A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #September 28th

 

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @ Taking on a World of Words

wwwTo take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

 

Recently Finished

The Last One by Alexandra Oliva– You can read my review here.

Two Days Gone by Randall Silvis – I read this book last weekend because once again, I received an expiration notification informing me that I had 5 days to read it.

I wrote my review on Monday but on checking the email instructions from NetGalley, I found out that reviews are to be posted at least a month to publication date. I have scheduled mine for December 17th. I have never had to wait that long to post a review before.

Currently Reading

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

I am taking my time  reading this book because one does not simply rush through a classic. I am at 34% but I hope to finish it by Sunday. It is quite interestingly and very beautifully written although sad so far. I tried reading the library copy but ended up really struggling to get through it. I am now reading an e-book version.

Reading Next

Home Going by Yaas Gyasi- This was supposed to be my next read. However, my book club  meeting will take place on October 8th and I have not yet started reading the book for review. So courtesy of the Literary Gems (my book club), this is what I will be reading next:

Cholera

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

 So how about you, what are you reading now? What do you plan on reading next? Feel free to leave your WWW links in the comments section.

29 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #September 28th

  1. Anna @MyBookishDream
    September 28, 2016

    Jane Eyre is my all time favourite classic and I hope you end up enjoying it as much as I did! 🙂

    • Diana
      September 28, 2016

      Thank you. I am enjoying it so far:-)

  2. Julianne
    September 28, 2016

    Can’t wait to read your review of Jane Eyre! Haven’t read it myself yet, but I think I should 🙂

    • Diana
      September 28, 2016

      I think you should read it too:-) I know you like classics and this one has always been quite popular. My review should be up sometime next week:-)

  3. Bathtime Reads
    September 28, 2016

    The Last One sounds really different and great, I’ll definitely add it to my TBR. 🙂

    My WWW: https://bathtimereads.wordpress.com/2016/09/28/www-wednesday-28th-september-2016/

    • Diana
      September 28, 2016

      It was really interesting. I have never read anything dystopian before so I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed it. Thanks for visiting.I’m on my way to your post now:-)

      • Bathtime Reads
        September 28, 2016

        The only dystopian thing I’ve read is The Hunger Games, and this sounds quite similar with the reality TV element.

        • Diana
          September 29, 2016

          Thanks for mentioning that. I have heard about Hunger Games but I thought its fantasy. I am curios about the book/series now:-)

          • Bathtime Reads
            September 29, 2016

            I wouldn’t label it as fantasy at all, it’s really clever and quite realistic dystopia. They’re great, definitely give them a go!

  4. alilovesbooks
    September 28, 2016

    I love Jane Eyre so I hope you enjoy. It does tend to be quite useful getting the ebook as you can look up words without having to go in search of a dictionary. Always good for me when reading classics as there tend to be a few words I’ve never come across before

    • Diana
      September 29, 2016

      Thank you and yes E-Books do have a number of advantages. I also love the fact that they are convenient and I can read them at night like when traveling. Here the buses are usually dark because they don’t leave the lights on during long journeys. Thanks for stopping by:-)

  5. Claire | Art and Soul
    September 28, 2016

    I’m glad you’re enjoying Jane Eyre so far. So much of it is rather sad, but there are other elements coming to balance that out (I will stop there to avoid spoilers!).

    I’m glad you enjoyed The Last One as it was your first dystopian read 🙂

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/09/28/www-wednesday-28th-september-2016/

    • Diana
      September 29, 2016

      Thanks for mentioning that about Jane Eyre. I am enjoying the pace so far but glad to know that other elements are on the way. I have also heard mentions about a Mr. Rochester so I look forward to see what that is all about 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and for the link. Happy reading:-)

  6. Donna
    September 28, 2016

    Wow, we need to wait December to read your review! That’s quite a long time! I have requested books that are being published in 2017 so to avoid this I won’t be reading them until I get closer to the date. Jane Eyre is my second and last classic favorites, haha. I really need to work on classics. It is indeed sad, but so beautifully written (and not too complicated that you have to reread sentences twice and get distracted from the story.) Happy reading!

    • Diana
      September 29, 2016

      Thank you Donna. Yeah, I noticed that Jane Eyre is not as complex as other classics. It does have an easy flow which makes it an enjoyable read.

      My issue with NetGalley is because my books expire 54 days after approval so I have to read them before then in case they get archived on the site and I can’t download them. I think its because I use Aldiko.

      Happy reading to you too:-)

  7. Laurel-Rain Snow
    September 28, 2016

    I’m confused by the NetGalley instructions…you have to post your review a month before release? Or no more than a month?

    It is hard to keep their deadlines in mind, as it is. Some books arrive months ahead…so I’ve been waiting until the release month to read and review.

    Anyway…Two Days Gone looks tempting. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    • Diana
      September 29, 2016

      This is what I got:If you are a blogger, please do not review this title on your blog until a month prior to publication. If you wish to post earlier, please contact us.

      So I think its a month before release. Unfortunately, my books usually expire 54 days after approval so I have to read them before then. I plan on reading the books, reviewing in NetGalley but scheduling my reviews to the indicated time.

      Happy reading and thanks for visiting:-)

  8. faithrivens
    September 28, 2016

    Hope you continue to enjoy Jane Eyre! And I hope that Love in the Time of Cholera proves a good read! I know it’s one I’ve been meaning to read for a while!
    And I’m glad that you enjoyed your first dystopian!
    Happy Reading 🙂

    • Diana
      September 29, 2016

      Thank you so much. Jane Eyre is moving at a slower pace but I really like it so far. Happy reading to you too:-)

  9. Annie
    September 28, 2016

    I wished I belonged to a Book Club! *__*

    Wtf? Why do you have to post the review a month before? I usually publish them in Netgalley as soon as I finish them and schedule it in my blog for around release date. Now I have one arc that’s for June 2017 xDD

    • Diana
      September 29, 2016

      So when do you get to post the review for the June review?

      The book that I read is to be published on January 17th. I use Aldiko for all my NetGalley downloads so usually the books expire in 54 days hence the pressure to read books before expiry. I will copy you though and review it on NetGalley as I wait to post on my blog in December.

      If you were in Kenya then you would have been in my Book Club:-)

      • Annie
        September 29, 2016

        In June! Hahaha Yeah, in Netgalley it’s better to post it before because you decrease the %ratio 😛

        Ohhh, Kenya!! I’ve never been to Africa 😦

  10. Michael J. Miller
    September 28, 2016

    Ooooo…I’ll be excited to hear what you think of ‘Love in the time of Cholera!’

    • Diana
      September 29, 2016

      Thanks Michael. I will start reading it next week so hopefully my review will be up next weekend . Happy reading 🙂

  11. dez | the fun in reading books
    September 28, 2016

    I’m thinking of reading The Last One and I’m really glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

    • Diana
      September 29, 2016

      Thanks. I hope that you will enjoy it when you decide to read it:-)

  12. Yvo
    September 29, 2016

    Both Netgalley reads sound great and I have Homegoing and Love In The Time Of Cholera (although in Spanish) high on my TBR pile. I hope you will enjoy your books this week!

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    • Diana
      September 29, 2016

      Thanks Yvo. I can’t wait to read both books. Happy reading to you too. I am on my way to your post now:-)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 28, 2016 by in Bookish Post.
