A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

ARC Review: Wrecked by Maria Padian

wreckedAbout the Book

Everyone has heard a different version of what happened that night at MacCallum College. Haley was already in bed when her roommate, Jenny, arrived home shell-shocked from the wild Conundrum House party. Richard heard his housemate Jordan brag about the cute freshman he hooked up with. When Jenny formally accuses Jordan of rape, Haley and Richard find themselves pushed onto opposite sides of the school’s investigation. But conflicting interests fueling conflicting versions of the story may make bringing the truth to light nearly impossible–especially when reputations, relationships, and whole futures are riding on the verdict.

Review

Have you ever read a book that is so wonderful that you just want to stay with it and sort of protect it from any negative reviews because of how precious it is? No? Yes? Well, I have and this is one of those books.

Wrecked by Maria Padian is a tough read. Don’t get me wrong, it is wonderfully written of course but it also has a heavy theme. I have read a number of books about rape but nothing like this. This book deals with a different kind of rape (I hope it is okay to describe it that way). It is still rape but not the kind people talk about often. A girl goes to a party and ends up getting raped.In addition, there’s a guy bragging about ‘hooking up’ with her.

The story is narrated from two perspectives. The author also used a third narrator sort of an omnipresent view of the events that took place the night of the incident. Haley is one of the narrators. She is the roommate of the rape victim, Jenny. Haley is thrown into the middle of the case as she tries to support her friend. On the other hand, there is Richard who is on the other side. Although not the one accused of the rape, he is roommates with the accused. I liked the fact that the two narrators were of opposite genders because this helped give a look at the incident from both male and female perspectives. It brought out so many differences about the perspectives and I think this is something that happens in real life especially in cases of gender and sexual violence.

There is another twist surrounding the relationship between the two narrators who meet without knowing each other’s involvement in the case. I can’t say more than that without spoiling the book for those who haven’t read it yet. However, there are two story-lines that run concurrently and that brought such conflicting feels from me.

Wrecked by Maria Padian is a powerful read. The language and narration style is simple in a way that makes the story have a nice and easy flow. I read the whole book in just one night although I ended up staying up quite late. It’s the kind of book that draws you in and makes you want to keep reading to the last page.

I feel like this is the kind of book that everyone should read especially those in Uni and high school. I don’t think many people take the issue as serious as it should be taken. In most cases the victim is blamed for getting too drunk and I know that most cases go unreported because the victim feels ashamed and may also blame themselves.

The book has a heavy theme but as I said, there are two story-lines and the other one is so cute although it doesn’t take the focus from Jenny’s case. Nevertheless, I loved the idea of the story-lines because it made the book less depressing/overwhelming while providing the two perspectives.

Wrecked is definitely one of the most powerful YA books that I have ever read that tackle the issue of sexual assault. It evoked so many different emotions from me throughout the story. I was angered and disgusted by some characters while I sympathized with others. This is a gut wrenching story that broke my heart but at the same time, it is one of those books that I will read again and then tell everyone about.

I recommend this book to everyone.

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange of an honest opinion. I am also grateful to Jill of Rant Rave about Book for putting this book on my radar since I first heard about it from her. You can read her Rave review of the book here.

About the Book

  • Title: Wrecked
  • Author: Maria Padian
  • Hardcover, 368 pages
  • Expected publication: October 4th 2016 by Algonquin Young Readers
  • Rating: 5 Stars
14 comments on “ARC Review: Wrecked by Maria Padian

  1. rantandraveaboutbooks
    September 8, 2016

    Great review! I’m so glad my recommendation is the reason you decided to read this book. I agree with you completely. By the end, it had me thinking that sometimes there really are two sides to a story. With all the news coverage on this lately, it seemed even more relevant and important for me to read.

    • Diana
      September 9, 2016

      Thanks once again for the recommendation.Yeah the book is timely.At least there conversations about the issue in other parts of the world especially with the controversial case in the states.I wish there were more such conversations where I am though so that such incidents can be more known and victim shaming/blaming can stop.Thanks for stopping by and for the comment.

  2. kirstyandthecatread
    September 8, 2016

    Brilliant review. Rape is a subject pretty close to my heart personally, because of this I tend to avoid novels written about the topic but recently I’ve been interested in picking something up. Do you feel the topic was handled senstively and realisticly?

    • Diana
      September 9, 2016

      I get what you mean.I think that’s why I was drawn to this book.Its YA but I do believe that it was handled really well.Perhaps check it out when you get a chance.

      • kirstyandthecatread
        September 9, 2016

        I think I will I’ve added it to my goodreads so I don’t forget about it.

  3. Lilyn G. (Sci-Fi & Scary)
    September 9, 2016

    Solid review.

    • Diana
      September 9, 2016

      Thank you Lilyn. Its a wonderful book:-)

  4. Annie
    September 9, 2016

    Awesome review, so glad you like it! I don’t usually read YA, but I’d read this one!

    • Diana
      September 10, 2016

      I hope that you will like it too.Its a really good read.

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up :September/October TBR | A Haven for Book Lovers

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I’ve Read because of Another Blogger | A Haven for Book Lovers

  7. Pingback: Book Review: A Mother’s Confession by Kelly Rimmer | A Haven for Book Lovers

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Thank You | A Haven for Book Lovers

  9. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Holiday Gift Guide freebie | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 8, 2016 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged .
