A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #July 6th

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @  Taking on a World of Words.

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

dear amy

Dear Amy by Hellen Calaghan- I reviewed this book yesterday, here.

Currently reading

The Step Mother by Claire Seeber and The Sister by Louise Jensen. I had started reading the two books but found myself more drawn to The Sister so I am now focused on that. It is really interesting so far and quite a quick read. I will share my review by the end of the week.

In the meantime, you can read this review by Wendy at Little Bookness Lane. Her wonderful review is what got me interested in the book in the first place.

Reading Next

Twisted by Hannah Jayne

twisted

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan

I decided to also try a new genre and picked this book from the library.

IMG_20160705_071206Synopsis from goodreads

Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.

 

So how about you, what have you been up to? What are you reading now? What do you plan on reading next? Feel free to leave your WWW links in the comments section.

14 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #July 6th

  1. Bathtime Reads
    July 6, 2016

    I’m definitely putting Dear Amy on my TBR list. I’ve read a lot of disappointing ‘psychological thriller’ lately, but from your review, it sounds like I’ll enjoy this one.

    My post: https://bathtimereads.wordpress.com/2016/07/06/%EF%BB%BFwww-wednesday/

    • Diana
      July 8, 2016

      I hope that you will enjoy Dear Amy if you read it. It does have some mixed reviews though but I liked it. Thanks for stopping by. Heading over to your post now 🙂

  2. Claire | Art and Soul
    July 6, 2016

    I hope you enjoy The Sister. I follow Louise’s blog and all her short fiction is excellent. I hope her debut does really well 🙂

    I read 24 Hours by Claire Seeber and, although I thought the writing was good, I couldn’t get on with the main character. I’d like to try another of her books though, so will wait to hear what you think of The Stepmother.

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/07/06/www-wednesday-6th-july-2016/

    • Diana
      July 8, 2016

      I just finished reading The Sister and it was so good. I wasn’t working yesterday so I read it one sitting. I will look for her blog. Her debut novel is quite thrilling.

      I haven’t read anything by Claire Seeber before but I have high hopes on The Stepmother so I hope that I won’t get dissapointed by it.

      Thanks for stopping by. On my way to your post now 🙂 Happy reading.

  3. Donna
    July 6, 2016

    The Sister is a brilliant debut novel. I remember how I struggled to review it without giving away any hints, haha. I was very excited about The Stepmother, and it is a good story, but definitely less powerful and grabbing.
    Happy reading 🙂
    Here’s my WWW https://chocolatenwafflesblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/06/this-week-in-books-july-6th-2016/

    • Diana
      July 8, 2016

      I agree with you. I just finished reading The Sister last night and it was so good. So many wonderful twists and the suspense kept growing with each chapter. The Stepmother has a slow start but I hope that it will get better.

      Thanks for stopping by. Heading over to read your WWW now. Happy reading 🙂

      • Donna
        July 9, 2016

        The Stepmother was okay, but I was expecting something better.

  4. Emily Witt
    July 6, 2016

    Glad you enjoyed Dear Amy. I saw it on someone’s blog last week (possibly yours, actually!) and immediately added it to my own TBR because it sounds just like the kind of thing I would enjoy. Hope you enjoy Percy Jackson – I have seen the movie but never read the books

    Here’s my WWW

    • Diana
      July 8, 2016

      Thanks Emily.Percy Jackson is a new genre for me so I hope that it will go well. I hope the movie was good. Let me know aht you think of Dear Amy if you get to read it.
      Thanks for stopping by. Heading over to your post now. Happy reading.

  5. Little Bookness Lane
    July 6, 2016

    Looking forward to hearing your thoughts for The Sister! Thank you for the mention too 🙂

    • Diana
      July 8, 2016

      You are welcome 🙂 I have finished reading the book so the review will be up today or tomorrow. Have a great weekend 🙂

      • Little Bookness Lane
        July 8, 2016

        Excellent – I’ll hop over to your blog and have a nosy! Have a lovely weekend too 🙂

  6. journeyofangie
    July 7, 2016

    I hope you enjoy Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief.. 🙋

    • Diana
      July 8, 2016

      Thanks Angie, I hope so too:-)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2016 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , , .
