A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top Ten Books I Just HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting on My Bookshelf

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by  The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

Today’s instructions were as follows:  Top Ten Tuesday REWIND — go back and do a topic you missed over the years or recently or a topic you really want to revisit

So I decided to do a post that I missed concerning books that I just had to buy but are still on my bookshelf. Of course I was excited about getting all these books. The beautiful covers, recommendations received prior to purchase and the promising blurbs all made me get them. However, they have been on my bookshelf for months now. I keep getting distracted by new finds and of course NetGalley ARCs. I hope to read the books before the end of the year though.

The (temporarily) neglected books…

  1. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon
  2. The Choice by Nicholas Sparks
  3. Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella
  4. Lucky by Alice Sebold
  5. Atonement by Ian McEwan
  6. Five Days by Douglas Kennedy
  7. A Scarlett Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  8. Dust by Yvonne Awuor
  9. When It Happens by Susan Colasanti
  10. Looking for JJ by Ann Cassidy

unread

Have you read any of these books? What did you do for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday? Feel free to leave me your links on the comment sections. Happy Tuesday!

 

 

43 comments on “Top Ten Books I Just HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting on My Bookshelf

  1. kirstyandthecatread
    August 9, 2016

    I’ve read Atonement and for me I found the film to be better than the book – which is really rare 🙂

    • Diana
      August 9, 2016

      Oh wow, I think only Nicholas Sparks based movies have ever made me feel that way like The Notebook where the movie was pretty good. Thanks for the comment, I will make sure that I read the book and get the movie too 😉

  2. 1happywhale
    August 9, 2016

    Looking for JJ is one of the best books I have read! You should definitely read it!

    • Diana
      August 9, 2016

      Thanks for the recommendation. I will bump it up my reading list and get to it soon 🙂

  3. lry93
    August 9, 2016

    I have Atonement (and I have read it, and watched the film) and I loved it!

    • Diana
      August 9, 2016

      Glad to hear that. I am definitely moving it up my TBR and hopefully, Ill also get to watch the movie.

  4. Julianne
    August 9, 2016

    I also bought Atonement and was going to read it at once…but never did 🙂

    • Diana
      August 9, 2016

      Glad to see that I am not the only one. Based on the comments, it seems like it is an interesting book so I do hope that we will both like it when we get to it:-)

  5. Puput @ Sparkling Letters
    August 9, 2016

    It’s kind of sad of me that I’ve never read nor known about any books on this list 😦 BUT I’ve heard other books written by some of the authors here! I’ve stopped reading all books by Nicholas Spark because they’re all SAD and everyone dies or gets sick. Romantic, but still. I’d still watch the movie though it is equally sad, it’s only two hours of my life I’m giving up 😛 I’m also scared of reading books by Alice Sebold because The Lovely Bones was just CREEPY and I’m scared hahaha but Sophie Kinsella is great! She’s fun and charming and her Shopaholic series is one of my favorite chicklit of ever 😀

    • Diana
      August 9, 2016

      I also bought the books based on the other books by the authors. I picked Lucky because of Lovely Bones and you are so right, it was a scary book. I was shocked to find out that it was inspired by the author’s life in particular the rape. Sparks has beautiful books but its true, they are so sad. I hope this one is a bit lighter. I also liked Kinsella’s Shopaholic series :-)I hope this will be a fun read too. Thanks for vising and commenting 🙂

      • Puput @ Sparkling Letters
        August 9, 2016

        Ahhh I didn’t know that??? It’s based on true story?? So sad 😦 I know right!! There are some of his books with happy ending, if I recalled correctly… The Longest Ride? I didn’t read the book but I watched the movie and it was pretty sweet ❤ you're welcome! 😀

  6. zoe2600
    August 9, 2016

    I just nominated you for the liebster award, I am hopeless and cant link it or whatever so check out my blog

    • Diana
      August 9, 2016

      Thanks Zoe. Ill check it out.

  7. alilovesbooks
    August 9, 2016

    The only book on your list I’ve read is Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella. You usually can’t go wrong with any of her books. The others I’m afraid don’t really appeal.

    • Diana
      August 9, 2016

      I have enjoyed other books by Kinsella so I hope this one will also be a good read. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Happy Tuesday 🙂

  8. Barb (boxermommyreads)
    August 9, 2016

    Twenties Girl is really cute and fun. It was my first (wait, my only) Kinsella read and I’m really glad I picked it up. I still need to read The Curious Incident… Nice list!

    • Diana
      August 10, 2016

      Thanks Barb. I will definitely read Twenties Girl soon. If you are up for an easy, fun read…you can check Kinsella’s Shopaholic series too. I also need to read The Curious Incident…it has so many wonderful reviews:-)

  9. faithrivens
    August 9, 2016

    I’m sad to say I’ve watched Atonement, but haven’t yet watched it. That’s something I know I need to fix ;P
    Curious Incident is a great book and I hope you get around to reading it soon. This just reminds me that there are so many books on my shelf that I’ve bought and haven’t yet read….

    • Diana
      August 10, 2016

      I look forward to reading Curious Incident…soon. Sounds like a good read. I need to read Atonement so that I can watch the movie, it seems like so many people enjoyed the movie. I am glad that I am not the only one with an overflowing bookshelf full of unread books:-)

  10. charliegirlteachergirl
    August 9, 2016

    An interesting mix of books! I don’t think I could suffer through The Scarlet Letter again, but several others I would probably read.

    • Diana
      August 10, 2016

      Oh 😦 You are scaring me away from The Scarlett Letter, sounds like a tough read.

  11. Annie
    August 9, 2016

    I’ve read Atonement, Twenties Girl and Curious incident… I loved Atonement! Twenties Girl was fun 😀

    • Diana
      August 10, 2016

      Mh… you liked the two, but what about Curious Incident…? I am glad that you enjoyed Atonement though.That is going to be the first book that I read from this list.

      • Annie
        August 10, 2016

        Haha Sorry, that one I read when I was a teenaget and can’t remember anything 😂 I think I liked it but don’t trust me 😛

  12. ChrissiReads
    August 9, 2016

    I seem to have a lot of books still sitting on my shelves too!

    • Diana
      August 10, 2016

      haha, glad that I am not the only one who does:-)

  13. kellyfbarr
    August 9, 2016

    Ithe cracked me up when I clicked your link to see what you posted for today’s Top Ten Tuesday, because you chose the same theme that I did for today! 😀
    I have been wanting to read Nathaniel Hawthorne’s Scarlet Letter for years and still haven’t gotten around to it, and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time has been on my TBR list for a long time, too.
    Visit my TTT at: https://kellyfbarr.com/2016/08/09/top-ten-tuesday-24/

    • Diana
      August 11, 2016

      Thanks for stopping by and for the link:-) I hope those two books get to be enjoyable reads for you too when you get to read them.

  14. Donna
    August 9, 2016

    Atonement was one of my first reads of the year, I enjoyed it, but I still have to watch the movie 🙂

    • Diana
      August 11, 2016

      I hope you get to watch it soon. I can’t wait to read the book soon so that I can watch the movie soon. Happy reading:-)

  15. Curious Daisy
    August 9, 2016

    Give The Curious Incident a chance. It deserves to be moved to the read pile 😀 Happy reading!! http://www.curious-daisy.com/top-ten-tuesday/my-top-ten-all-time-favorite-authors/

    • Diana
      August 11, 2016

      Thanks I definitely will especially after your recommendation. Happy reading too. Heading over to your post now:-)

  16. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews
    August 10, 2016

    I don’t own any of these, but Lucky has been on my TBR forever. I’m guilty of this with soooo many books on my shelves haha. Some have been sitting on there for YEARS 😂

    • Diana
      August 11, 2016

      haha glad that I am not the only one with a shelf overflowing with TBRs:-)

  17. Laila@BigReadingLife
    August 10, 2016

    I read The Scarlet Letter in high school, and I remember enjoying it for an assigned reading book. It’s been years since I read Curious Incident of the Dog but i also remember really liking that one. I tend to read my library books at a quicker pace than the ones I buy! Sometimes they’ll linger on my shelf for years!

    • Diana
      August 11, 2016

      I get what you mean. I also get through library and ARCs faster hence end up neglecting books that I have bought. I will read the two books that you have mentioned soon. Glad to hear that you enjoyed them both. Happy reading and thanks for stopping by:-)

  18. Lauren @ Always Me
    August 11, 2016

    I have this problem too…

    Check out my TTT.

    • Diana
      August 11, 2016

      Thanks for stopping by. I will visit your post now. Happy reading.

  19. Agnes
    August 11, 2016

    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time is a short-ish read, and it’s interesting because of how he views the world. Hope you like it! 🙂

    • Diana
      August 11, 2016

      Thanks Agnes. I hope to read it soon. It does sound quite interesting. Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading 🙂

  20. Pingback: Ten Books that have been on my TBR for over a year… | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2016 by in Bookish Post and tagged , , .
