A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

TTT:Ten Books that I loved but Never Wrote a Review for

toptentuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by  The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

Today’s instructions were as follows: FREEBIE WEEK – topic of your choice or go back and do one you missed! So I decided to do a post about some of my favorite books that I loved but read before starting book blogging so I never reviewed them. This is a topic that was tackled on TTT a few months back.

Top Ten Books that I loved but Never Wrote a Review for

  1. Gone Girl by Gillian Fynn
  2. Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozie
  3. And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini
  4. The Firm by John Grisham
  5. A Time to Kill by John Grisham
  6. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult
  7. Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert
  8. She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb
  9. A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks
  10. A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier by Ishmael Beah

Those are my top ten books that I loved but never reviewed. What are yours? Did you participate in today’s Top Ten Tuesday? What did you opt to talk about? Share the links to your TTT posts.

41 comments on “TTT:Ten Books that I loved but Never Wrote a Review for

  1. Emily Witt
    June 28, 2016

    I don’t know any of these ones apart from Gone Girl (which I also never reviewed, funnily enough), but there are a few here I definitely mean to read one day (My Sister’s Keeper being at the top).

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      I hope that you will like My Sister’s Keeper.Its a beautiful story though a bit sad. Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading 🙂

  2. Donna
    June 28, 2016

    Gone Girl is on my TBR, but like all hyped-up books, I always feel that everything was said about it so I am not sure to review it. I like the sound of The Firm. I have a few Grisham books in store, but I haven’t found the time to read them yet.

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      I started reading Grisham when I was young, I guess that is why I have always loved his works. I hope that you will get a chance to read one of his books soon though and hopefully, it will be a great read :-)I get what you mean about hyped-up books though. When I see about around, I always get curious enough to get it but reviewing isn’t always so easy.

  3. lry93
    June 28, 2016

    I really liked Gone Girl – even if it did creep me out a little!

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      haha it really was creepy. I read the book and watched the movie. The female protagonist was a scary schemer but I liked it too 🙂

  4. rainandcheese
    June 28, 2016

    Ah, Grisham. I used to read a few of them when I was younger and I think he’s one of the authors that made me love books with lawyers in them. Great post!

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      Me too. I read The Client when I was around 13 and I have loved legal thrillers since then. Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading 🙂

  5. alilovesbooks
    June 28, 2016

    I actually find it really difficult to write reviews for books I love so there are a lot I’ve never reviewed.

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      Glad to know that I am not the only one with a bunch of un-reviewed books.Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading 🙂

  6. Sonia
    June 28, 2016

    I started Gone Girl. Loved the first pages and for some reason never picked it up again. Maybe after I finish Sharp Objects it gets back to my spotlight.

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      Oh, sorry to hear that.How come you dropped it though? Was it the story-line, characters? I haven’t read Sharp Objects though but I will look out for our review on it. Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading 🙂

  7. journeyofangie
    June 28, 2016

    I haven’t read any of the books on your list but I’ve seen the movie adaptation of A Walk To Remember.. And some of the books here, I’ve seen on the book blogging community.🙋

    I’ve heard great things about John Grisham and Picoult. Great list.👍💜

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      Thanks and those two authors are pretty amazing 🙂 Happy reading ❤

  8. bluecloverdust
    June 28, 2016

    I still need to read Gone Girl!

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      I hope that you will enjoy it once you get a chance to read it.

  9. iloveheartlandx
    June 28, 2016

    My Sister’s Keeper is one of my favourite books ever, glad to see you loved it too!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/06/28/top-ten-tuesday-63/

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      Glad to hear that you loved it too 🙂 It was a beautiful although really sad story. Thanks for the link, heading over to your post now. Happy reading 🙂

  10. Yvo
    June 28, 2016

    I read Gone Girl, And The Mountains Echoed, A Long Way Gone and the John Grisham books a while back as well, although I did review the first three. My favorite would be A Long Way Gone: such a devastating but intriguing memoir!

