A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #September 14th

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words.img_1384-0

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

Monday was a public holiday in Kenya and so we had a long weekend and since I was at home, I managed to get some reading done. Here are the 4 books that I read in the past week:

After she’s gone by Lisa Jackson- (3 stars)You can read my review here.

Fear Stalks the Bayou by Juanita Coulson- (3.5 stars)Here’s my review.

Cover me in Darkness by Eileen Rendahl- 4 stars

Land of Careful Shadows by Suzanne Chazin- 3.5 stars.

it ends with us

Currently Reading

It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover- This book is making me so happy. I can’t remember the last time that a book made me smile so much. I look forward to getting home from work so that I can read more chapters.

Update: So I scheduled  this post yesterday. As mentioned above, I went home last night and spent the whole evening reading the book. It wasn’t what I expected. It made me so sad. I cried so much and generally ended up having a depressing evening. This book has affected me so much. It tackled a heavy topic that unfortunately, I can relate with. Beautiful book but one of the saddest that I have ever read. An important book though. I will read the epilogue during my lunch break today so the review will be up soon.

 

Reading Next

Kept Woman by Karin Slaughter

Home Going by Yaas Gyasi

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

I hope that I will be able to read all three books or at least the first two.NetGalley Update: I have finally attained the 80% feedback ratio. I only have five books remaining on my shelf so the pressure has reduced and I have time to read other books on my TBR.

So how about you, any interesting books that you have read lately? What are you reading now? What do you plan on reading next? Feel free to leave your WWW links in the comments section.

43 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #September 14th

  1. Emily Witt
    September 14, 2016

    Your comments about Colleen Hoover’s book have certainly piqued my interest. I have been meaning to check out some of her books for a while now.

    Congrats on reaching the 80% ratio! It is a good feeling.

    Here’s my post this week: https://keysandopenmind.wordpress.com/2016/09/14/www-wednesday-13-september-2016-2/

    • Diana
      September 14, 2016

      Thanks you Emily. I was really excited to hit that 80%, it has definitely reduced some of the pressure that I have been feeling. I hope that you will enjoy the Coleen Hoover book that you decide to pick. Thanks for stopping by. Heading over to your post now.

  2. alextheshadowgirl
    September 14, 2016

    I’m so glad you’re liking It Ends with us! It made me happy as well 🙂

    • Diana
      September 14, 2016

      Thanks you so much. It is one of the saddest books that I have ever read but quite a beautiful and important read. Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading 🙂

      • alextheshadowgirl
        September 14, 2016

        And when I understood why CoHo titled this book It ends with us, it was like being hit by a bus of emotions

    • Diana
      September 14, 2016

      Yeah…I get what you mean about the title.It was the perfect fit.The epilogue was just as heartbreaking as the book.Finding out her relation to it all.Wow,quite an emotional rollercoaster

  3. Donna
    September 14, 2016

    Because of a request spree, I’m down to a 56% ratio on NetGalley 😂 I will devote the next weeks entirely to ARCs and then will stay away for good as the semester won’t let me much time to do anything else than study. I guess the answer to staying away from arcs is a real busy schedule!
    I have seen It Ends With Us everywhere and all the reviews are raving about it. I have never read anything from CoHo so I’m keeping this one in mind.
    I hope you enjoy Jane Eyre, one of the two classics I’ve enjoyed, haha.
    Happy reading!

    • Diana
      September 14, 2016

      okay, now you have to tell me. Which is the second classic? I am really excited about Jane Eyre.I have already gotten it from the library.

      I have only read one other book by CoHo, November 9. Its was an interesting read though a bit fluffy and YA. It ends with us is quite different and sort of dark. If you ever decide to read one of her books the I recommend that you start with this one.

