A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Friday Finds #September 16th

Friday Finds is a meme currently hosted by Jenn at Books and a BeatThis is an opportunity to share the books that you have recently found and added to your TBR.

 I only have three new additions to my TBR this week. The last two books are from NetGalley. I reached the 80% feedback ratio and figured that I deserved at least two new books before banning myself from the site for a while(I hope).

summer The Summer that Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel

Fielding Bliss has never forgotten the summer of 1984: the year a heat wave scorched Breathed, Ohio. The year he became friends with the devil.

Sal seems to appear out of nowhere – a bruised and tattered thirteen-year-old boy claiming to be the devil himself answering an invitation. Fielding Bliss, the son of a local prosecutor, brings him home where he’s welcomed into the Bliss family, assuming he’s a runaway from a nearby farm town.

When word spreads that the devil has come to Breathed, not everyone is happy to welcome this self-proclaimed fallen angel. Murmurs follow him and tensions rise, along with the temperatures as an unbearable heat wave rolls into town right along with him.

As strange accidents start to occur, riled by the feverish heat, some in the town start to believe that Sal is exactly who he claims to be.

While the Bliss family wrestles with their own personal demons, a fanatic drives the town to the brink of a catastrophe that will change this sleepy Ohio backwater forever.

safeSafe with me by K. L Slater

Thirteen years ago someone did something very bad to Anna. Now it’s her turn to get even …

Anna lives a solitary existence, taking solace in order and routine. Her only friend is the lonely old lady next door. She doesn’t like to let people to get too close – she knows how much damage they can do.

Then one ordinary day Anna witnesses a devastating road accident and recognises the driver as Carla, the woman who ruined her life all those years ago. Now it’s Anna’s chance to set things straight but her revenge needs to be executed carefully …

First she needs to get to know Liam, the man injured in the accident. She needs to follow the police investigation. She needs to watch Carla from the shadows…

But as Anna’s obsession with Carla escalates, her own secrets start to unravel. Is Carla really dangerous or does Anna need to worry about someone far closer to home?

 The Girl who stole the apple by Peter Tickler

appleWho can you trust?

Who wants you dead?
They’ll kill for what they think you have.

A little girl dressed in a Snow White costume walks into a shop and steals an apple . . . then the shop blows up. One of the staff, Maggie Rogers, is conveniently out of the shop when all this happens. Maggie turns out to have a past full of secrets and betrayal, and attracts the attention of the police as well as more sinister forces. Maggie and the little girl end up on the run, not knowing who’s on their side or even what their pursuers really want.

Then they seem to have reached the end of the line. Nowhere else to run, nowhere else to hide. Maggie and the little girl face a desperate struggle for survival.

Have you read these books yet? What did you think about it? And have you added any books to your bookshelf this week? Let me know.

 

Happy Friday!

 

 

16 comments on “Friday Finds #September 16th

  1. Megan @ bookslayerReads
    September 16, 2016

    I just got approved for Safe With Me from NetGalley! Looking forward to reading it!

    • Diana
      September 16, 2016

      Yay!Glad to hear that. It looks promising so I hope it will end up being a great read.

  2. Donna
    September 16, 2016

    I requested Safe With Me too 🙂 Even though my poor NetGalley ratio is suffering, haha. I hope you enjoy The Summer That Melted Everything. I loved this book too much I keep pushing it on all my friends.

    • Diana
      September 16, 2016

      I hope that our request will be approved. The book does seem really interesting. I got The Summer that Melted Everything based on your recommendations and Yvo.I couldn’t get it on NetGalley since I was late submitting my request but I bought it after publication. I can’t wait to read it:-)

  3. rantandraveaboutbooks
    September 16, 2016

    Ooh The Girl Who Stole The Apple sounds awesome. That is a good find. I need to add that right now. I was one of the few people who didn’t love The Summer That Melted Everything, despite Donna and Anne’s love for the book. I had a hard time connecting with the writing and the story. I hope you like it. 🙂

    • Diana
      September 22, 2016

      I am so sorry that I missed your comment. I don’t know why it got spammed. I just saw it today in the spam folder.

      The reviews of The Summer that Melted everything convinced me to get the book. I am sorry that you didn’t like it much it though.Checking out your review shortly. Thanks for the visit.

      • rantandraveaboutbooks
        September 22, 2016

        No worries. I’ve ended up in spam folders the past week. It’s happening to a lot of people. I had a hard time connecting with the writing in The Summer That Melted Everything. It’s very dense and slow moving, but a lot of people liked it. 🙂

  4. Annie
    September 16, 2016

    I also requested Safe with me! 😀 And they approved!!! Sounds awesome!

    • Diana
      September 19, 2016

      Glad to hear that. It does sound promising so I hope it will be a good read:-)

  5. Lekeisha The Booknerd
    September 16, 2016

    I have The Summer That Melted Everything and I can’t wait to read it. I am behind on a few books.

    • Diana
      September 19, 2016

      I have heard some good things about it. I hope that you will enjoy it. I can’t wiat to read it too!

  6. Rabia
    September 17, 2016

    Safe With Me seems intriguing.

    • Diana
      September 19, 2016

      It does. I can’t wait to read it:-)

      • Rabia
        September 20, 2016

        Sounds like my kind of book 🙂

  7. Shvyoh
    September 17, 2016

    If ur into fantasy u can try checking out books by Sarah J Maas. Mind blowing stuff

    • Diana
      September 19, 2016

      Thanks for recommendation. I have never read any fantasy novels but will make a point of trying out one of her books.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 16, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Friday Finds and tagged , , .
