A Haven for Book Lovers

I am just a girl who loves reading and talking about books

Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I’ve Read because of Another Blogger

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by  The Broke and the Bookish. Each week, bloggers get a topic which entails giving a list of ten things based on the topic.

Today’s instructions were as follows: All About Books You Read Because of Recommendation — Ten Books I’ve Read Because Of Another  Blogger (Or Book Person) or Ten Books I Read On Recommendation From People Outside Of This Community or you could talk about recommendations of books you read from other sources — a magazine, a podcast, a “because you read this” algorithm.

I have read quite a number of books based on recommendations. Actually, most of the books that I have added to my TBR this year were recommendations that I picked from the book blogging community. I can’t remember everyone who has influenced my reading choices but here are some that I do recall.

Wrecked by Maria Padian- I saw this book on Jillian’s post (Rant and Rave about Books) and just had to read it. Wrecked is definitely one of the most powerful YA books that I have ever read that tackle the issue of sexual assault. It evoked so many different emotions from me throughout the story. I was angered and disgusted by some characters while I sympathized with others. This is a gut wrenching story that broke my heart but at the same time, it is one of those books that I will read again and then tell everyone about.

Pretty Wicked by Kelly Charron- I saw this book on Kim’s Blog (By Hook or By Book). The review and book’s blurb were pretty interesting. The book is about a 15year old girl who wants nothing else but become one of the most prolific serial killers. It is an interesting thriller with lots of twist.

The Girl in the Ice by Robert Bryndza- This has got to be one of my best recommendations to date. I have read two books in the series so far and I just got the third one.  I also got to chat with the author after the second book and he was really nice. This book was recommended to me by Yvo(Its all about books)

The Last One by Alexandra Oliva- My first dystopian book and I loved it. I saw the book on Annie’s blog (The Misstery). Annie’s review of this book convinced me to get the book and try out a new genre and I absolutely loved it.

The Sister by Louise Jensen- I saw this book on Donna’s blog (Chocolatenwaffles’ blog). This also turned out to be a great read. It’s a story about secrets, deception and lost friendships all masterfully told with suspense that will keep you at the edge of your seat. Seriously, if you like psychological thrillers then you should go get this book. I can’t wait to read the next book by Louise Jensen

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Markus Zusak- I remember seeing this book on Jade’s blog (Scatterbooker). It sounded like a great book but I couldn’t find a copy until weeks later. I found a copy in the library and yeah, I hugged the book, fell down to my knees, looked up to the skies…in short, I was happy. This is one of my favorite books to date.

Books that were so hyped that I just had to read them

When I started book blogging, a lot of bloggers were talking about these books. They were so hyped such that I had to read them.

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

November 9 by Colleen Hoover

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Books on my TBR

These three books are on my shelf because of the wonderful reviews /recommendations by bloggers that I trust.

  • Cruel Beautiful World by Caroline Leavitt recommended by Annie(The Misstery)
  • A Christmas Day at the Office by Matt Dunn and Miracle on 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan recommended by Ali(I wuv books)

I have read a few thrillers based on Ali’s reviews such as Black Widow by Chris Brookmyre, Don’t You Cry by Mary Kubica and Dear Amy by Hellen Callaghan. This time round, I have got two holiday-themed books that she recommended.

  • Summer that Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel- Donna(Chocolatenaffles Blog) and Yvo(It’s all about books)

There are so many other wonderful books that I have found through the book blogging community. To everyone one of you out there posting reviews and sharing your recommendations, Thank you!

NetGalley Recommendation

 Okay this is obviously not a book but I just have to mention this. I first heard about the site from Kim (By Hook or By Book). I didn’t know about ARCs before then. I used to read her ARC reviews in awe wondering how she got so many advance copies. I decided to just ask her about it on one of her posts and she was really helpful in giving me the details and that is how I discovered the gem that is NetGalley. I have been lucky enough to receive so many advance titles from the site. Thanks Kim for my newest addiction, NetGalley!

Have you read any of these books? Have you found some wonderful books based on recommendations from book bloggers? Feel free to leave me your links on the comment sections. Happy Tuesday!

31 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I’ve Read because of Another Blogger

  1. itsbooktalk
    October 11, 2016

    I haven’t read any of those titles, but the Shadow of the Wind was one I was interested in and then never got to it. What made it one of your favorite reads?

    • Diana
      October 11, 2016

      The books is set in Spain which is one of the things that I really liked. There is also a story told within the story which made the narrative quite interesting. It is also a book about books and readers and a cemetery of forgotten books. All these made it a very interesting read and Carlos’ writing is flawless. Please read The Shadow of the Wind. I promise, it is a great read:-)

    • Charlotte Graham
      October 13, 2016

      I was just about to comment the same thing! Diana, I just went back and read your post reviewing Shadow of the Wind, and now I desperately want to read it. Thank you!

  2. Jamie Wu
    October 11, 2016

    I’m hoping to get to Anna and the French Kiss soonish. Glad to see you enjoyed it. I’m thinking about juggling it with another book, but I don’t think I can handle so many books at once!

    • Diana
      October 12, 2016

      I liked Anna mainly because of the setting. I am yet to read the other two books in the series but I definitely recommend this one.I hope that you will get sometime to read it soon and enjoy it when you do:-)

  3. charliegirlteachergirl
    October 11, 2016

    I think I bought The Sister after I saw several reviews about it a few months ago. Definitely consider that a recommendation!

    • Diana
      October 12, 2016

      Yeah, that is a recommendation. Have you read it yet? I hope that you will enjoy it when you do.

  4. faithrivens
    October 11, 2016

    Shadow of the Wind is one of my favourite books! Such a unique and magical read!
    Great list of books here that are on my TBR because I found them through the blogosphere as well 😉

    • Diana
      October 12, 2016

      The blogosphere is definitely a blessing. I have found so many wonderful books here. The Shadow of the wind is superb. Glad to hear that it is one of your favourites too:-0

  5. Donna
    October 11, 2016

    95% of my TBR and wishlist comes from book recommendations from the book community! I love it because thanks to everybody I was able to find books I would have missed otherwise, and it makes the reading experience so much richer. I am glad you enjoyed The Sister, I am very excited about Louise’s next story! I like that The Gift’s cover looks a bit similar to The Sister’s. So many great recommendations on this post. You should reblog it in early December to help people with their Christmas shopping! I can’t wait for you to read The Summer That Melted Everything 🙂 I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    • Diana
      October 12, 2016

      I didn’t know about The Gift until your comment. I won’t lie, first thing I did was to run to NetGalley but its not there. I have seen it on goodreads though and that cover, wow. It sounds like quite promising though. Have you gotten a copy already? Thanks for the Christmas Shopping Idea. I will put together a more detailed post for that. I can’t wait to read Summer that Melted Everything. Thanks for all the reccomendations Donna:-)

      • Donna
        October 12, 2016

        Haha, I ran to NetGalley too when I heard about it! I can’t blame you 🙂 I am eagerly waiting for it to appear. It should not be long now. Fingers crossed we both get it! I can’t wait to see your Christmas list! 🙂 You are very welcome!

    • Charlotte Graham
      October 13, 2016

      That’s a fantastic idea about reblogging this in early December for Christmas ideas. Every year I tell my husband “just surprise me with a new book I wouldn’t otherwise get for myself” and he feels at a lot. Perhaps I’ll direct him to a list such as this! 🙂

  6. ChrissiReads
    October 11, 2016

    Me Before You is one of my favourite books of all time. It’s amazing ❤

    • Diana
      October 12, 2016

      I totally agree with you. I loved the book and really liked the movie too:-)

  7. cleopatralovesbooks
    October 11, 2016

    Like you these days most of my recommendations come from other bloggers – you have some fantastic ones here and Robert Bryndza is the latest author that has been added to my TBR so it’s good to see you endorse my choice!

    • Diana
      October 12, 2016

      yes to Bryndza 🙂 I know you like thrillers and so I do hope that you will enjoy his books. All his books are out now so if you like the first one, you can just get the other two also. Glad to hear that you have added him to your TBR:-)

  8. M @ A Blog Of One's Own
    October 11, 2016

    Glad you enjoyed the Shadow of the Wind! (*psst: somehow “Markus Zusak” mistakenly ended up in the description ;)) I have read quite a few books books by Carlos Ruiz Zafon and I really enjoy his style. The Sister also sounds incredibly intriguing, I think I’ll add this to my to-read list.
    Here’s my TTT:
    https://mreadsbooks.wordpress.com/2016/10/11/ttt-5-books-i-added-to-my-to-read-list-because-of-recsreviews-by-other-bloggers/

    • Diana
      October 12, 2016

      Oh dear. I really like The Book Thief. I guess that is how Markus ended up there. Thanks for letting me know. I totally missed that:-) I hope that you will enjoy The Sister if you get to read it. Thanks for the link, heading over to your post now:-)

  9. @lynnsbooks
    October 11, 2016

    ‘The Girl in the Ice by Robert Bryndza’ – i really like the sound of these – will have to go and check them out.
    Thanks
    Lynn 😀

    • Diana
      October 12, 2016

      If you like thrillers then you definitely have to check out the Robert Bryndza series. They are awesome books. Thanks for stopping by:-)

  10. Annie
    October 12, 2016

    Ohhhh, so glad you liked The Last One 😀 And I hope you enjoy Cruel Beautiful World 🙂 So happy ^^

    • Diana
      October 12, 2016

      Thanks Annie:-) The Last One turned out to be better than I expected and I truly liked it. I can’t wait to read Cruel Beautiful World soon:-)

  11. I really want to read The Shadow of the Wind. It looks phenomenal. Your excitement makes me want to read it now!

    • Diana
      October 12, 2016

      It is such a wonderful book. You should read it when you get a chance:-) I highly recommend it.

  12. rantandraveaboutbooks
    October 12, 2016

    Thanks for the shoutout! I’m glad you loved Wrecked! So far everyone I recommended to it has written a good review. That’s a relief. I always feel bad when I recommend a book and the person doesn’t like it. I also requested The Sister because of Donna and loved it. 🙂

    • Diana
      October 12, 2016

      Wrecked was such a great read so thank you:-) I am glad that you also liked The Sister. I know what you mean about recommending books to people who end up not liking them. I always feel bad about that too especially when its a book that I really liked. Feels like I have to defend and protect my favorite books:-)

  13. bluecloverdust
    October 20, 2016

    I loved Anna!!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2016 by in Bookish Post, Top Ten Tuesday and tagged , .