      All the best with the ARCs:-)

  4. Clare Stone
    September 14, 2016

    I remember hitting 80% on Netgalley! I felt so relieved/proud of myself! Well done! I have It Ends With Us on my shelf but I am a bit nervous to read it, think I will have to be in the right mindset when I do!
    Here’s my WWW Wednesday

    • Diana
      September 14, 2016

      I hope that you will enjoy It Ends with Us when you get to read it. I had gone a little crazy with the NetGalley requests.I joined in July and by September, I had 38 books that were approved so the deadlines and all was a bit overwhelming but now the pressure is definitely off. Thanks for visiting. I am on my way to your post now:-)

  5. Julianne
    September 14, 2016

    Looking forward to your review on Jane Eyre. I haven’t read it myself, but it’s on my TBR 🙂

    • Diana
      September 14, 2016

      I really have high expectations about it. I can’t wait to read it. My review should be up soon afterwards. Thanks Julianne:-)

  6. Catherine @ Book Club Librarian
    September 14, 2016

    Nice line up of books. I need to check out the Hoover book to see what all the buzz is about.

    Here’s my WWW: http://www.bookclublibrarian.com/2016/09/www-wednesday.html

    • Diana
      September 14, 2016

      I hope that you will enjoy Hoover’s book if you decide to read it. It is such a wonderful read. Thanks for the link. I am on my way to your post now:-)

  7. sarinalangerwriter
    September 14, 2016

    You got through four books in one week! :O What’s your secret?

    I read a lot of Karin Slaughter when I was younger but haven’t read her books in years! I really enjoyed them, but since I don’t read much crime they fell aside.
    It’s great that It Ends with us affected you so much, but I’m sorry to hear it ruined an evening and that it made you sad. The best books are the ones that get an emotional response from us – I’m just sorry it was a painful one in this case.

    Thanks for visiting my WWW! Happy reading! 🙂

    • Diana
      September 14, 2016

      My secret is NetGalley deadlines:-) The four books were almost expiring. Yeah, I kept getting that notice for 3, 2, 1 days to go before expiration so I had to read them as soon as I got time because I would have felt guilty if they expired and dissapeared before I read and reviewed them considering I had gotten them for review.

      I have never read anything by Karin Slaughter so I am excited about The Kept Woman. I agree with you about emotional reads. Its been a while since I’ve read anything so emotional. I loved the book but now I need a break:-)

      Thank you so much for stopping by. Happy Reading:-)

  8. Kee The Reader
    September 14, 2016

    You have some interesting books on this. I can’t wait to read It Ends With Us. Here’s mine http://wp.me/p7KAUt-4B

    • Diana
      September 14, 2016

      I hope that you will enjoy it when you get to read it.Thanks for stopping by.On my way to your post now.

      Happy reading.

  9. ahouseofbooks
    September 14, 2016

    You have been busy! I have stopped requesting on NetGalley as I got so behind with my reviews and then felt guilty!

    Here is my post for the day: https://ahouseofbooks.wordpress.com/2016/09/14/this-week-in-books-14-september-2016/

    • Diana
      September 14, 2016

      NetGalley has some pressures.I hope to take a break from the site soon.The deadlines can be overwhelming. For instance all the 4 books that I read last week were due this Monday.Its my fault for requesting so many books but still…..

      Thanks for stopping by.On my way to your post now.Happy reading.

      • ahouseofbooks
        September 14, 2016

        Yes I’m guilty of requesting far too many books from there! Definitely need to take a break from it. Thanks for stopping by!

  10. mreadsbooks
    September 14, 2016

    Yay, that is awesome! Congrats on getting the 80%! And yay for getting so much reading done over the last week as well! 🙂
    Here’s my post:
    https://mreadsbooks.wordpress.com/2016/09/14/www-wednesday-what-are-you-currently-reading-2/

    • Diana
      September 14, 2016

      Thank you.It feels great to attain ratio and the pressure has definitely reduced now.Thanks for stopping by.On my way to your post now.Happy Wednesday!

  11. Lekeisha The Booknerd
    September 14, 2016

    I want to try It Ends With Us to see if I’ll enjoy it. I understand the heavy issues between the pages but I’ve read so many mixed reviews about how the actual story is executed. I’m glad you love it. Homecoming is in my Amz cart, which I hope to hit the purchase button on soon.

    • Diana
      September 14, 2016

      I guess I really liked It Ends with Us because of the topic.I didn’t know what to expect when I started reading it so it caught me offguard and having experience on this issue,the book spoke to me(I hope that makes sense).I hope that you will like the book too.Its a solid read.I am excited about Homegoing.I hope it will be a great read for you if you decide to get

  12. Laurel-Rain Snow
    September 14, 2016

    I enjoyed After She’s Gone…and LOVED It Ends with Us. I’m ogling The Kept Woman. Lots of goodies here, Diana…and here’s MY WWW POST

    • Diana
      September 15, 2016

      Thanks Laurel. Your review on It Ends with Us convinced me that I needed to read it and I am definitely glad that I did. Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading:-)

  13. girlandworld
    September 14, 2016

    Nice

  14. faithrivens
    September 14, 2016

    Congrats on hitting the 80% ration on NetGalley. Turns out I’m rather terrible when it comes to that so I’ve staved myself off.
    It Ends With Us sounds like an astounding novel. It’s amazing how its affected you so. I’m sorry that it left you sad, but the fact that it resonated with you must be a sign of a great book.
    Happy Reading and good luck getting through the three of them! I’m glad to see Jane Eyre there 😉 I hope you enjoy it!

    • Diana
      September 15, 2016

      Thanks Faith. I have such high expectations with Jane Eyre and I want to read it when everything is just right so I hope to start on it this weekend. It Ends with us broke my heart but its definitely one of my best books for this year. I get what you mean about NetGalley. I have had to limit my requests to only 3 books per month so this month I requested for 3 but only got 2 approved which is okay.

      Happy reading.

  15. Bathtime Reads
    September 14, 2016

    I’m on a NetGalley requesting ban to give myself time to actually read all the books waiting for me. I just get too excited when good books come up and forget that I probably haven’t got time to read them straight away!

    I think I’ll definitely have to read It Ends With Us, your description of it is great. 🙂

    My WWW: https://bathtimereads.wordpress.com/2016/09/14/www-wednesday-14th-september-2016/

    • Diana
      September 15, 2016

      I need a NetGalley requesting ban too but its so hard to stop myself from requesting. I am definitely working on slowing down though:-)

      I hope that you will enjoy It Ends with Us when you read. Its a wonderful, powerful read. Thanks for the link. Happy reading:-)

  16. ChrissiReads
    September 14, 2016

    I absolutely loved It Ends With Us. Such a special book. 🙂

    • Diana
      September 15, 2016

      Glad to hear that you loved it too. I agree. It is a special book:-)

  17. cleopatralovesbooks
    September 14, 2016

    First of all congratulations on your NG status – the less pressure the better. Sorry to hear that although you loved It Ends With Us that it upset you so much…. and well done on having such a varied book week.

    • Diana
      September 15, 2016

      Thanks Cleo. I loved It Ends with Us despite the fact that it broke my heart. Its definitely a memorable book. Thanks for stopping by. Happy reading:-)

  18. Sam
    September 15, 2016

    I’m sorry Hoover’s book ended up being so depressing! I’m always surprised when books take a turn like that. It seems that you liked it, though, which is good. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • Diana
      September 15, 2016

      I definitely liked CohO’s book despite all the sadness it brought me:-) Thanks for hosting us. Have a wonderful week:-)

  19. charliegirlteachergirl
    September 15, 2016

    Woot! Look at you go! What a great reading week!

    • Diana
      September 15, 2016

      It was. Thanks Charlie:-)Have a wonderful week.

  20. Curious Daisy
    September 15, 2016

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 14, 2016 by in Bookish Post and tagged , , .
