A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

WWW-Wednesday #October 5th

This meme is currently hosted by Sam @Taking on a World of Words

www

 

To take part all you need to do is answer the following questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

So here’s my 3 W’s for the week.

Recently Finished

Pretty Wicked by Kelly Charron

Only Daughter by Anna Snoekstra

I decided to take a break from the classic that I have been reading for the past 2 weeks and read some thrillers over the weekend.  They were both really good reads. You can read my review of Pretty Wicked here. My review of Only Daughter will be up on Saturday.

Currently Reading

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte- I have made little progress with this book. I am still lost in long conversations between Rochester and Eyre. This book will definitely feature in my WWW for a week or two more, I think. I am not even giving myself a deadline with it. I will read it for as long as it takes.

However, I have taken another break from reading it to read my Book Club selection because the review meeting is this Saturday afternoon. So I am currently reading: Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

one-christmas-in-paris

Reading Next

One Christmas in Paris by Mandy Baggot

I love the holidays. I especially like movies with Christmas themes and I love, love Christmas Carols. Growing up, my mum loved the Jim Reeves Christmas album which to date I still listen to.It doesn’t matter whether it is  February, July, October, it is always a great time to read a Christmas themed book especially one set in Paris!

I’m dreaming of a white Christmas 
Just like the ones I used to know 
Where the treetops glisten, 
and children listen 
To hear sleigh bells in the snow

Have you read any holiday themed books yet? Do you have any on your TBR?

 

So how about you, any interesting books that you have read lately? What are you reading now? What do you plan on reading next? Feel free to leave your WWW links in the comments section.

23 comments on “WWW-Wednesday #October 5th

  1. 1happywhale
    October 5, 2016

    Only Daughter looks really good, I will have to add it to my TBR… One Christmas in Paris looks like a great Christmassy read! 😉

    I am currently reading The Memory Book by Lara Avery which is a lovely light yet inspirational read! 🙂

    Here is the link to my WWW for this week!
    https://ahappylittlebookworm.wordpress.com/2016/10/05/www-51016/

    Happy Wednesday! 🙂

    • Diana
      October 5, 2016

      Glad to hear that and I hope that you will enjoy Only Daughter when you get to read it. Thank you so much for visiting. I will take a look at The Memory Book, it sounds good. Happy reading and enjoy your Wednesday:-)

      • 1happywhale
        October 10, 2016

        You should definitely check out The Memory Book, it was a great book. I labelled it as ‘light, yet inspirational’ in my post but in truth it is a beautifully written, heart-warming & tear- jerking book. It is certainly inspirational though… 🙂

  2. alilovesbooks
    October 5, 2016

    I’m definitely getting into the holiday spirit and picked up A Christmas Day at the Office by Matt Dunn from NetGalley during the week. It’s quite interesting to read chick lit from a man’s perspective so looking forward to it. I hope you enjoy your upcoming reads.

    • Diana
      October 5, 2016

      That sounds really good and I like the idea of a different perspective. I am yet to read Miracle on 5th Avenue but I am so tempted to add A Christmas Day at the office to my reading list. I have seen that it is available on NetGalley mh…I think I’ll just get it:-) Thanks for mentioning it. Happy Wednesday:-)

      • alilovesbooks
        October 5, 2016

        Woohoo!! My cunning plan to make my netgalley shelf looking better by making everyone else’s worse seems to be working 🙂

  3. Claire | Art and Soul
    October 5, 2016

    I’ve started to think about getting some Christmas books lined up too! 🙂 I hope you enjoy One Christmas in Paris.
    I hope you’re enjoying Jane Eyre even if it’s slow going.
    Thanks for visiting my WWW (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/10/05/www-wednesday-5th-october-2016/) and happy reading!

    • Diana
      October 5, 2016

      Thank you so much. I can’t wait to read One Christmas in Paris. Jane Eyre is okay so far despite the pace. Happy reading and thanks for visiting too:-)

  4. faithrivens
    October 5, 2016

    I’ve always meant to read winter themed books during the Christmas holidays, but I never do! I think I’ll try to make a conscious effort this time around!
    Happy Reading 🙂
    https://aliasfaithrivens.wordpress.com/2016/10/05/www-wednesday-05-10-16/

    • Diana
      October 5, 2016

      I hope that you will find a good holiday book that you will enjoy 🙂 On my way to your post now.Happy reading.

  5. Bathtime Reads
    October 5, 2016

    My main issue with classic novels is the slow pace. I’m not sure I have the patience for them unfortunately!

    Thanks for visiting my WWW earlier 🙂

    • Diana
      October 5, 2016

      Yeah classics are slow paced though some of them are great.I challenged myself to read 3 this year.This is the second one.Thanks for visiting 🙂

  6. Annie
    October 5, 2016

    Are you enjoying Love in the Time of Cholera? Haven’t read that one, only 100 years of solitude (in Spanish, obvs haha)

    • Diana
      October 6, 2016

      Spanish is such a beautiful language. There are few phrases used in the book like ça y est and norveux riches. Is that Spanish or French btw?

      I have a feeling that the Spanish version of this book is more enjoyable though.Anyway, I am currently 13% into the book and so far, it is okay though I am still settling in to the location and time-period.In my mind, its still almost mixed up. I hope it gets better though:-)

      • Annie
        October 6, 2016

        That’s French! But the setting

      • Annie
        October 6, 2016

        That’s French, how weird haha Is the book set in South America? I hope you enjoy it more!

  7. What a diverse list of books! I really respect this. Do you read books in different formats? I find the only way I can read multiple books simultaneously is if one is a physical book, one an eBook, and one an audiobook (though I rarely read more than one book at once).

    • Diana
      October 6, 2016

      I really struggle with reading two books at the same time.When I do, I also get a physical book and ebook. However, most of the time, I just stop reading one book and focus on the next one to the last page before reading the other book again. This is what I am doing now with Jane Eyer(which I have paused) and Love in the Time of Cholera(currently reading).

      Thanks so much for visiting and commenting:-)

      • Oh yes, I can relate to that. I have a copy of Tender is the Night I’ve had on pause for almost 6 weeks now… I might need a refresher at this point. 😄

  8. Yvo
    October 5, 2016

    Both thrillers sound great and seeing Love In The Time Of Cholera is really reminding me I should pick up the Spanish version some time soon. I hope you will enjoy your books this week! 🙂

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    • Diana
      October 6, 2016

      Thanks Yvo. Lucky you, I think the Spanish version will be a much more enjoyable read that the English one. Happy reading to you too.

  9. Donna
    October 6, 2016

    I’m jealous of your break from the classics, haha. Pretty Wicked will be added to my wish list today, I like the YA take on a thriller. We’re slowly invaded by Christmas books 🙂 I hope you enjoy this one! Happy reading!

    • Diana
      October 13, 2016

      Thank you. Yes the Christmas books are everywhere. It is interesting that most of them are being released around this time. I would have thought they are set for December releases. Let me know if you get to read Pretty Wicked.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 5, 2016 by in Bookish Post.
