A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Book Review: It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

it ends with usAbout the Book

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

Review

I decided to read It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover after seeing it around the blogosphere. Most of the reviewers seem to have enjoyed it so this motivated me to push the book up on my TBR list. The blurb also intrigued me especially since it mentions that this is a personal novel by CoHo. I didn’t quite know what to expect from the book but I was pleasantly surprised.

I really liked the first chapters. I remember reading the book in a bus on my way to work and trying not to smile too hard. The story of how Ryle and Lily met was cute. I was immediately invested in their story and liked the two characters. I also liked the second story-line that takes readers into the past and narrates the story of Lily and Atlas which was also really cute at the start.

However, things turned dark very fast. I know the blurb mentions hurt but I didn’t quite expect this kind of hurt. I went from smiling to crying and having to take breaks between chapters to catch my breath. I couldn’t sleep until I got to the last page. Just when I thought that it was all over, I read the Colleen Hoover’s notes at the end and the tears started again. What a beautiful, powerful story. The meaning of the book title and who ‘us’ refers to is another moving piece of the story.

Lily is the kind of strong, female protagonist that I like. I really liked the fact that she was the narrator in this story. Her POV narration enabled me to go through her journey with her and this heightened the emotional connection to the story and the characters. I also liked the unusual narration style of the past events. I don’t want to give away anything so you will get what I mean if you decide to read this wonderful book.

Fifteen seconds. That’s all it takes to completely change everything about a person. Fifteen seconds that we’ll never get back.

It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover is a wonderful, special book. It is also an important book. I can’t say much about it without posting any spoilers. I can’t even mention the main themes because that would also be  spoilers. I want other readers to experience the book like I did by going in to the story without knowing what to expect. This is quite a memorable book that resonated with me. It reminded me of my own experiences while bringing some insights into experiences that I hadn’t even processed. It’s the kind of book that makes you understand a situation therefore making you more sympathetic to people in the same kind of situation.

I recommend It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover to everyone. It doesn’t matter which book genres you are into. This is the type of book that everyone should read.

My Rating: 5 Stars!

Here are my favorite quotes:

“There is no such thing as bad people. We’re all just people who sometimes do bad things.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

“All humans make mistakes. What determines a person’s character aren’t the mistakes we make. It’s how we take those mistakes and turn them into lessons rather than excuses.”
Colleen Hoover, It Ends with Us

21 comments on “Book Review: It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

  1. Jasmine
    September 17, 2016

    So glad that when you push the book up the TBR list and it ended up to be a really good book 😊 Great review!

    • Diana
      September 19, 2016

      Thanks Jasmine:-) I am definitely glad that I decided to read this one.

  2. faithrivens
    September 17, 2016

    I am entirely convinced! I am going to read this book for sure! Thanks for sharing the review and for being so concerned with not spoiling. I know it will make the experience even more effective!

    • Diana
      September 19, 2016

      I really want everyone to have the same experience that I did when I read this book without prior knowledge. Let me know if you get to read it. Thanks for the comment:-)

  3. thebookishlibra
    September 17, 2016

    Oh wow, this sounds like such a powerful read. Great review!

    • Diana
      September 19, 2016

      It really is. Thanks:-)

  4. Annie
    September 18, 2016

    I don’t know about this book… everyone seems to love it but everyone also loved Me before you and it was just okay for me. Idk if they’re similar but they’re both love stories right? But so glad you loved it 😀

    • Donna
      September 18, 2016

      Here, Annie just said everything I was thinking 😀 (so happy I’m not the only one who thought Me Before You was okay, but nothing spectacular) But if I ever decide to try CoHo, I’ll pick this one!

      • Annie
        September 18, 2016

        Me too 😁

      • Diana
        September 19, 2016

        Let me know when you get to read it. The fact that it was inspired by the author’s own life is probably what drew me to it. It does shade some light into the main theme and makes you really think about victims who end up in similar situations. I hope that you decide to read it someday:-)

    • Diana
      September 19, 2016

      I get what you mean Annie. I’ve felt the same way about a number of books. This is not a love story. I don’t think I would have written the same recommendation for a love story. I can’t give away the themes but its based on CoHo’s life. A bit of a heavy theme and but an important one too. I hope that you decide to read it someday:-)

      • Annie
        September 19, 2016

        Hahaha Now I’m intrigued. Why did I think this was a love story? :O

  5. Pingback: WWW-Wednesday #September 21st | A Haven for Book Lovers

  6. dez | the fun in reading books
    September 21, 2016

    This book is just so powerful and wonderful and I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂 Just reviewed this on my blog too, you can view it here if you want: https://thefuninreadingbooks.wordpress.com/2016/09/21/book-review-it-ends-with-us-by-colleen-hoover/
    Enjoy the rest of your books! 🙂

    • Diana
      September 21, 2016

      It really was a wonderful read. Headed over to your post now to check out your review.

  7. HeartViaPages
    September 27, 2016

    This is one of my top reads for 2016 – despite the controversy and issues surrounding its premise, I loved and devoured it 🙂

  8. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-up :September/October TBR | A Haven for Book Lovers

  9. Pingback: Book Review: A Mother’s Confession by Kelly Rimmer | A Haven for Book Lovers

  10. Pingback: WWW-Wednesday #November 16th | A Haven for Book Lovers

  11. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Thank You | A Haven for Book Lovers

  12. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Holiday Gift Guide freebie | A Haven for Book Lovers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2016 by in Book Review, Bookish Post and tagged , , .
