A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

ARC Review: Cover Me in Darkness by Eileen Rendahl

Blurb

coverAmanda Sinclair has to fight harder than most for everything she has after fleeing the cult that left her brother dead at her mother’s hand. Amanda works a quiet job in quality control for a small cosmetics company, trying to leave her past behind her—until she learns that her mother has committed suicide in the mental ward where she’s been locked away for the past ten years.

At first, Amanda believes that her mother killed herself, but when she looks through the personal belongings left behind, it seems her death may be related to the upcoming parole hearing for cult leader Patrick Collier. Teaming up with her mother’s psychologist, Amanda starts to peel away the layers of secrets that she’s built between herself and her own past, and what she finds is a truth that’s almost too big to believe.

Review

Cover me in Darkness by Eileen Rendahl is a fast paced thriller. It starts off with the murder of Amanda’s mother as mentioned with the blurb. It is immediately clear that something is off and the mystery starts then. At the background of the current mystery, it is apparent that there is some cultic involvement and I was definitely intrigued enough wanting to find out what was going on and how the cult fit into all of it. As a matter of fact, the cultic aspect is one of the main reasons why I picked this book. That and the cover!

Amanda is the protagonist and we get to learn about the events from her perspective. Her narration shifts between past and present providing a background to current events. I haven’t read a book with a single narrator in a while and so this was quite refreshing. The narration style had a simple flow to it with short chapters and adequate dialogue hence making it easy to read and enjoy. I liked Amanda’s character and could easily empathize with her. I also liked her determination to unravel the mysteries around her. She was a strong, likeable female protagonist.

The story is quite suspenseful from the first to the last page. I wasn’t able to guess the identity of the villain until the final chapters. The book also had quite a number of twists that kept me at the edge of my seat.

I also liked the fact that there were two mysteries taking place at the same time. There is the mystery surrounding Amanda’s mother and then there is another one taking place at Amanda’s place of work when she discovers anomalies on some test results at the lab where she works. It was interesting to see how both mysteries were eventually resolved.

The cultic angle of the story also intrigued me. I recently read The Girls by Emma Cline and have since been drawn to books that feature cults. I have always wondered how cults work. From the outside, the whole thing seems ridiculous. The idea of a person with such a pull and ability to manipulate people into doing all sort of things seems improbable and yet it is not. There is a chapter in the book whereby Amanda narrates on how the cult used to recruit members. She mentions the characteristics of the likely members and I guess this explained to me some of the reasons why people join cults. Anyway, this angle was intriguing and it added to the eeriness of the story.

I guess the only think that I didn’t like about this book was the aspect of the police/investigators not believing Amanda. I just feel like this is such a cliché. The police not believing the protagonists’ claims have been done so many times in almost all thrillers. This was a minor issue though so it didn’t stop me from enjoying the book.

I recommend Cover Me in Darkness by Eileen Rendahl to all fans of mysteries and thrillers. It’s a great, fast-paced, suspenseful novel which I believe fans of this genre will enjoy.

I received this book for review from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

About the book

  • Title: Cover me in Darkness
  • Author: Eileen Rendhall
  • Paperback, 288 pages
  • Expected publication: December 8th 2016 by Midnight Ink
  • My Rating: 4 stars
4 comments on “ARC Review: Cover Me in Darkness by Eileen Rendahl

  1. rantandraveaboutbooks
    September 15, 2016

    Nice review! This sounds like something I would like. And I also like when the author shifts from past and present to give you a little more mystery about what’s really happening. I was always intrigued by the Charles Manson cult/commune and I’m pretty sure that’s what The Girls is about, so I’m adding this one to my TBR. 🙂

  2. Annie
    September 15, 2016

    A CULT? Noooo, Dianaaa, don’t tempt me!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Diana
      September 16, 2016

      ‘ Read me.’whispers the book 🙂

  3. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up :September/October TBR | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2016 by in Bookish Post.
