A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

TTT: Ten Books I want to Listen to on Audio

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by  The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

Today’s instructions were as follows: All About Audio freebie —  aka top ten audiobooks you should listen to, 10 books I want to listen to on audio,10 bands you should check out, 10 podcasts you should be listening to, 10 of my all time favorite albums, 10 songs I love, really whatever you can come up with.

I have never listened to an audio-book.To me it feels like listening to music while not doing anything else so I fear getting bored or losing concentration. Anyway, I hope to listen to my first audio-book sometime soon. This is what I would pick:

Credit: I got the audio book details from http://www.audible.com

Books that I have read

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

  • Narrated by Imogen Church
  • Length: 11 hrs and 8 mins
  • Release Date: 07/19/16

The Girls: A Novel by Emma Cline

  • Narrated by Cady McClain
  • Length: 9 hrs and 44 mins
  • Release Date: 06/14/16

Behind Closed Doors by B. A. Paris

  • Narrated by Georgia Maguire
  • Length: 8 hrs and 23 mins
  • Release Date: 08/09/16

Books on my TBR

The Underground Railroad (Oprah’s Book Club) by Colson Whitehead

  • Narrated by Bahni Turpin
  • Length: 10 hrs and 50 mins
  • Release Date: 08/02/16

Sting by Sandra Brown

  • Narrated by Stephen Lang
  • Length: 11 hrs and 40 mins
  • Release Date: 08/16/16

Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

  • Narrated by Caroline Lee
  • Length: 17 hrs and 27 mins
  • Release Date: 07/26/16

All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel by Anthony Doerr

  • Narrated by Zach Appelman
  • Length: 16 hrs and 2 mins
  • Release Date: 05/06/14

Homegoing: A Novel by Yaa Gyasi

  • Narrated by Dominic Hoffman
  • Length: 13 hrs and 10 mins
  • Release Date: 06/07/16

The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

  • Narrated by Polly Stone
  • Length: 17 hrs and 26 mins
  • Release Date: 02/03/15

A Book That I want to read and maybe listen to

before.jpgBefore the Fall by Noah Hawley

  • Narrated by Robert Petkoff
  • Length: 12 hrs and 59 mins
  • Release Date: 05/31/16

Do you listen to audiobooks? What do you look for when picking them? Do you consider the narrator or just the book/author? Feel free to leave me your links on the comment sections.

 

Happy Tuesday!

 

23 comments on “TTT: Ten Books I want to Listen to on Audio

  1. doddyaboutbooks
    September 20, 2016

    I love audio books. I have an eye condition which is like an allergic reaction to light. So after looking at screens all day I can barely read text. I also have a long commute and suffer from motion sickness. Hello audiobooks!! I rarely consider the narrator and I generally listen to everything at at least 1.5 speed. It also means I can read while driving, crocheting or doing housework. Genius!

    • Diana
      September 20, 2016

      Great to hear that audio books have served you so well. I will try to listen to one while doing an activity perhaps some house chores.Sorry about the eye condition but I am glad that you found a way around it:-)

  2. Lekeisha The Booknerd
    September 20, 2016

    I would love to listen to The Underground Railroad on audio, but it’s not availabe at my library yet. I do have the ebook checked out so I need to read it before it expires.

    • Diana
      September 20, 2016

      I hope to read the book soon too. I saw it on a post concerning Obama’s TBR and was intrigued by it. I hear there is a TV show based on it too. I hope that you will get the audio someday though.

  3. M @ A Blog Of One's Own
    September 20, 2016

    Lots of books on my tbr there! 😀 I’m really not one for audiobooks though :/
    I went with songs for this week’s TTT, so if you want to check it out, here’s the link:
    https://mreadsbooks.wordpress.com/2016/09/20/ttt-2-songs-inspired-by-books/

    • Diana
      September 20, 2016

      I am yet to try out an audiobook so not sure if I will be a fan either:-) On my way to check out your post now. Thanks for the visit.

  4. thebookishlibra
    September 20, 2016

    I don’t really do much with audiobooks, but ALL of these books are on my TBR so I love this list. I really need to get my hands on Homegoing soon. I keep hearing so many great things about that book.

    • Diana
      September 20, 2016

      I am just a book away from reading Home-going. I borrowed Jane Eyre from the library so I have to read that first. I can’t wait also. I hope that you will get a copy soon. Thanks for the visit:-)

  5. Charlotte Graham
    September 20, 2016

    I used to listen to the occasional audio book while relaxing in a bubble bath, but the idea of listening to one while driving scares me that I would get distracted. That said, I know a lot of people who have long commutes to work and enjoy audio books.

    • Diana
      September 21, 2016

      The bubble bath idea sounds great.Though I think I may fall asleep ther.It sounds relaxing.Yeah, there are people who do that. I have seen that especially with people who listen to motivational books while driving.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting:-)

  6. Lilyn G. (Sci-Fi & Scary)
    September 20, 2016

    I love audio books, but I’m really really REALLY picky about narrators. For the most part, if it’s a girl narrating it, I generally won’t even consider it. I’m much more inclined to give the audio book version of a book a chance if it’s got a good narrator rather than picking up the actual book (if its outside my genre preferences.) My TTT

    • Diana
      September 21, 2016

      That is interesting. It makes me want to try out different narrators and genres that I don’t usually read just to see how the experience will be. My main fear with audio-books is losing concentration. My mind tends to wander a lot. I hope to give it a try someday soon though. Thanks for the link. I am heading to your post now.

  7. ChrissiReads
    September 20, 2016

    I want to read some of these books. I never seem to have the patience for audiobooks!

    • Diana
      September 21, 2016

      I hope that you will enjoy the books that you decide to read. I have never listened to an audio-book so I am not even sure how I will feel about it. I hope to listen my first one by the end of the year:-)

  8. cleopatralovesbooks
    September 20, 2016

    I find listening to audio books really hard – I gave them a really good try earlier this year while walking and I’m ok with fairly light books but anything deeper I find I miss bits because I don’t concentrate in the same way as I do when I read – you’ve got some fab choices though – I’ve read a few of these!

    • Diana
      September 21, 2016

      That has always been my fear with audio-books. I think that I may end up losing concentration and missing parts. Reading is one of the activities that usually gets my whole attention. I tend to miss parts of movies and TV Shows sometimes because of my mind wandering. I will give audio-books a try someday though to see how it goes. Thanks for the comment:-)

  9. Annie
    September 20, 2016

    OMG, 17 hours listening to a book? 😄 Haven’t tried them but I don’t know if I could do it… I’m afraid it will happen the same that Cleo (above) says…

    • Diana
      September 21, 2016

      I get what you mean. That is my fear too. It just won’t be the same as reading.I will probably start thinking about some other stuff or fall asleep while listening to the book.I hope to try listening to one audio-book someday though 🙂

      That 17 hours narration sounds too long though lol

      • Annie
        September 21, 2016

        IT’s ALMOST A FULL DAY haha I need to try it, but I don’t know when 😄

  10. rosemawrites
    September 23, 2016

    i so love All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale. I have not Liane’s new book and am excited to finally read it! 😀 nice selections, Diana!

    • Diana
      September 23, 2016

      Thank you. I can’t wait to them:-)

  11. Anastasia
    September 26, 2016

    I’m pretty bad at listening audio books. I prefer reading because I read much faster than listen to books. So far have listened to two: Great Gatsby & On the Road, they were really good 🙂 have to listen more at some point.

    • Diana
      September 26, 2016

      Glad to hear that you’ve heard some good experiences with audio-books though. I am a bit hesitant about trying them out but maybe someday I will:-)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 20, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top Ten Tuesday and tagged .
