016

      I agree. I also loved I am the Messenger. I think Markus Zusak is just awesome 🙂 The Narrow Road to the Deep North is sad but really wonderful and beautiful story. I hope that you will like it as much as I did. Happy redaing. Heading over to your post now.

  9. Yvo
    June 23, 2016

    I guess my fear of overloading my already exploding TBR pile is the only reading I haven’t signed up by Netgalley yet haha. If The Night Stalker is just as good as the first book, you will be up for a great first ARC. 😉 Your next reads sound great as well; I hope you’ll enjoy them!

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    • Deedee
      June 23, 2016

      Thanks Yvo. Yes, Night Stalker is a wonderful read. I just finished reading it yesterday night. I remember that you are the one who made me want to read The Girl in the Ice 🙂 I will try and control my NetGalley requests because it really can be overwhelming 🙂 Happy reading.

      • Yvo
        June 24, 2016

        I’m glad you enjoyed The Night Stalker! I’m definitely going to try and get a copy soon. I really want to sign up for Netgalley as well, but I might wait until I have a little more time so I won’t flood my TBR pile with ARCs (because I know I won’t be able to resist requesting a lot of books in the first place haha) 😉 Happy reading!

  10. Donna
    June 23, 2016

    I’ll have to study The Narrow Road to the Deep North next year for university. I don’t know what to expect, I usually don’t enjoy mandatory books.
    Congrats for joining NetGalley 🙂 I remember requesting a bit too much when I started, and I felt so much pressure over reviewing them, haha. The Night Stalker received raving reviews, I hope you enjoy it! I can only approve your choice of The Stepmother, you are in good hands with Bookouture. I’m on the fence about My Girl, something is bothering me, but I can’t pinpoint what.
    Happy reading!

    • Deedee
      June 23, 2016

      Hi Donna, I don’t know if you have noticed this. I changed my blog’s name and url and it seems I lost all my followers in the process. If you don’t mind, please unfollow then follow my blog to see my posts on your reader. This is Diana, previously of Voices in my head blog.

      • Donna
        June 23, 2016

        Got it! Thank you for letting me know! 🙂

  11. Deedee
    June 23, 2016

    I remember you had mentioned before that you have to read it for Uni. I hope that you will enjoy it though. I had to read it for my bookclub and I was so intimidated by it that I ended up reading it a week to the review. It was beautiful book though. I posted a review with no spoilers so perhaps you can check it out when you get a chance.

    https://ahavenforbooklovers.wordpress.com/2016/06/23/book-review-the-narrow-road-to-the-deep-north-by-richard-flanagan/

    I can’t wait to read The Stepmother. Thank you and happy reading too 🙂

  12. cleopatralovesbooks
    June 23, 2016

    I have The Stepmother too as I have really enjoyed some of this author’s previous books – I have to keep away from NetGalley as much as possible because there are so many books I’d love to read 🙂

    • Diana
      June 24, 2016

      I need to do the same thing with NetGalley at least until I get through my current ARC pile. I hope that The Step Mother will turn out to be a great read. Thanks for stopping. Happy reading 🙂

  13. Pingback: Friday Finds | A Haven for Book Lovers

  14. charliegirlteachergirl
    June 25, 2016

    YAY for NetGalley! I hope you enjoy your picks!

    • Diana
      June 27, 2016

      Thank you. I hope so too 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 22, 2016 by in Bookish Post, WWW Wednesday and tagged , , .
