A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Friday Finds #July 29

Friday Finds is a meme currently hosted by Books and a BeatThis is an opportunity to share the books that you have recently found and added to your TBR.

Here are my new Finds:

I am really excited about my new books. I have been looking forward to reading the two and I finally have them with me.

homegoingHome Going by Yaa Gyasi

 Two half sisters, Effia and Esi, unknown to each other, are born into different villages in eighteenth-century Ghana. Effia is married off to an Englishman and will live in comfort in the palatial rooms of Cape Coast Castle, raising children who will be sent abroad to be educated before returning to the Gold Coast to serve as administrators of the empire. Esi, imprisoned beneath Effia in the Castle’s women’s dungeon and then shipped off on a boat bound for America, will be sold into slavery.

Stretching from the wars of Ghana to slavery and the Civil War in America, from the coal mines in the American South to the Great Migration to twentieth-century Harlem, Yaa Gyasi’s novel moves through histories and geographies.

 

memory

The Book of Memory by Petina Gappah

 Memory is an albino woman languishing in Chikurubi Maximum Security Prison in Harare, Zimbabwe, where she has been convicted of murder. As part of her appeal, her lawyer insists that she write down what happened as she remembers it. As her story unfolds, Memory reveals that she has been tried and convicted for the murder of Lloyd Hendricks, her adopted father. But who was Lloyd Hendricks? Why does Memory feel no remorse for his death? And did everything happen exactly as she remembers?

 

How about you? Did you add any books to your bookshelf this week? Have you read of my new finds? Let me know.

 

Happy Friday!

 

 

5 comments on “Friday Finds #July 29

  1. lbarasa
    July 29, 2016

    Can’t wait to read your review on ‘Home Going.’ I have it on my TBR.
    I’ve added ‘On Black Sisters Street’ by Chika Unigwe and ‘Blackass by Igoni Barret. Can’t wait to dig in

    • Diana
      July 31, 2016

      I have high expectations of Home Going.It has such raving reviews.I hope to enjoy it.Black Sisters is one book I’d love to read.I hope its a great read.I DNFed blackass a while ago.I look forward to your review though.It may motivate me to read it.

  2. Yvo
    August 1, 2016

    Great finds! They sound really interesting; I hope you will enjoy them.

    • Diana
      August 1, 2016

      Thanks Yvo:-) Have a wonderful week!

  3. Claire 'Word by Word'
    August 1, 2016

    Great finds, I’ve heard good things about The Book of Memory, I like your choices too because they are outside the mainstream and celebrate writers and/or storytelling from other cultures, just the kind of thing I like to read.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Friday Finds and tagged , , .
