A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Friday Finds #September 9th

Friday Finds is a meme currently hosted by Jenn at Books and a BeatThis is an opportunity to share the books that you have recently found and added to your TBR.

 I only have two new additions to my TBR this week. These are books that I have been seeing around blogosphere and was lucky enough to get them.

light-we-cannot-seeAll the Light we cannot see by Anthony Doerr

Larie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her way home. When she is twelve, the Nazis occupy Paris and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure’s reclusive great-uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum’s most valuable and dangerous jewel.

In a mining town in Germany, the orphan Werner grows up with his younger sister, enchanted by a crude radio they find. Werner becomes an expert at building and fixing these crucial new instruments, a talent that wins him a place at a brutal academy for Hitler Youth, then a special assignment to track the resistance. More and more aware of the human cost of his intelligence, Werner travels through the heart of the war and, finally, into Saint-Malo, where his story and Marie-Laure’s converge.

it ends with usIt ends with us by Colleen Hoover

 Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

Have you read these books yet? What did you think about them? And have you added any books to your bookshelf this week? Let me know.

 Happy Friday!

 

 

13 comments on “Friday Finds #September 9th

  1. Bathtime Reads
    September 9, 2016

    All the Light We Cannot See is a beautiful read!

    • Diana
      September 9, 2016

      Thank you for mentioning that. I can’t wait to read it:-)

  2. rosemawrites
    September 9, 2016

    All the Light We Cannot See is a lengthy yet WORTH-EVERY-SECOND-OF-READING book! ❤ I love it a looooooooooooot!!! ❤

    • Diana
      September 9, 2016

      Oh wow, glad to hear that. Yeah my version has 1073 pages but I am happy to hear that it is worth it.Thanks for letting me know:-)

      • rosemawrites
        September 9, 2016

        I am happy to tell you and promise you that it will be worth it. 😉 ❤ Please tell me once you're done. 😉 Happy reading!

  3. mreadsbooks
    September 9, 2016

    All The Light We Cannot See has been sitting on my tbr for quite a while already, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. I’m looking forward to hear what you think about it!

    • Diana
      September 9, 2016

      I have heard good things about it so I have such high expectations.I will share my review as soon as I’m through with it.Thanks for stopping by.Enjoy your weekend.

  4. laurelrainsnow
    September 9, 2016

    I LOVED It Ends with Us…read it earlier this week. Thanks for sharing, and for visiting my blog.

    • Diana
      September 10, 2016

      Thanks Laurel.Your review convinced me to get the book.I can’t wait to read it soon.Have a lovely weekend.

  5. Annie
    September 9, 2016

    All the light we cannot see is so great 😀 I hope you like it

    • Diana
      September 10, 2016

      I really can’t wait to read it.Everyone who has read it seems to have really enjoyed it.Thanks for the endorsement 🙂

  6. cleopatralovesbooks
    September 9, 2016

    I read All the Light We Cannot See last year and really enjoyed it although it was slower paced than I expected but full of imagery.

    • Diana
      September 10, 2016

      I can’t wait to read it:-) ,Glad to hear that enjoyed it despite the slow pace.Thanks for stopping by.Enjoy your weekend.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 9, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Friday Finds and tagged .
