A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: Vulnerable (Morgans of Nashville #4) by Mary Burton

mary burtonSynopsis

The Smallest Mistake

Three went in; one came out. For five years, no trace has been found of two high-school friends who went hiking in the woods near Nashville. The third teen, Amber Ryder, was discovered at the bottom of a ravine with a broken arm, head trauma–and zero memory of the horror that put her there.

Will Put You

What started as a cold case has become a fresh hell for forensic technician Georgia Morgan. Another woman’s body is found in the woods, and it leads to the missing teens’ remains. But while Georgia works with Amber to try and reawaken her memories, her gut tells her the worst is yet to come.

At A Killer’s Mercy

Homicide Detective Jake Bishop can’t be sure whether Amber is an expert manipulator or the killer’s next target. Either way, he’s determined to protect Georgia. Because the deeper she digs into the past, the deadlier the secrets that emerge, and a nightmare years in the making is about to come to a bloody, terrifying end…

Review (no spoilers)

I didn’t read any reviews of this book in advance. If I had then I would have found out that it’s the fourth book in a series called Morgan of Nashville by Mary Burton. I don’t think I would have read it then because I haven’t read any of the other three books in the series.

What I liked

The Vulnerable by Mary Burton is an interesting book. It is quite fast paced starting off with a murder that takes place right at the beginning of the book.  I don’t usually read police procedural kind of books because I get lost in the details of the investigations, the forensics and all that. However, this book was quite interesting despite the fact that Georgia Morgan, the protagonist was a forensics analyst.

I loved the suspense maintained throughout the book. I was only able to guess the identity of the killer in the final chapters. In addition, every time I thought that I had figured out the story, a new twist occurred throwing me completely in a different direction.

What I didn’t like

Something that I found to be somewhat amusing was the delivery of the twists. I felt as if these twists were just dropped… unceremoniously. I don’t know how to explain it but it is like…Oh, that guy is the killer now, moving on… I usually expect more of a buildup of the tensions and suspense before the twist. The OMG moments that makes a good thriller.

Another thing that I wasn’t too keen on was the romance and the detailed sex scenes.  Again, I didn’t read any reviews beforehand so I didn’t know that this was supposed to be a romantic thriller. The romance and sex bugged me. I felt that these scenes were taking away the focus from the mystery at hand. I was expecting it to be more of a crime or psychological thriller. So I guess this part is my fault  and doesn’t really indicate that there was anything wrong with the storyline.

who dunnit

Apart from that, I truly enjoyed reading the book. Although it is supposed to be part of a series, this still felt like standalone and I don’t think I missed out on much by not reading the other three books first. I think I will read the whole series now.

About the Book

Paperback, 384 pages

Published March 29th 2016 by Pinnacle

Edition Language: English

Series: Morgans of Nashville #4

 

 

 

6 comments on “Book Review: Vulnerable (Morgans of Nashville #4) by Mary Burton

  1. cleopatralovesbooks
    June 27, 2016

    I do like your description of the twists in this one – maybe a bit more subtlety would have improved the experience for you?

    • Diana
      June 28, 2016

      Thank you and yes,maybe that would have helped. I like twists that catch me off-guard and actually make me stop and think about what just happened 🙂

  2. thatssojacob
    June 28, 2016

    I’m actually catching a series midstream too, my current read is the third in a series. Debating whether I want to go back and read the other two. But good review, btw. And last week I reviewed 2 books and a play on my blog, so come over and visit and leave a comment when you can!

    • Diana
      June 28, 2016

      I hope you are enjoying the series so far though. Thanks for stopping by. Heading over to your blog now.

  3. Pingback: Birthday Post and June Wrap-Up | A Haven for Book Lovers

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Dead and Buried by Helen H. Durrant | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

