A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

ARC Review: Fractured by Catherine McKenzie

fracturedAbout the Book

Julie Prentice and her family move across the country to the idyllic Mount Adams district of Cincinnati, hoping to evade the stalker who’s been terrorizing them ever since the publication of her bestselling novel, The Murder Game. Since Julie doesn’t know anyone in her new town, when she meets her neighbor John Dunbar, their instant connection brings measured hope for a new beginning. But she never imagines that a simple, benign conversation with him could set her life spinning so far off course.

After a series of misunderstandings, Julie and her family becomes the target of increasingly unsettling harassment. Has Julie’s stalker found her, or are her neighbors out to get her, too? As tension in the neighborhood rises, new friends turn into enemies, and the results are deadly.

Review

I wanted to read Fractured by Catherine McKenzie from the first time that I heard about it. The synopsis and the idea of an author’s stalking intrigued me. In case you didn’t know, there are so many such cases. I did a post sometime back about when readers turn to stalkers based on real life cases of authors being terrorized by readers. You can read it here. Anyway, that is what made me pick this book and I am definitely glad that I did.

The story starts off with Julie moving into a new neighborhood with the hopes of starting a new life away from her stalker. Immediately, certain things start happening that indicate that something is off at the new street. There are  neighbors who are so creepy that reading about them reminded me of Wisteria Lane from the TV Show, Desperate Housewives. If you have watched the show then you know about the odd neighbors, the nosy ones and the ones most likely to have a body buried in the backyard. This created an atmosphere of dread and the creepiness added to the feeling that danger is lurking somewhere in the seemingly nice neighborhood.

The narrators of this story are Julie and John. Julie gives a wonderful perspective of being new in the neighborhood and we get to see things from an outsider’s perspective. On the other hand, John has been in the neighborhood for long and so we get to read about his interactions with Julie as we also get some background of the neighborhood from an insider. In addition, the narration shifts between the present and the past creating a background story to current events and the characters. The author did such a great job with the timelines that they flowed  well and I wasn’t confused by the back and forth. The transition between them was easy and hence easy to follow.

gifI think the characters were very well developed. I found myself rooting for Julie although I sought of wondered if Catherine McKenzie based the character on herself to some extent especially on the areas about writing, running and the University she attended. I liked Julie’s narration and the fact that she was a bit of unreliable narrator. It wasn’t easy to tell whether she was being truthful or just lying especially given the reaction from everyone else. I sympathized with her though most of the times. Another character who I really liked despite her weirdness is Cindy. The busybody always on everyone’s case. I kept wondering what I would do if I ever end up with a neighbor like her but at the same time I found myself looking forward to her antics just knowing that drama was on the way as long as she was involved.

Fractured by Catherine McKenzie is a wonderful psychological thriller. It is not fast-paced but it is really well paced. There is a lot going on so there are no dull moments. The anticipation of the big twist is well built over a couple of chapters. It was hard to guess what exactly had happened and to whom it had happened to. This kept me guessing, trying to quickly get to the tragedy. In addition, this is a multilayered story with mystery both in the past and present timelines. I kept wondering what exactly happened in the past and if the characters were telling the truth about the events. The happenings at the present all make everyone in the neighborhood seem like a suspect and I liked the fact that I couldn’t really guess who the villain was.

I recommend this book to all fans of psychological thrillers. It is an interesting story with a wonderfully, creepy neighborhood at the background. It has themes of family, obsession and revenge that make it a compelling read and hence unputdownable. It will also leave you thinking about the big twist trying to figure out why things happened like they did. Fractured is definitely a suspenseful book which I believe fans of this genre will enjoy.

I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange of an honest opinion.

About the Book

  • Title: Fractured
  • Author: Catherine McCkenzie
  • Paperback, 360 pages
  • Expected publication: October 4th 2016 by Lake Union
  • My Rating: 5 Stars

 

16 comments on “ARC Review: Fractured by Catherine McKenzie

  1. caffeinatious
    September 8, 2016

    I read this last month and love it!! Great review! 🙂

    • Diana
      September 8, 2016

      Thanks and glad to hear that you enjoyed it too 🙂

  2. Donna
    September 8, 2016

    I had not heard about this book. I love stories with neighbors, it must be that nosy side of me, haha! Loved your review. I can’t resist a big twist, so I am adding this to my list!

    • Diana
      September 10, 2016

      Glad to hear that.I liked the neighbours angle too:-) I hope you will enjoy the book as much as I did.Enjoy your weekend.

  3. cleopatralovesbooks
    September 8, 2016

    This sounds right up my street – stalkers make a great basis for a story, even more so when it’s an author they are stalking

    • Diana
      September 10, 2016

      I hope that you will enjoy it when you get to read it.I didn’t know about author-stalking until I researched about it sometime back.Always thought all readers are nice 🙂 The angle attracted me to this back though

  4. Julianne
    September 8, 2016

    Sounds like a book I would enjoy. It’s allready on my TBR since last time you wrote about it 🙂 Though, it’s not in any Norwegian stores yet, so I’ll just have to wait.

    • Diana
      September 10, 2016

      Oh I hope that you will get a copy soon.Its really interesting so I hope you will enjoy it once you get to read it

  5. Annie
    September 9, 2016

    I want to read this!!! Love Desperate Housewives 😀

    • Diana
      September 10, 2016

      He he I used to love that show.Sad it ended.I’ve been watching Devious Maids which is the spinoff,interesting but not the same.I hope that you will enjoy this book when you get a chance to read it 🙂

      • Annie
        September 10, 2016

        They canceled Devious Maids 😭😭😭 I’m so sad, I loved it and it ended this season in cliffhanger!

        • Diana
          September 10, 2016

          OMG I didn’t know it was cancelled.I just finished the final episode yesterday wondering where Marisol went or what happened to her.They are cancelling all the good shows.I just heard that Tyrant has also been cancelled.Sad.

          • Annie
            September 10, 2016

            I just wanted Genevieve and Evelyn to be happy 😃 And they were!

  6. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up :September/October TBR | A Haven for Book Lovers

  7. Pingback: WWW-Wednesday #November 16th | A Haven for Book Lovers

  8. Pingback: Book Review: The Murder Game by Julie Apple (Catherine McKenzie) | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2016 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , , .
