A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: Watching Edie by Camilla Way

Book Description

edie.jpg

 

Review

Watching Edie by Camilla Way is the kind of book that will keep you guessing right from the first page to the last one. The story is narrated in two timelines by the two main characters, Edie and Heather. We are introduced to the present by Edie who just had a baby and is settling into a new life as a mother which is far from easy. On the other hand, Heather takes us back sixteen years before when she first met Eddie. I liked the alternating view points and timelines because they added to the mystery and suspense of the narration. It was evident that something happened sixteen years ago between two girls and this was affecting present events. I kept trying to guess what exactly had occurred and each time that I thought I had it figured out, a new twist occurred.

This is a wonderful psychological thriller. The themes of friendship, obsession and betrayal made it unputdownable. The plotline is also quite unique. It is not the usual fast-paced thrillers but the mystery builds slowly with each chapter. I also liked the character development of the two girls. It felt like I got to know them better as the story progressed. The first chapter was all about first impression but at the end of the book, everything had fallen into place. I liked how the author was able to develop the two characters as the story unfolded.

“I know how it feels to love every inch of someone: eyelashes, earlobes, toenails, the skin and flesh and muscles and veins and bones, every one.”
Camilla Way, Watching Edie

 This is the kind of books that will surprise you so much that you may feel deceived at the end. I mean everything that I thought I knew turned out so wrong that I was left confused, speechless and a bit lost at the end(in a good way). The ‘before’ chapters had me at the edge of my seat trying to figure out what happened in the past. The ‘now’ chapters had so much tension because it was evident that something dark was going on and danger was looming around the corner.

I can’t say more about the book or the characters without ruining it for those who haven’t read Edie Edieit. If you like psychological thrillers, you need to read Watching Edie by Camilla Way. This book will haunt you long after the last page and keep you thinking about the events and the dramatic conclusion. Seriously, get the book!

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest opinion.

About the Book

  • Title: Watching Edie
  • Author: Camilla Way
  • Hardcover, 304 pages
  • Published July 28th 2016 by HarperCollins UK

 

5 comments on “Book Review: Watching Edie by Camilla Way

  1. Julianne
    September 6, 2016

    Now on my TBR 🙂

    • Diana
      September 6, 2016

      He he…I hope that you will like it.

  2. Annie
    September 6, 2016

    And another one I didn’t know if I should read and now I’m super excited!

    • Diana
      September 6, 2016

      I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did.

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up :September/October TBR | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 6, 2016 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , , .
