A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #August 17th

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words

img_1384-0To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

Click on the titles to read description and my review of the two books.

Missing Presumed By Susie Stenier

Black Widow by Chris Brookmyre

Currently Reading

edieWatching Eddie by Camilla Way

Beautiful, creative, a little wild… Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into your life. And she had dreams back then—but it didn’t take long for her to learn that things don’t always turn out the way you want them to.

Now, at thirty-three, Edie is working as a waitress, pregnant and alone. And when she becomes overwhelmed by the needs of her new baby and sinks into a bleak despair, she thinks that there’s no one to turn to…

But someone’s been watching Edie, waiting for the chance to prove once again what a perfect friend she can be. It’s no coincidence that Heather shows up on Edie’s doorstep, just when Edie needs her the most. So much has passed between them—so much envy, longing, and betrayal. And Edie’s about to learn a new lesson: those who have hurt us deeply—or who we have hurt—never let us go, not entirely…

I am almost done with this book. It is not what I expected although its an interesting read nonetheless.

Reading Next

I don’t intend to read any other book soon after the one that I am currently reading. My end of semester exams will be starting soon so I am just going to focus on academic reading/revision until after September 6th. This means that I will not participate in the next 2 or 3 WWW Wednesday features also. Good news is that this is my final semester at uni attending classes and taking exams. I will start my Masters Thesis next semester and embark on off-campus research for a year.

So how about you, any interesting books that you have read lately? What are you reading now? What do you plan on reading next? Feel free to leave your WWW links in the comments section.

 

 

21 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #August 17th

  1. ChrissiReads
    August 17, 2016

    I almost picked up Watching Edie a few weeks back. I shall look out for your review! I hope you have a great reading week!

    • Diana
      August 17, 2016

      Thanks. Watching Edie is interesting though the pace is a bit slow. I will share my review tomorrow. Have a great reading week too.

  2. Lekeisha The Booknerd
    August 17, 2016

    I added Missing Presumed to my TBR last week. I hope to read it before the year is out.

    • Diana
      August 17, 2016

      I hope that you will like it more than I did. It was a bit too slow for me but most people seem to have enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading 🙂

  3. Agnes
    August 17, 2016

    This is the first time I’ve heard of any of these, but Watching Edie seems interesting and more than a little frightening because of the cover. Good luck with your revision! I also want to focus on school but can’t give up books completely, haha.

    • Diana
      August 17, 2016

      haha I know what you mean. Its only that with the exams my schedule forces me to give up on my books completely for the time being. Watching Edie is dark though not too scary.

      Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading 🙂

  4. Emily Witt
    August 17, 2016

    Glad to hear you enjoyed Black Widow! I’ve heard really good things about it and want to get to it fairly soon.

    Here’s my WWW post

    • Diana
      August 17, 2016

      It was quite interesting. I hope that you will also enjoy it if you get to read it. Thanks for stopping by. On my way to your post now:-)

  5. Bathtime Reads
    August 17, 2016

    Watching Edie and Missing Presumed have been on my TBR list for a long time. I’ll look out for your review of Watching Edie!

    My WWW; https://bathtimereads.wordpress.com/2016/08/17/www-wednesday-18th-august-2016/#more-2884

    • Diana
      August 17, 2016

      I hope that you will enjoy the two books when you get to them. Thanks for stopping by and leaving your link. I am on my way to your post now. Happy Reading and enjoy your Wednesday.

  6. All of your books look appealing to me.

    My WWW post: http://www.bookclublibrarian.com/2016/08/www-wednesday.html

    • Diana
      August 17, 2016

      Thanks. Will check out your post now.Happy reading!

  7. I’ve been looking toward to reading both Black Widow and Watching Edie.😊

  8. Donna
    August 17, 2016

    Oh, that dreaded exam period. I am not looking forward to reliving this soon! I hope everything goes well. Remember to take care of yourself during that time! 🙂 I’m enjoying the rest of the holidays by reading and blogging as much as possible because I’ll be so busy when uni starts again that I won’t have time to read as much.
    I’m curious about Watching Eddie but I can’t decide if I want to read it.
    Good luck with the exams!

  9. faithrivens
    August 17, 2016

    Best of luck with your end of semester exams. It’s always hard to balance reading for pleasure when there’s studying to get done! Hope everything goes well for you 🙂
    And how exciting! May I ask what your pursuing for your Masters?
    https://aliasfaithrivens.wordpress.com/2016/08/17/www-wednesday-the-nineteenth/

  10. Claire | Art and Soul
    August 17, 2016

    I like the sound of Missing Presumed. I prefer police procedurals and mysteries to dark thrillers – I find them less stressful! 🙂
    The best of luck with your revision and exams and I hope you can squeeze a bit of reading for fun in there somewhere.
    Thanks for visiting my WWW post (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/08/17/www-wednesday-17th-august-2016/) and happy reading (and good luck again!).

  11. rantsandravesofabibliophile
    August 17, 2016

    I haven’t read any of these books. And good luck on your exams. Congrats on starting your master thesis next…YAY!!!

  12. laurelrainsnow
    August 17, 2016

    These all look so tempting…Watching Edie is on my list, and I’m also very curious about Missing, Presumed and Black Widow. Enjoy, and thanks for visiting my blog.

  13. Curious Daisy
    August 17, 2016

    Have not read any of these but I hope you’ll like them. Happy reading! http://www.curious-daisy.com/www-wednesdays/www-wednesday-august-17-2016/

  14. Sam
    August 17, 2016

    Good luck with your finals! I feel like taking time off for mine when they come around, too. You’re the second person with ‘Edie’ on their list this week. Glad to hear you’re enjoying it. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

  15. Kelly | Kelly's Rambles
    August 17, 2016

    I’ve got Missing, Presumed on my TBR already so it was interesting to see what you thought of it.

    Here’s my WWW.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2016 by in Bookish Post, WWW Wednesday and tagged , , .
