A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

The Woman in Cabin 10Book Description

In this tightly wound story, Lo Blacklock, a journalist who writes for a travel magazine, has just been given the assignment of a lifetime: a week on a luxury cruise with only a handful of cabins. At first, Lo’s stay is nothing but pleasant: the cabins are plush, the dinner parties are sparkling, and the guests are elegant. But as the week wears on, frigid winds whip the deck, gray skies fall, and Lo witnesses what she can only describe as a nightmare: a woman being thrown overboard. The problem? All passengers remain accounted for—and so, the ship sails on as if nothing has happened, despite Lo’s desperate attempts to convey that something (or someone) has gone terribly, terribly wrong…

Review

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware is a fast-paced psychological thriller. It starts off with suspense when the main character, Lo is attacked at home. This was unexpected because based on the blurb; I had assumed that everything takes place on the cruise ship. However, I think the first chapter is what drew me in to the narrative even more. If you have been following my blog for a while, you may have read my updates on the burglary that occurred at my apartment. I could relate to Lo’s feelings of fear and helplessness as someone broke into her apartment. Anyway, back to the book. The first chapter definitely had me hooked.

The story is narrated from Lo’s perspective. We get to unravel the mystery at the same time as she does. As much as I liked her, she really frustrated me at times. However, it was still interesting to find out things at the same time as she did. This heightened the tension as it was clear that something was dead wrong and there was danger on the cruise ship.

My favorite part of this book was the setting.

“I love ports. I love the smell of tar and sea air, and the scream of the gulls. Maybe it’s years of taking the ferry to France for summer holidays, but a harbor gives me a feeling of freedom in a way that an airport never does. Airports say work and security checks and delays. Ports say… I don’t know. Something completely different. Escape, maybe.”Ruth Ware, Woman in Cabin 10

The idea of a group of people trapped in a ship without knowing whether they were in danger or not heightened the tension. At first, I got lost in the setting with the description of the beautiful ship and the amazing view of the ocean. I think I stopped reading at some point just to day dream about being on a cruise ship. Lo’s description of the ship made me want to go on a cruise so bad. However, when things started going wrong, I realized just how confining that space is. The whole idea of being at sea, away from everyone else with no internet or any other connection with the rest of the world and a killer on board added to the eerie atmosphere of the book.

The narration style was also pretty good. The tension built chapter by chapter. The twists were so many and so were the suspects. I couldn’t guess what was going on and who the culprits were until the big reveal was made. I also liked the social media angle which was part of the second story-line. The social media posts gave hints of something tragic happened at the ship. This story-line was ahead of the current events so it made me more anxious to find out just how the events would unfold.

Final Thoughts: I definitely enjoyed reading The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware. If you like mysteries and thrillers then you should definitely read this one. The twists and turns had me at the edge of my seat up to the last page.

Atmospheric and suspenseful to the last page!

My Rating: 5 Stars!

Ps: If you know of any other books set on trains, planes or ships, please let me know.

13 comments on “Book Review: The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

  1. Donna
    September 10, 2016

    I’m never going on a cruise! 🙂 I hate the idea of being stuck on the water. But this makes for a good setting for a psychological thriller. I’m glad you enjoyed it

    • Diana
      September 11, 2016

      Thanks Donna.I have always wanted to go on a cruise but this book gave me serious claustraphobia just by reading it 🙂 If I ever go on a cruise,I bet I’ll be thinking about this.It was quite a thrilling read though.

  2. Carrie
    September 12, 2016

    I need to read this one… Have been on 6 cruises and soon a 7th so reading how the author portrays being on a cruise ship is almost more appealing than the thriller side of the story.

    • Diana
      September 13, 2016

      I am so jealous! I have never been on a cruise but I hope to go on at least one. Let me know what you think about the book once you read it.

      • Carrie
        September 14, 2016

        You should definitely give it a try. One of the best vacations out there, tons to do on the ship and get to visit several nice places too. 🙂

  3. Annie
    September 12, 2016

    This book has been everywhere 😀 I still have it on my TBR XD Great review ^^

    • Diana
      September 13, 2016

      Thanks Annie. I guess it was really hyped even pre-release. I hope that you will enjoy it when you get to it.

  4. SnazzyBooks
    September 12, 2016

    I really enjoyed this one too! Definitely atmospheric and fun to read 😊 Great review x

    • Diana
      September 13, 2016

      Thanks and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed it too:-)

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Psychological Thrillers | A Haven for Book Lovers

  6. Ali (@thebandarblog)
    September 21, 2016

    I had not realized what this book was about before. The summary totally grabs me – it sounds awesome! I am not a huge thriller fan, but whenever they get as popular as one like this (or Girl on the Train), then they tend to be written in a way that I know I’ll love (if that makes sense? Like, it passed the test of extreme popularity). I DEFINITELY want to read this book now, especially considering how much you liked it!

    Ali @ the bandar blog

  7. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up :September/October TBR | A Haven for Book Lovers

  8. Pingback: Book Review: The Killing Game by J. S. Carol | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 10, 2016 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , , .