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      I agree with you about Baeh’s memoir. Its first memoir that I have read about a child soldier. I am thinking about rereading it when I get a chance.Truly devastating what Baeh went through.Ill go through you blog and get the review. Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading.

      • Yvo
        June 29, 2016

        His memoir is definitely worth rereading! I think I wrote a second book as well, although I haven’t read it yet. Happy reading!

  11. ChrissiReads
    June 28, 2016

    I love lists like this. It’s interesting to look back at books we haven’t reviewed.

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      Yes it is 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading.

  12. Leia
    June 28, 2016

    Ooh, I loved both Picoults and both Grishams too. I have so, so many books I’ve read and loved but never reviewed. Great topic!

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      Thanks Leia. I guess many of us do. And then with the passage of time, it becomes even harder to review the books.

      Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading.

  13. lorannkay
    June 28, 2016

    Eat, Pray, Love is on my TBR list! I’m hoping to knock it out soon.
    I read Gone Girl, as well as Sharp Objects, and Dark Places. Gillian Flynn is an interesting writer. I liked the creepy aspect of all her books… but with that being said, I dislike how all of her main characters are so unlikable. When I read, I want to like the person the story revolves around. I feel like I can never do that with a Flynn novel. Of the 3 books, Dark Places is probably my favorite by her.
    I’ll have to look into the other books listed to see if I need to add more to my TBR list. Thanks 🙂

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      I thought the same thing about Gone Girl, very unlikable characters although I still enjoyed the book. I haven’t yet read Dark Places and Sharp Objects but based on your comment, I really want to read them now.Especially since you really liked Dark Places, I am bumping it up on my TBR now. Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading.

  14. What a great topic for this week’s list. There are so many books I love but haven’t gotten around to reviewing. Nice list!

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      Thanks Alicia. Based on other comments, it seems that most of us have some un-reviewed book pile. Sometimes I wonder if I should go back and reread them then review them but then again, there are so many books on my TBR already.

      Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading.

  15. Lisa @ Captivated Reader
    June 28, 2016

    Nice list! I didn’t enjoy reading Eat, Pray, Love, but I loved the movie version. Go figure.

    Here’s a link to my TTT post for this week:
    http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2016/06/top-ten-tuesday-freebie-week-things-i.html

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      I haven’t watched the EPL movie soon.Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading.

  16. charliegirlteachergirl
    June 28, 2016

    I haven’t read any of these. Great topic – I sometimes wonder if I should go back and re-read some books I read prior to the blog and review them.

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      I have considered doing the same things especially for the books that I really loved 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading.

  17. Fatima @ NoteablePad
    June 29, 2016

    And The Mountains Echoed is such a good book! I haven’t reviewed it either 🙂 Great list!

    • Diana
      June 29, 2016

      Thanks. Yeah I agree with you about And the Mountains Echoed being a good book. I reviewed the other books by Kaheld Hosseini but never got around to this one.

      Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading 🙂

  18. faithrivens
    June 29, 2016

    Gone Girl really took me by surprise! I read it as the hype was growing but before the movie came out and I enjoyed it far more than I thought I would!
    I’m ashamed to admit that, apart from My Sister’s Keeper, I haven’t read any of the other books! But most are on my TBR! So there’s that 🙂

  19. Diana
    June 30, 2016

    Gone Girl was good despite all the hate it received. I really enjoyed it too. Well I hope that you will enjoy the ones on your TBR and hopefully write a review for them 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading.

  20. Arwen McGilvra
    June 30, 2016

    Good list. Although I have to say I’ve been doing an annual review of books since 2006. I can’t really remember enough about books I read before that to come up with a list.

    My Top Ten Tues is on the most frustrating characters. http://books.thetechchef.net/top-ten-tuesday-5/

  21. Bina
    July 1, 2016

    Great topic, I have so many books I haven’t reviewed, mostly because I didn’t manage to keep up, but soem because they were too wonderful. I’ve yet to read Americanah and She’s Come Undone, hope you enjoyed them! 🙂 I’ve read only My Sister’s Keeper and remember liking it, but not her later books.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , , .
