A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten of the Vilest Villains in Books

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by  The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

Today’s instructions were as follows: All About The Villains – let’s revisit: top ten favorite/most compelling villains in books, top ten of the most vile villains/bad guys in books, top ten villains I secretly (or not so secretly) love, favorite TV villains, favorite comic book villains, ten “villains” of contemporary lit.

Here are the vilest villains in books that I could think of:

Old Nick in  Room by Emma Donoghue- This is one of the most heartbreaking books that I have ever read. Old Nick is one of the vilest characters that I have ever encountered. He imprisoned a woman in his home-built prison for seven years. He raped her continuously throughout the imprisonment eventually impregnating her. He then continued to rape her with her son locked up in a closet in the same room. What is even worse is that the book was inspired by true events. There are real Old Nick’s out here in the world.

George Harvey in Lovely Bones by Alice SeboldThis man raped and killed Salmon, a young teenage girl and he got away with it. He interacts with the family after murdering their daughter and continues living on their street knowing what he had done.Ugh!

Ryann- Pretty Wicked by Kelly CharronThe newest serial killer in town and she is only 15 years old. Ryann is so cold and calculating although she is one of those villains who are easily likeable.

 

Joe-Hidden Bodies and You by Caroline Kepnes- Joe reminds me of Dexter. The serial killer, who like Ryann, is actually likeable. The guy worked in a bookshop and kept talking about Dan Brown and Stephen King. However, he left quite a body count wherever he went.

Kevin- We Need to Talk about Kevin by Lionel Shriver- A young boy who was also a mass murderer, who hated his mother and is quite un-remorseful. One of the darkest villains of all times.

Silas in Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown- Some say that he was misunderstood. Silas is an albino monk, a devotee of the Catholic organization Opus Dei, who practices severe corporal mortification (he is seen using a metal cilice and flogging himself). His characterization has received a lot of criticism due to the negative portrayal of albinism.

 

Rasheed in A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini- An abusive man who treated his in the worst ways possible. He caused destruction and relished in the pain that he caused. Years after reading the book, I am still hunted by the scene where he forced his wife to chew pebbles.

 Assef in Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini- The boy rapes another boy then decades later as grownup; he decides to rape his victim’s son. Assef is one of the vilest characters of all times.

book thief

 

Death in The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

I liked Death as a narrator. However, the devastation that occurs at Himmel Street broke my heart. I can only blame death for that. An unlikely villain but still… he is death!

 

 

only-daughter

The Villain(s) who shall not be named in Only Daughter by Anna Snoekstra

This book was released in September, 2016 so I won’t reveal who the villain(s) are because that is one of the major twists in the story. These villain(s) are the worst that I have come across in a long time. They are so twisted that I don’t even think Criminal Minds ever brought un-subs close to these terrible humans. I was so shocked by the twists and what the villains were capable of. You have to read the book though to get what I mean.

Finally….

closed doors

Jack in Behind Closed Doors by B. A Paris-Okay, when it comes to psychopaths, this one is in a league of his own.

“‘Fear,’ he whispered. ‘There is nothing quite like it. I love how it looks, I love how it feels, I love how it smells. And I especially love the sound of it.’ I felt his tongue on my cheek. ‘I even love the taste of it.’” Jack in Behind Closed Doors by B. A Paris

Have you read any of these books? Who are the vilest book villains that you can think of? Feel free to leave me your links on the comment sections. Happy Tuesday!

 

 

28 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten of the Vilest Villains in Books

  1. samfalston
    October 4, 2016

    Great post, I’ve added Pretty Wicked and Behind Closed Doors to my tbr list 🙂

    • Diana
      October 4, 2016

      Glad to hear that.They are both great picks especially if you enjoy reading thrillers:-)

  2. rosemawrites
    October 4, 2016

    I still feel hate against Old Nick and George!!!! GRRRRRRRR!!!!
    Great selections, D! ❤

    • Diana
      October 4, 2016

      They were so terrible! Both of them are just horrible characters and it is sad that their characters were inspired by true events.

      Thank you ❤

  3. alilovesbooks
    October 4, 2016

    I felt quite sorry for Silas I have to admit. Yes he was nuts and a fanatic but he was being taken advantage of and twisted by others.

    • Diana
      October 4, 2016

      I get what you mean. His background made him an easy target for manipulation by The Teacher and the rest. I think he committed all the murders because he thought it was the right thing in the eyes of God.

  4. Megan @ bookslayerReads
    October 4, 2016

    I agree that the villains in Only Daughter were pretty screwed up!!

    • Diana
      October 4, 2016

      I didn’t see that coming at all. When the twist was revealed, I had to go back and reread that chapter. Totally screwed up.

  5. Bathtime Reads
    October 4, 2016

    I can’t believe I forgot to put Old Nick and George from The Lovely Bones on my list. I suppose I don’t think the term ‘villain’ really describes the disgusting actions of those two characters.

    My TTT: https://bathtimereads.wordpress.com/2016/10/04/top-ten-tuesday-all-about-the-villains/

    • Diana
      October 5, 2016

      I included Old Nick and George because they were the antagonists, the evil characters in the book hence I think that made them the villains in the stories. Thanks for stopping by. On my way to read your list now:-)

  6. Anastasia
    October 4, 2016

    Old Nick and Assef, didn’t even think of those! Both are so awful. I loved both books though.

    • Diana
      October 5, 2016

      I loved the two books too. They are both unique especially due to the fact that they had child narrators and such heartbreaking stories.

  7. Lisa
    October 4, 2016

    Great list. Room and The Lovely Bones are both devastating reads, and their bad guys definitely rank up there as the worst villains.

    • Diana
      October 5, 2016

      Yes they do. Two wonderful books but with the worst villains ever. Thanks for stopping by:-)

  8. Annie
    October 4, 2016

    So agree with you!!! Might not be able to read Kite Runner now though 😛 Or is it something that’s it’s widely known? It doesn’t matter, with that kind of stuff, it’s better if I don’t read it 😄

    Joe is my favorite villain, because in the first book he was pretty likable.

    The worst of the worst is Jack in BCD. You all know how I feel about him.

    Although I haven’t read We need to talk about Kevin, I watched the film and I decided I never wanted children xDDD (only that day, but still…)

    • Diana
      October 5, 2016

      You need to read The Kite Runner, Annie. The villain is not one of the main characters and he only appears in like two scenes. The story is about Afghanistan and life before and after Taliban rule. Friendship is also one of the main themes. It is a great book, I promise.

      haha Kevin does have that effect on most of us. I need to watch the movie soon:-)

      • Annie
        October 5, 2016

        I know, but it’s one of those books that everyone has read and the hype is so high… 😄

        Ughh… that movie traumatized me. I WARN YOU haha

  9. @lynnsbooks
    October 4, 2016

    Great post with some wonderful reading.
    Lynn 😀

  10. thebookishlibra
    October 5, 2016

    Great list! I especially agree with you about Old Nick from Room.

    • Diana
      October 5, 2016

      Old Nick was terrible just like the man who inspired his character, Josef Fritzl. Thank you for stopping by and commenting:-)

  11. Jamie Wu
    October 5, 2016

    I didn’t think Silas was so vile. I kind of feel sad for him. He was just brainwashed and used by the Teacher. Old Nick on the other hand is definitely one of the vilest filth ever.

    • Diana
      October 13, 2016

      I agree with you on Old Nick. Silas is definitely controversial because of that aspect of him having been manipulated by other people. I didn’t like how his albinism was portrayed in the book though.

  12. Annemieke
    October 7, 2016

    Interesting addition of Death to your list. 🙂

    • Diana
      October 13, 2016

      Thank you. Death was just doing his job but he caused so much devastation:-(

  13. Julianne
    October 11, 2016

    Oh, I was recommended “We need to talk about Kevin” a looong time ago, and I’ve totally forgotten it! Now it’s on my TBR and waiting to be read 🙂

    • Diana
      October 13, 2016

      Its a tough read due to the heavy themes but its a good read too. I hope that you will get a chance to read it soon:-)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 4, 2016 by in Bookish Meme, Bookish Post, Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , .
