A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Ten Books that have been on my TBR for over a year…

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by  The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

Today’s instructions were as follows: Ten Books That Have Been On Your Shelf (Or TBR) From Before You Started Blogging That You STILL Haven’t Read Yet (this is going to be sad considering how many of those I have unread six years later…)

I did an almost similar post on the books that I was eager to buy but still haven’t read. Those books have been on my bookshelf for months. However, this list has books that have been on my TBR for longer than just months. I have been intending to read them but let’s just say that it has taken me quite long to actually get to them.

  1. The Diary of a Young Girl: Anne Frank
  2. Hellen Keller:The Story of my Life
  3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  4. Persuasion by Jane Austen
  5. Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
  6. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  7. The Time Travelers’ Wife bu Audrey Niffenegger
  8. Love in the time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  9. My Life with a Taliban by Abdul Salam Zaeef
  10. Yacoubian Building by Alla Al Aswany

I have heard great things about these books so I hope to read them soon. Hopefully, I can read at least 5 of them before the year ends. Luckily, my book club has selected Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez so now I will read it.

Have you read any of these books? Which books have been on your TBR for long? Let me know. Happy Tuesday!

16 comments on “Ten Books that have been on my TBR for over a year…

  1. carlalouise89
    August 23, 2016

    I’ve read:
    The Diary of a Young Girl: Anne Frank
    Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
    Persuasion by Jane Austen
    Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
    The Time Travelers’ Wife bu Audrey Niffenegger
    And I liked them all 🙂

    • Diana
      September 6, 2016

      Glad to hear that.I need to bump them up my TBR list.Especially the Jane Austen.Thanks for your comment 🙂

      • carlalouise89
        September 7, 2016

        No problems! 🙂

  2. Lekeisha The Booknerd
    August 23, 2016

    I hope you get the chance to read some of the Classics soon. P&P, S&S, Jane Eyre, and Persuasion are some of my favorites.

    • Diana
      September 6, 2016

      Thanks Lekeisha.I’m terrible with classics but I have to read Jane Eyre soon and the Austen books 🙂

  3. Lilyn G. (Sci-Fi & Scary)
    August 23, 2016

    Its an interesting mix on your list. I’ve read The Diary of Anne Frank, and seen the movie for The Time Travelers Wife.

    My TTT.

    • Diana
      September 6, 2016

      I hope that you enjoyed the book and the movie.Sorry I’m returning your visit late.I have been having exams so had to be away for a while.Thanks for the comment 🙂

  4. Michael J. Miller
    August 23, 2016

    ‘Love In The Time Of Cholera’ felt like it took a very long time to read…but ultimately was a very memorable book. I read it years ago and the whole premise – is this love or madness/obsession?? – is still with me. I think of it often. I actually use the basic setup of the book as a discussion starter in a class I teach about Love & Evil. Gabriel Garcia Marquez’ writing can be heavy at times but it’s totally worth the challenge.

    • Diana
      September 6, 2016

      Oh wow.Thanks for letting me know that.Now I can’t wait to read it.I have heard that its quite a big book but my book club picked it for this month so I have motivation to get to it now.Thanks for the comment.

  5. faithrivens
    August 24, 2016

    You must remedy the Jane Austen and Jane Eyre problem immediately 😉 Jane Eyre is one of my favourite classics, so beautifully written! I’d love to be in your shoes, able to rediscover the magic of them all over again, though rereading serves the same purpose most of the time!
    Hope you get to discover the magic of these books soon!

    • Diana
      September 6, 2016

      Your comment makes me want to drop everything on my current reading list and get to Jane Eyre soon.I hope to read it this month though.Thanks for the comment 🙂

      • faithrivens
        September 12, 2016

        Oh yay! Let me know what you think of it once you have 😀

  6. Julianne
    August 24, 2016

    We have a couple of the same books this week, Jane Eyre and Pride & Prejudice 🙂 Hope you’re doing well with your exams!

    • Diana
      September 6, 2016

      I am so determined to read Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre this month.Its taken long enough.Thanks for the comment 🙂

  7. Brown Books and Green Tea
    September 4, 2016

    I’ve never read Jane Austen, so I guess she’s been on my tbr list forever. I’m going to get there one day, though!

    • Diana
      September 6, 2016

      Me too.I hope to start with Pride and Prejudice.I have heard a lot of good things about it

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , , .
